Supersize Me

In all honesty, I have never been a fan of traditional fast-food. I did have an obsession with pizza, fast-food or not, of any kind (mostly because it made up a major part of my diet when I was younger; those were dark days without veggies!), but when it came to bugers and fries, you could count me out.

I always dreaded going on far-away class trips where I knew we would stop at a fast-food restaurant on the way back. While my friends were buzzing with excitement, I was dumbfounded as to what I could possibly choke down. The only redeeming quality was the toys that were included with most of my friends’s meals. You know we had fun annoying our teachers with those (not intentionally, of course—we could not help it!) :P. Clearly it was only a matter of time before my distaste for meat and love of animals led me to veganism.

In all fairness to some fast food restaurants though, more and more places are now offering healthier and more-vegetarian friendly options. I am glad to see that apple slices can be substituted for fries, and McDonald’s, Burger King, and Subway now even carry veggie burgers in some locations.

While these are definitely an improvement, they are still fast food. Healthy food does not have to be complicated or take a long time to make. In fact, the most nutritious and delicious cuisine can be whipped up in your kitchen in no time. Now even I have found something I want to “Supersize”!

Giant stir-fries are one of my favorite things to make because they are simple enough to make on even the busiest of days, but also variable enough that I will not get bored if my extra crazy week dictates eating them a few days in a row. Chop, sauté/stir-fry, season, eat!

And yes, I would like fries with that.

…Baked sweet potato fries, of course!

Can you tell I have been swamped with school work lately? My surplus of stir-fry pictures definitely shows it! This “double fries” (stir-fry + sweet potato fries) is actually a nod to my friend Frank and the stir-fry in this post.

While I love changing up the veggies and spices in my stir-fries, lately I have been rotating between only a few combinations. Do you have any favorite combinations or suggestions? I would love some stir-spiration :D!

 

And before I go, I would like to tell you about something else I like to supersize, winter squash. I have enjoyed slow-roasted kabocha every night this week and now even pumpkin is making a frequent appearance. If you are looking for a delicious breakfast or snack (customize toppings/add-ins accordingly), please try this out. A little natural sweetness for snacking really makes all the difference when I have to study in the library.

5 ingredients seems so simple, but I can gaurentee it will blow your mind taste buds. I would swim in it if I could. What a “supersized” dream!

Vanilla Pumpkin Pudding

  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (202g)
  • 1/3 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia Drops, to taste (maple syrup would also be lovely, but make sure to add vanilla extract if you do not use the drops)
  • [Toppings (optional)]

Combine all ingredients. Add toppings and refrigerate to eat cold, devour right away, or enjoy warmed.

***

Questions: Be honest: do you like fast-food? And what is your favorite healthy food in a pinch? What food do you super-size?

As previously mentioned, I never really liked fast-food. Nowadays my favorite fresh and quick meals include stir-fries, (homemade) veggie burgers, and crisp tofu. And naturally I supersize any veggie. They essentially have no serving size for me :D.

Have a “super” day :D!

Mandiee

6 responses to “Supersize Me

  1. That pudding looks amazing! I will definitely be making that soon 🙂

  2. ehh i HATE HATE fast food.. honeslty. i like real food with real ingredients.. the thought of it really makes me sick.. im used to real whole foods so i never ever crave fast food.. fo real!
    i LOVE your pudding gal!

  3. I do NOT like fast food. Not anymore, that is!! I used to love it but now I just think it’s sooooooo gross!

  4. That vanilla pumpkin pudding looks awesome!! I’ll have to give it a try with my next open can of the stuff 😉
    I can’t really remember if I loved fast food or not! I think when I was very young (say, ten and under) I viewed it as a fun treat…and actually now that I think about it, I went there all the time in my high school days as a “hang out” spot after school. I’d definitely say there was too much, looking back now – but oh well 😛

  5. I used to love fast food. Growing up I’d get super excited for those days when I could get a chicken nugget happy meal. But now I hate it, it grosses me out and I don’t like the taste much either. That pudding, on the other hand, sounds amazing. 🙂

  6. Pingback: [First] Summer Job Hunt | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

