Oh the Weather Outside is Frightful

Oh the weather outside is frightful,

But the fire is so delightful,

And since we’ve no place to go,

Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!

 

…And snow it did! When I woke up this morning, my back yard was covered by a blanket of fluffy, white snow. I should probably mention the fact that afternoon might be a more appropriate description of my timing. Sleeping in is required on a snow day, right? Through the years, my snow day traditions have gradually shifted, so it is comforting to know that at least one thing has remained constant. What can I say, I love my sleep!

 

In years past, I  would bundle up like an abominable snow monster and trek my way through the hills of the golf corse by my house to go sledding. Never mind the snow being half as high as tall as I was; I had fun!

 

This year I decided to go for a warmer route instead. What better way to stay warm and busy while snowed in than by baking? Our oven was working over-time today, making everything from bundt cakes, to cookies, to crostatads, to muffins. Even our bread machine got a little love!

First up, my mom made a vegan chocolate latte bundt cake. It was just about ready to come out of the oven when I woke up. I definitely preffered its lovely aroma to the alarm clock that usually wakes me up!

 

Meanwhile, a fresh loaf of bread was baking in the bread maker.

Even though I do not each much bread nowadays, I am always entranced by the smell of it. I love walking to the bakery of my local gourmet food market and wafting in the beautiful smell. I think there is something so comforting about it. Making a large two-pound loaf is a bonus. Cutting it, however, is a challenge.

 

I also think that making homemade nut butters has a similar special touch. A few days ago I discovered a Costco-sized container of peanuts in need of some love. Today proved to be the perfect opportunity to turn them into creamy sea salt and maple kissed peanut butter.

My family was amazed that we could make our own peanut butter in such a short time! All together it took less than 10 minutes. Efficient and fun!

 

Naturally I did not stop there (though it was tempting since the peanut butter looked oh so cute in its jar). I immediately got to work on making vegan peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

My uncle described them as having the perfect “chew-factor” so I think they passed quality control. Several dissappeared before I was even able to pack them up to give to my yoga teacher and the recptionist at my yoga class. We may have been in a blizzard, but I had every intention of going to yoga :).

 

Yoga was absolutely lovely. I was lucky enough to have the heater placed next to me (they know I like it HOT!) and the man that I practiced next to had such a great energy. It is so wonderful to share in a beautiful practice with individuals commited to seeking balance, beauty, and peace in their every day lives.

 

Unfortunately I still have some studying left to do before I turn in for the night. School may have been canceled, but that does not mean my work load was!

 

Have your snow day traditions changed over time? Or if you live somewhere where you do not get snow days, what do you like to do on days when you stay inside?

 

Have a peaceful day!

Mandiee

2 responses to “Oh the Weather Outside is Frightful

  1. sea salt and maple pb sounds SO good!! I remember being in complete awe when i learned i could make my own peanut butter, too. i was under the impression it just wouldn’t be as good – but now i love being able to make it myself 🙂
    looks like baking bread on this snow day was a common concept 😉

  2. love everything about this blog! i had a great snow day as well but not nearly as productive as you’re cooking 🙂 great post!

Leave a Reply

