Wheat-Free Wheat?

Oh boy, do I have some good eats to share with you! I did not even realize how full my camera was until I downloaded some photos today. 70 new photos? Clearly I have some camera unloading to do. But enough talk; let’s get to the food!

Yesterday was my mom’s birthday, but she had to teach a swim class and I had gobs of homework (what’s new?) so we were unable to have a traditional celebration. Instead my grandmother and I decided to surprise her at the pool.

We brought beautiful flowers, pretty party essentials, and of course, a delicious cake. Since we were a bit short on time and had a large crowd to feed, we decided to buy a cake from Costco. Let me just tell you, my friends, Costco makes a mean cake. The three-layer raspberry chocolate delight was throughly enjoyed by all. Not even a crumb was left!

I did not partake in the non-vegan cake, but I did have a wonderful time being with my mom. The teenage years may be a time when parents usually grow away from their children, but they have actually made our relationship stronger. My mom is honestly one of my best friends! Oh, and don’t worry, I had already filled my chocolate quota (wait, is that even possible?) with some rich dark chocolate oat bran.

Even my spoon was drowning in chocolatey bliss!

While we are talking about family, may I just say how cute my grandmother is? If you remember how much I enjoyed the mango during the big snow storm, then this will probably make more sense.

This weekend my grandmother excitedly picked up a few mangos from the store for me, even checking with the produce man to make sure they would be sweet. She surprised me by cutting them up and placing them in a special little dish with blueberries. If you have ever tried to cut a mango, then I am sure you know what a labor of love that was. I would love to tell you that I savored every morsel slowly, but in reality, I probably devoured the whole dish faster than it took to cut. Soo good!

 

She is also kind enough to put up with me using her coffee grinder to make my own raw buckwheat flour. At 9 at night. I am a night howl; what can I say?

And what did I do with my new creation? Make gluten-free pumpkin muffins, of course! I am forever indebted to Ashley for coming up with this combination. Buckwheat is by far the easiest gluten-free grain turned into flour that I have worked with. No mixing a million flours; just grind and go!

The delicious factor is a given. I have made adapted quite a few of Ashley’s recipes and have loved them all. [Check out her blog sometime.] My pumpkin muffins were no exception. While buckwheat certainly has a new-to-me flavor that will take some getting used to, I welcome the new taste and texture. I admit sometimes I get in what some may call a food-rut (however, I am not complaining because I love everything I eat), so this was a nice change.

I also loved how satiating they were. Mind you I did eat all 3 (remember what I said about single-lady muffins?), which is esentially a breakfast-like portion, but even after one I could feel their effect. I did not feel the “I NEED MOOOOORREEE” feeling that sometimes happens with baked goods, nor did I feel overly full. I think the combination of buckwheat + pumpkin + chia&flax seeds worked magic. They would be perfect as breakfast, a pre-yoga snack, or even dessert.

Pumpkin Buckwheat Muffins

Makes 3 muffins

  • 1/4 cup raw buckwheat groats
  • 1-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 flax egg (1-1/2 tsp ground flax seed + 1-1/2 TBS water + a few minutes to gel)
  • 1 TBS chia seeds
  • 6-8 TBS non-dairy milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla powder or 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia or sweetener of choice, to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Grind buckwheat into a flour using a coffee or spice grinder.
  3. Mix buckwheat flour, pumpkin pie spice, and baking flour in a bowl.
  4. Add pumpkin puree, flax egg, chia seeds, non-dairy milk, and vanilla powder/extract.
  5. Adjust sweetener to taste and add more non-dairy milk if necessary to achieve a muffin-like batter.
  6. Place batter in 3 muffin cups (make sure to fill the the other holesin the tin with water if you are not using reusable silcon cups).
  7. Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the muffins comes out clean.

Questions: what kind of special (surprise, perhaps?) things do you like for your friends and family? And what are your grain and flour of choice?

I love bringing baked goods to school to surprise my fellow students. It makes me so happy to how freshly baked cookies and cupcakes always bring smiles, even on the most stressful days. As for grains/flours, I used to eat oats like it was going out of style and use oat flour in place of any flour called for in a recipe. However, I think coconut flour and buckwheat flour are giving me more room to play around and experiment.

 

Tootles!

Mandiee

 

4 responses to “Wheat-Free Wheat?

  1. It is so unfair to show that chocolate oat bran because I am out of cocoa powder! NOOOOOO!!!

  2. I wish I wasn’t out of oat bran. Youre making me want chocolatly oat bran 🙂 ha
    My mom is one my best friends too,we get along so well.
    Yummy looking muffin, I’ll have to give them a try!

  3. Mandiee this is such a lovely post- and a great topic choice! i love baking for my family and friends and i think its the best creative way to show them that i am thinking of them. sure a card works, but muffins? now thats magic! pumpkin muffins are very warming, which is perfect to send to people you love and care for.

    my favourite flours are probably spelt, oat, amaranth, brown rice and buckwheat because they have a really nice taste… with a touch of natural sweetness to them 🙂

    xoxo

  4. i LOVE these muffins!! i love baking for my fam too!!!! esp my bro- he loves everything i make!!! i like spelt flour the best for baking- makes things so dense and moist!

Leave a Reply

