It’s Getting Hot in Here

Why the heat wave (read: above freezing temeratures for once) made me think of this “sooo 2002″ song, I do not know. (Is it just me or did every dance class perform to this song way back when?) However, what I do know is that I would be completely alright if the weather decided to stay like this for the rest of the winter. What can I say; I kind of enjoy being able to feel my toes. At least I have succulent fresh fruit to induldge my dreams.

 

The warm(er) weather may be fleeting, but at least I have other ways to keep me warm. Soaring temperatures in yoga (99*F is perfect for me!) and delicious spicy foods have kept my internal fire going. I may have the courage to order “as spicy as your grandmother would have made it” at a traditional Thai restaurant (though I certainly know one person who has that courage), I have learned to like a little Frank’s Hot Sauce from time to time.

Clearly “from time to time” really meant “often” this  past week because I made this stir-fry more than 2 or 3 times.

It included onion, bell pepper, zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, and brussels sprouts. I basically used the method and measurements from this post, changing the spices to equal parts of chili powder and cumin.

The mild vegetables were the perfect background for my new friend Frank.

 

To cool down from all the heat, I enjoyed a lot of ice cream(green) chai-spiced vanilla protein ice cream, to be exact (what a mouthful!).

Oh Vincent the Vita-Mix, I love you.

 

Speaking of love, I simply cannot get enough of my homemade masala veggie burgers. I have honestly made them an embarrassing amount of times—more than I can count on my hands! I love the idea of veggie burgers made from real vegetables so much that I already have plans to try different flavor variations (starting with mexican-spiced). For now, though, I have been perfectly content enjoying them as-is with eggplant fries (with mustard for dipping, of course) and roasted red peppers .

 

A true testiment to how much I love this combination is the fact that my stone-ground mustard supply got dangerously low. Luckily I was able to replish it today with a trip to Whole Foods. I will take any excuse to go to my foodie paradise, especially because it has been much too long since I last went.

Apparently I will also take any excuse to indulge in sales. Did someone say my favorite Organicville Mustard is on sale? Well, I suppose I will just have to buy all three varieties, thankyouverymuch.

 

Another sale item that caught my eye was this Mighty Leaf Chocolate Mint Truffle Tea. Actually, it was a debate between this flavor and the Vanilla Bean Black Tea. While Madagasca Vanilla Powder has become one of my favorite ingredients as of late, I will always be a chocolate girl at heart. I think the fact that it has mint in it and is called “truffle” sealed the deal, too.

 

And because I am incapable of going to Whole Foods without getting some sort of produce, two beautiful bunches of greens made their way home with me. Going into the produce department of any high-quality store is such a treasured experience for me. I look at the fresh fruits and vegetables like they are masterpieces of art, painting the shelves with a rainbow of colors. When I saw the crisp curly kale and vibrant rainbow chard, I was absolutely smitten.

I see a lot of kale chips and raw chard wraps in my future. For now, though, I will be spending some quality time with this guy.

It may have been a busy week, but I know when it is time to realx. And that time, my friends, is now.

Questions: How spicy do you like your food? Are you a chocoholic or vanilla fiend (is there even a word for a vanilla lover?)? And do sales tempt you to try new items?

I would love to hear from you!

 

Enjoy the spice of life today :)!

Mandiee

 

3 responses to “It’s Getting Hot in Here

  1. Yum- chai spiced vanilla protein ice cream sounds amazing! I actually don’t like my food very spicy, I always make sure to specify ‘mild’ (I’m a bit of a wimp). As far as chocolate and vanilla goes, I’m definitely a vanilla loving girl. I like chocolate, but I’m just not completely crazy about it. So I probably would have ended up with that vanilla bean black tea, as delicious as the word ‘truffle’ makes anything sound. 🙂

  2. I like spicy food, but not too spicy! I would love to try that sauce with those veggies- that looks really good!

  3. Pingback: Rich Dark Chocolate Oat Bran | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

