Pumpkin Hummus Tortilla Pizza

Hi again :). Today all I seem to want to do is bake cookies and blog. Since my Earth Balance supply is running a bit low, I decided to go with the latter. Of course that really means I will just postpone the baking; nothing can stop me when I have the baking itch!

In fact, today I have another recipe to share. Pumpkin, hummus, and pizza?! Yes, my friends, I went there. It may seem like an unlikely combination, but just trust me on this one. The idea originally came from one of my blends (blogger + friends) that is unfortunately not blogging anymore. In her memory, I hope to keep this delicious combination around. It is great as a quick savory snack by using small tortillas, like the Food for Life Sprouted Corn Tortillas I used here.

I also love it as a meal when served on a larger tortilla with more substantial toppings (tofu/tempeh, seitan, chickpeas, chopped veggie burgers, and nooch are all great protein sources) and a salad.

Anyway, no matter what time of day, this pizza is just the right combination of sweet (pumpkin), creamy (hummus), savory (italian herbs), and fresh (chopped veggies). It is no wonder I keep coming back for more!

Pumpkin Hummus Tortilla Pizza

1 snack-sized pizza

  • 2 TBS canned pumpkin
  • 1-1/2 TBS hummus
  • water, to thin
  • 1/2 tsp italian herbs (I used Penzy’s Pasta Sprinkle)
  • small handful spinach (~1/3 cup)
  • 1/4 bell pepper, chopped
  • 3 baby carrots, chopped
  • 3 broccoli flowrets, chopped
  • other veggies & toppings of choice
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Mix together pumpkin and hummus, adding water as needed to thin sauce to desired consistency (the amount you add will depend on the thickness of your hummus).
  3. Spread a generous layer of sauce on tortilla.
  4. Place spinach ontop of sauce.
  5. Pile the tortilla high with toppings.
  6. Sprinkle with herbs.
  7. Place tortilla pizza on a cookie sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until desired tortilla crispiness has been reached.
  8. Cut into slices with a pizza cutter (optional) and enjoy!

 

Questions: what’s your favorite unlikely combination?

 

3 responses to “Pumpkin Hummus Tortilla Pizza

  1. Hey, I am all about unlikely combinations! They make my world go ’round. 🙂 As you can tell from my most recent post, I’m totally cool with pairing orange veggies and hummus. Your pizza looks amazing!

  2. wow! i love this unique combo- never would have thought pumpkin and hummus could go together!

  3. Such a good combination!! I had pumpkin hummus at a restaurant once and thought I died and went to heaven.

Leave a Reply

