Maple and Sea Salt Kissed Peanut Butter

Hiya 🙂 How is your day going? I don’t know about you, but I am very happy the weekend is almost here. These past few days I have really learned how important adequate sleep and relaxation is to my overall well being. While I try to keep myself well by eating nutrious food and doing yoga, I sometimes forget how imporant it is to take time out of my busy schedule to just let my body recharge.

Unfortunately, I am now taking an SAT-prep class on the weekends on top of my rigorous homework schedule so there is not much time left for anything else. However, I am learning that there will be time if I make time. I think the key is making sure I spend at least some time a day not feeling overwhelmed, stressed, or wound up by seemingly endless to-do lists. To combat this, today I am making a promise to myself that I will take care to give my body and mind rest time.

Do you ever feel overwhelmed by a lot of things to do? How do you find those moments of relaxation, and what do you you do when you find them?

 

Baking is a great de-stressor for me so I am very thankful I was able to take the snow day to get my apron dirty again. In yesterday’s post, I left off by showing you my homemade maple and sea salt-kissed peanut butter.

I then procced to use it to make vegan chocolate chip peanut butter cookies.

Since both received rave reviews from my family, I would like to share the recipes with you, too.

 

I have made homemade roasted almond butter before, but never peanut butter. I was surprised how quickly this came together. I think the key to the quick prep-time was the fact that I used pre-roasted and salted peanuts. Usually I would prefer to roast my own and adjust the salt based on my tastes, but since these were begging to be used, I decided to go with it. It is all about being resourceful, right?

Quick Maple- and Sea Salt-Kissed Peanut Butter

  • 2 cups roasted salted peanuts (or if you have time, roast your own at 350*F for about 8-10 minutes)
  • 2 tsp canola oil (or other neutral oil)
  • 1 TBS maple syrup
  • extra sea salt, if desired

Place peanuts in a food processor.

Process the peanuts. They will be a mealy consistency at first.

Keep processing as the meal comes into a ball. Stop the food processor and scrape down the sides as necessary.

Next the meal will liquify into a butter. You may have to stop the processor a few more times to rest the motor and scrape down the sides of the bowl.

Drizzle in maple syrup, oil, and extra sea salt, if desired.

Process the butter until smooth, adjusting sweetness to taste and adding more oil for a more drippy consistency. For  crunchy peanut butter, add in ~1/2-3/4 cup peanuts and process until chopped.

Place in a container for later or use to make chocolate peanut butter cookies (look out for the recipe soon!) Cute jar and festive ribbon optional.

There is something so facinating about making homemade nut butters. It is amazing to watch as cups of hard nuts magically reduce into creamy, smooth butter. Oh, and did I mention how amazing it smells? It was like peanut heaven.

Have you ever made homemade nut butter? And what is your favorite kind of nut?

Almond butter is my first love but lately I have been munching on tons of pecans and pistachios. Variety is the spice of life! (Trite, but true.)

Have a nutty day!

Mandiee

One response to “Maple and Sea Salt Kissed Peanut Butter

  1. I have to say that whenever chocolate is involved, the situation is invariably enhanced! Kind of startling that dark chocolate can actually be good for you when consumed in reasonable quantities.

Leave a Reply

