A New Addition

Heya! Tonight I am so excited to introduce you to a new addition to my family. The mailman, not the stork, brought him Tuesday.

Well look-y there…

Upon seeing the delivery when I came home from school, I squealed in excitement at a pitch that I am pretty sure has had a lasting effect on my grandmother. I decided to be responsible, though, and wait to unveil my surprise until I had done my homework.

Okay, some of my homework. Priorities, schmiorities. After an hour or so of having it stare me down from my bed, I could not wait any longer. I even postponed my shower in excitement.

Please excuse the post-yoga large sweater & scraggly hair look

I would like to formally introduce you to Vincent the Vita-Mix. He is an early birthday present from my mom and grandmother, and I am forever grateful. We had a running joke in my family that every Vita-Mix I saw in the store was my husband because I would definitely register for one for my wedding. I guess that day came sooner than I imagined ;). Married to Vincent the Vita-Mix at 16? Is that even legal?

Legal or not, this is one bad blender. And when I say bad, I mean amazingly awesome. I finally got to see him in action today when I broke down and tried him for the first time. All can say is that I have never seen a machine work with such grace and power. It was truly a sight to behold!

Naturally, my experiment of choice was ice cream. Or rather spinach protein ice cream, which is my adaptation of HEAB’s protein ice cream (check it out here).

What may sound a little strange was made into a creamy, dreamy, big bowl of soft serve by Vincent. It was even filled with lots of nutrients thanks to Vega + hemp protein powders (from Bob’s Red Mill) and spinach. I think this is the start of a long, beautiful relationship.

Healthy Chocolate Ice Cream

Serves 1

  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (I use almond milk)
  • 30 g or 1 serving protein powder (I used Vega Vanilla Chai and Bob’s Red Mill Hemp)
  • 2 handfuls of spinach (~1.5 cups )
  • 1 TBS cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I used vanilla powder)
  • stevia, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp guar gum
  • ~1 cup ice

Blend non-dairy milk, protein powder, spinach, cocoa powder, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and stevia until the spinach is broken up. Blend in xanthan gum and guar gum to thicken the mixture. If using a Vita-Mix, add all ice to the blender and work the motor up to high until the mixture is well-combined and there are no large ice pieces. If not using a Vita-Mix, add the ice a little at a time until desired consistency is reached.

Something to talk about: What is the best birthday present you ever received? And do any of your favorite things have names?


11 responses to “A New Addition

  1. Vincent is so cute!!! 🙂

    CD always jokes that my Vita-Mix was my dowry when we got married. Hehe.

    Happy early Birthday, and I’m sure that you and Vincent will be together for many many years. He’s a good man to have around. 🙂

  2. look at you! the beautiful and beaming proud owner of a new vitamix! lucky lucky lucky duck!

    ps. im still giggling over your new blog name- i love it so much!! ❤

  3. I love Vincent!! I should be receiving my own vita-mix husband soon and I am absolutely ecstatic. 😀

  4. PS. I do tend to name inanimate objects like my camera, ipod, car, etc.

  5. Pingback: It’s Getting Hot in Here | kabochavore

  6. Pingback: 5 Seconds | kabochavore

  7. Pingback: Butter Me Up | kabochavore

  8. Pingback: Spring-ish | kabochavore

  9. I want this-NOW!

  10. Pingback: Feature Fridays | kabochavore

  11. Pingback: WIAW #7: I’m Just a Softie at Heart | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

