Three’s A Crowd

Happy belated Valentine’s day and Tuesday, friends! The second day of the week may not seem like something to celebrate, but this week I am just happy Monday is over. This weekend was actioned packed and way too busy for my liking. However, at least most of it (i.e. 2 papers for my hardest classes + 6 hours of SAT-prep class) is over, and the worst of it (i.e. my calculus test) will only worry me until tomorrow after 8th hour. I may be caught in a quite the storm, but this too shall pass.

Anyway, enough stress reflection. I would much rather hear about how your Valentine’s Day. Did you do anything special? A romantic night with your sweetie or even dark chocolate for one totally counts!

My mom surprised me and my grandmother with a bouquet of fruit flowers from Edible Arrangements. Beautiful and delicious!.

I (obviously) spent the night with my Calculus book. We were not alone, though. After so much hard work I decided I deserved a little treat. Since I had (very) overly ripe bananas in my pantry in need of a little lovin’ (they were almost black!), banana bread seemed like the perfect way to cover all basses.

Last summer I created the most delicious gluten-free&&vegan banana bread that I had ever tasted. Who am I kidding? I loved it like no other banana bread before, vegan&gf or otherwise. However, it did have a few flaws. Most notably I forgot to compensate for the lack of gluten, causing the bread to fall in the center. Also, I did not bake it long enough so the bread came out undercooked. In all my experimenting, I even forgot to write down the recipe!

As you can imagine, it was sheer torture when I found one little piece of my luscious banana bread hiding in the freezer. My taste buds begged me to make more and FAST. I searched high and low for whatever scraps of the recipe I could find. No luck. In desperation I even tried recreating it. Again, no luck. Actually, it was a complete fail, one which I am still trying to forget.

Luck might not have been with me then or even when the busy cards were dolled out to me this past weekend , but it was most certainly with me last night. I prayed a silent prayer as I mixed, poured, and baked. After about 30 minutes of waiting, my prayers were finally answered.

I still hope to play around with this recipe a bit more, but for now, I could not be happier. Moist, doughy, and naturally sweet, my coconut almond butter banana muffins were a dream come. true. Keeping things simple, I scaled my original recipe idea down to make 3 muffins. It is perfect for when you want a muffin for you and a friend (and one to share, because of course you cannot just stop at one!), or just enough for a few days. Making a smaller batch also means that you can make them more frequently, thus perfuming your house with a lovely aroma. Trust me, even that is to live for. Just make sure you make sure you are willing to share with family members or roomates who are lured in by the scent of freshly baked muffins’ (my grandmother smelled them from all the way across the house—a true testiment to how alluring they are). Only you can decide: will 3 be a crowd?

Coconut Almond Butter Banana Muffins

Makes 3 muffins

  • 3/4 tsp ground flax seed + 2-1/4 tsp water
  • 1/4 cup oat flour [30g]
  • 2 TBS coconut flour [14g]
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • 1/8 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1-1/2 small bananas (or 1 large) [75.5 g]
  • 1-1/2 tsp almond butter
  • 2 TBS applesauce (unsweetened)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla powder or 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • NuNatural Vanilla Stevia Drops or other sweetener, to taste
  • non-dairy milk or water to thin (~1/4-1/3 cup)
  1. Combine ground flax seed and water. Set aside to gel.
  2. Mix oat flour, coconut flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, and salt in a bowl.
  3. Mash bananas with almond butter, applesauce, vanilla powder/vanilla extract, and desired sweetener. Add flax seed mixture once it appears to be the consistency of an egg.
  4. Combine wet and dry mixtures, adding enough liquid to achieve a thick, muffin-like batter. The amount of liquid you need to add will depend on the amount of time you let it sit before cooking, upon other things. Coconut flour is high in fiber and oats tend to absorb a lot of liquid, so make sure your batter is not to stiff.
  5. Pour into 3 greased/lined muffins tins or silicon baking cups and bake for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the muffins comes out clean. (Again, baking time will depend on the amount of liquid you added.)
  6. Allow the tin to cool for a few minutes before trying to remove the muffins. They will be delicate.
  7. Try to restrain yourself from eating all three muffins before they are even cool. Trust me, it will be hard, but well worth it if you later decide to crumble them with cinnamon in warm almond milk. Oh yes, I did.

Have a happy Wednesday!

Mandiee

3 responses to “Three’s A Crowd

  1. These look amazing! I love banana bread, and I bet it would be even better with almond butter in it. What a good combo!

    By the way… I think you have the best blog name I’ve ever heard 🙂

  2. Aww it’s all over now! Hope you enjoyed that Edible Arrangements bouquet! I would so rather that over flowers haha. You have such a cute blog!

  3. Oh man, I love those muffins!! They look so amazing. I like that they’re a small-quantity recipe, because most of the time my family doesn’t like the “healthy” things I bake. I end up having a huge batch that just sits there for days until I slowly work through it, haha. How fun that you got an Edible Arrangements!

Leave a Reply

