Preparing for the Blizzard

Hello again! How has your day been?

Here in the midwest, today was filled with more speculation of the impending blizzard than I think I have ever heard. Bets were made, schools decided to close, but more than anything, grocery stores were PACKED!

On my way home from yoga, I stopped at the store to pick up some baking supplies for my mom since it was already announced that she would have the day off (one of the perks of working at a school, I suppose). There were so many people that there were not even enough carts for all the shoppers! Those who were lucky enough to grab one filled them to the brim, though. Many of the shelves were bare, too. What is this madness?

Luckily I was able to get what I needed and hurry on home. For some reason I did not feel the need to go crazy stocking up, but I did feel the need to splurge on some raspberries and mango. Priorities, priorities.

In what seemed like only a few minutes, the snow started and came in full force, biting wind and all. I was chilled to the bone and immediately started to make plans for warmth. A hot shower was the first thing on my brain.

Once my body was warm on the outside, I was ready  keep my heat going by refueling. I love cooking with warming spices such as ginger and curry powder on cold days like this. These spices are also known for the anti-inflammatory, immune system-enhancing, and digestive system-calming effects. Spices that keep me warm, tasty yummy, and are good for me? How could I say no?!

Warming Cauliflower Curry

Serves one

  • 1/2 medium sweet onion (55 grams), chopped
  • 1/2 bell pepper (93 grams), chopped
  • 1/2 zucchini (98 grams), chopped
  • 2-1/2 cups cauliflower, chopped (250 grams), chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 cup/4 brussels sprouts (76 grams), chopped
  • 1 tsp mirin
  • 1-1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp ginger powder (optional)
  • dash garam masala
  • dash cinnamon
  • Herbamare (or salt and pepper), to taste
  1. On medium-high heat in a non-stick pan, sauté onion for about 3 minutes, or until it begins to soften.
  2. Add bell pepper and sauté for a few more minutes until they begin to brown. Add a little bit of water to deglaze the pan, if necessary.
  3. Stir in zucchini, cauliflower, and brussels sprouts.
  4. Use mirin to deglaze the pan again, making sure to coat all of the vegetables.
  5. Place grated fresh ginger
  6. Add a thin layer of water (or vegetable broth, if desired) to the bottom of the pan and cover with a top to steam the vegetables.
  7. As the water cooks off and the vegetables begin to soften, add curry powder, powdered ginger, garam masala, and cinnamon.
  8. Re-cover the pan and add more water to cook the vegetables to desired texture.
  9. Adjust spices and add Herbamare (or salt and pepper) to taste.

Chopping all of the vegetables was so relaxing for me. Does anyone else think they just look so beautiful when stir-fried together? Not even my camera could capture it.

I admit that this curry does not look very pretty, mostly because I like to stir the heck out of my veggies to the point they all meld together. However, looks can be deceiving because this was delicious.

I love that this meal came together quickly and is very versatile. Simply switch up your vegetables based on what you have on hand and you are good to go! You can serve it over brown rice, add tofu, or even stir in some coconut milk for good measure.

Now that I am all warmed up, I plan to spend to stay up late snuggled in my warm pajamas with some cookbooks to read and freshly roasted kabocha to munch. I made my family fresh popcorn tonight so I see some fun popcorn recipe experimenting in my snow-day future.

Are you getting hit with a lot of snow? And what is your favorite way to eat popcorn?

Stay warm and cozy!

Mandiee

6 responses to “Preparing for the Blizzard

  1. I’m in LA so no snow for me!!! I love to season my popcorn with olive oil spray, nutritional yeast, and cayenne powder!

  2. We’re getting hit with the storm, too! I love blizzards during the day so I can watch the beauty of it from safe inside a warm and cozy house. Unless I just jinxed myself by saying that and we lose power. Lets hope not 😛
    The curried cauliflower looks wonderful!! I was debating between a curried cauliflower and just roasting it yesterday. Wish I’d seen this sooner, because I definitely would have done this instead 😉
    Stay warm and dry today!

    • Haha I hope you stay nice and safe with power :). Luckily we haven’t had that problem here. I think blizzards are so beautiful, too, especially when I able able to enjoy it from the warmth near my fire place. Your roasted cauliflower looked great so I’ll have to try it soon, too. I’m sure you’ll get over your cauliflower fear with delicious recipes like these ;)!

      Have a lovely day!

  3. Pingback: Under the Sea | kabochavore

  4. Pingback: It’s Getting Hot in Here | kabochavore

  5. Pingback: 5 Seconds | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

