Lentil Love

I am alllll about the lentils this week. Every since becoming vegetarian (and now vegan), I have praised lentils for their high-quality plant protein, awesome fiber, and earthy taste. I love adding them soups, stuffing them in roasted winter squash, and even making vegan “Snobby-Joes” with them.

However, sometimes the ~hour boiling time reqiures a little more planning than I can manage on busy nights. Trader Joe’s to the rescue!

Verdict? Absolutely awesome. I was a little skeptical when I saw they were seasoned, but it really brings out the flavor. Nice and savory!

I picked these up at TJ’s on Sunday with the idea that they would be perfect for salad toppers and quick&easy veggie burgers during the week. It is a good thing I did because this week got crazier than expected and I had little time to prepare my packed lunches.

In fact, I was even busy while eating what I packed. I know, I know, eating is best when done in a relaxed manner, but sometimes I just do not have time (I am working on making time). Sweet potato lentil burger salad with a side of William Jennings Bryan? Maybe not the best combination, but it will do.

The sweet potato lentil burgers, however, made up for the economic debates I was reading about. Thanks so much to the Pure2Raw twins for giving me this great idea with their Sweet Lentil Brussels burgers. My recipe below is the perfect amount for one serving (four mini veggie burgers).

Sweet Potato Lentil Veggie Burgers

Serves 1

  • 1/4 cup sweet potato, chopped
  • 1/4 cup brussels sprouts
  • 1/2 cup cooked lentils (I used 100g Trader Joe’s French Lentils)
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp
  • 1/8 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp turmeric
  • Herbamare, or salt&pepper, to taste
  1. Steam sweet potato and brussels sprouts until just tender (~5 minutes, but it depends on the size of your veggies).
  2. Pulse steamed veggies, cooked lentils, and spices in a food processor until combined. Adjust texture and spices to your liking.
  3. Heat a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.
  4. Form mixture into desired amount of balls (I made 4 small patties, but you could also make 1 large one).
  5. Flatten balls onto skillet and cook until brown on other one side (~3 minutes).
  6. Flip patties and cook until golden brown on other side.
  7. Serve warm or cold.

 

Dinner was another vegetarian power-house, the infamous tofu! In all honesty, I often forget about tofu. I really like it when I get around to preparing it, but it is definitely not something I eat every day. While the jury is still out on the benefits and detriments of soy, I am glad I am sticking with moderation.

Someone needs a manicure...

One of tofu’s appealing qualities is how easy it is to prepare. Please do not be turned off by its pasty white complexion and seemingly daunting packaging. Just make sure to drain the water, wrap it in paper towels and place it under some heavy objects (or just use a handy Tofu Xpress like I did), and you are good to go!

Pressed tofu acts like a sponge and will take on the flavor of anything you marinade it in, so get creative (and make sure you like the taste of your sauce, of course). However, usually I just like the simplicity of crispy tofu dipped in mustard or tomato paste. Extra firm or firm tofu works the best for this because it retains its shape. All I do is cut the tofu into slabs then equally sized pieces, cooking them on a hot non-stick skillet.

 

I make sure to flip them each individually to get a nice sear, but it is by no means necessary if you have a lot to make. Baking tofu cubes at 400 for ~30 minutes, flipping in the half-way through, will give you a similar result.

I am tempted to call these tofu cheetahs because of their spots. How fun!

Enjoyed with a carmalized sweet potato and bounty of veggies, tofu makes for a quick and easy meal that fuels me well.

It is so good it is worth repeating, in fact.

Coconut butter always helps. What doesn’t it taste good on?!

 

And speaking of coconut butter, how about some coconut almond banana muffins? I definitely had a major craving for them this week.

Of course my batch quickly disappeared along with the rest of my waning Artisana Raw Coconut Butter. Can you blame me? If Heaven could be eaten, I think it would taste like coconut butter (and kabocha!) Okay, wait, that came out wrong. Regardless, this stuff is crazy good!

Whew! I intended to write this post about lentils and what I am giving up for Lent, and somehow I ended up talking about tofu and coconut butter. I guess more info will have to wait until tomorrow.

 

Questions: Are you a lentil fan? What do you think of soy? How often do you eat it?

 

I am taking the SAT tomorrow. Wish me luck!

xox

Mandiee

 

5 responses to “Lentil Love

  1. I love lentils ๐Ÿ™‚ I laughed when I saw the picture of William Jennings Bryan- there was the same picture in my textbook last semester!!

  2. I love lentils! I didn’t even know what they were until my first trip to whole foods. I filled the bag full and now I still have some left ๐Ÿ˜›

    I love tofu, i really do. I’m so jealous of your tofu press! I eat tofu/tempeh/miso a few times a week. I choose to buy organic soy and ignore everything about whether or not it’s “good” or “bad” for you. My body responds well to it so I don’t have any problems with eating it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. i love lentils!! i agree on their cooking tim- annoying!! sometimes ill get canned or ill jsust make a big batch of them at the beginning of the week.. cooked in veg broth is so good!
    i like tofu! i dont LOVE IT.. id much prefer beans but its a nice change sometimes!

  4. Hi! So nice to meet you!!! Thanks for stopping by Inked Owl and signing up for the giveaway!!!

    I’m really enjoying your lentil post!!! As a matter of fact, i have a bag of lentils in the pantry just waiting to be cooked and I just so happened to pick up a bag of sweet potatoes at Trader Joes today!!! I think I might try making your recipe!

    Amy

  5. Pingback: Quick&Simple Foods and Fancy Cupcakes | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

