Snow in April

After one fail yesterday morning (my heat was too high/too low?), I popped the best amaranth I have to date! Instead of being golden in color, it was perfectly puffy white. Color aside, it was delicious as usual, and maybe even more so. I can’t help wanting another breakfest option, though. I don’t want to get in a rut after all!

The comparison to snow seemed pretty appropriate since I soon learned that a huge snow storm was hitting the North East. Although Michigan didn’t get hit this time (a miracle, I say!), I can definitely sympathize with those states that did. We get our fair share of snow (+ more) around here.

I must have had snow on the brain because my dinner incorporated a snow-like dish, too.

Cauliflower rice!

However, it didn’t stay snow-y white for long. After I added some spices and Braggs, it started to look like dirty snow. It was mighty taste dirty snow at that. On second thought, let’s not go there; this is a food blog, after all!

Anyway, it was super delicious! And I mean super. The flavor, the texture, the different veg—everything was perfect. I’m already dreaming about the meals I can plan around it. Major thanks to Emilia who gave me the spice idea. I’ve made cauliflower rice before, but never like this. My recipe adaptation is below:

Spiced Cauliflower Rice/Pilaf with Vegetables

Serves one

  • 1-1/4 cup chopped cauliflower (125 grams)
  • 1 tsp Braggs Liquid Aminos (soo much better than soy sauce or Tamari!)
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas and carrots (or either)
  1. Process cauliflower in a food processor until it resembles the texture of rice. (I’ve done it in the vita-Mix before, but I actually think it works better with a food processor. Plus it’s a lot easier to clean!)
  2. Transfer cauliflower “rice” to a bowl and combine with Braggs, smoked paprika, curry powder, garlic poder, and turmeric.
  3. Heat a non-stick pan over medium-high heat.
  4. Saute cauliflower rice, red bell pepper, and peas and carrots until the veggies soften and the “rice” darkens in color.

The rest of my dinner was of note as well. I even had to bring out the giant plate from my cupboard, and I still had leftovers that wouldn’t fit! You can bet I dominated it all, though. I’m serious about my veggies.

Have you ever made a meal where you start with one simple idea and somehow it grows to a million different things? Well, that was me tonight. Halfway though cooking I realized my (possibly over-)ambitious menu. Looking at these pictures I’m still boggles my mind how I managed to do it all!

It all started with a debate between whether to have tofu or lentils. I ultimately decided on tofu, though if I had more time, I probably would have made a little bit of both.

I I don’t know why this was such a hard decision, but it was. While difficult, these kinds of situations don’t frustrate me because they show how much my body truly loves to eat the way I do. I never feel restricted by eating a vegan diet (you can read about my decision to eat mostly gluten-free here).

Anyway, as I said, tofu won. The prep time for the tofu was faster, too, because I was able to press it in my Tofu Xpress while I showered. It beats a million wet paper towels and a tofu-smelling Calculus book any day. I don’t know how I lived before this thing. Okay, maybe that’s exaggerating a bit, but this baby really does get the job done fast (& crazy well, too!).

 

I also made easy roasted kale chips and green bean fries, too. All I did was wash the veggies, remove the kale stems and chop the leaves into pieces, and place them all on a baking sheet in the oven at 350*F. I removed the kale a little bit before the green beans so they wouldn’t burn. (Roasting time will depend on your crispy preference.)

 

And, of course, I also steamed brocooli, brussels sprouts, and carrots. It may seem silly, but even if I am having a salad, I need my side of steamed veggies. It’s just what I crave!

 

The last snow-theamed food of the day was banana chocolate coconut cake. I wish it snowed coconut instead of… er, snow. I think I would like winter much better that way…

 

That, or steamed veggies…

Where was I? Oh, yeah. THE CAKE. (And yes, it was mostly definitely necessary to use caps. It’s just THAT good.)

I am actually speechless. I gushed about this to my family and friends so much that I have nothing more to say other than it perfumed the house with possibly the best scent I have ever smelled. My grandmother could actually smell it all the way from her bedroom on the other side of the house.

Holy gluten-free, vegan, rich chocolatey coconuty goodness!

For added coconut bliss, I topped the slices with a scoop of banana coconut icing leftover from when I made coconut cupcakes.

 

Needless to say there wasn’t much left at the end of the night. As my family tried to practice restraint (though it was hard—I caught them sneaking crumbs from the pan!), I packed up two to-go boxes for my mom’s friend and co-worker. Nothing’s sweeter than spreading the baking love!

 

And naturally I enjoyed a little treat of my own. Can you guess what it was?

Hi, my name is Mandiee and I am addicted to kabocha with full-fat coconut milk (from the can). When warmed up, the coconut cream melts all over the sweet kabocha. Seriously, it might have just changed my life. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

Questions: What is your favorite breakfast? Any unique ideas you have for me to try would be greatly appreciated! And what do you wish the weather snowed (ex. coconut, chocolate chips, diamonds (um, ouch!), etc.)?

Now go buy yourself some full-fat coconut milk! Um, please? I promise you will thank me.

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

6 responses to “Snow in April

  1. I wish the weather snowed coconut that would be so cool!

    Emilia is a genius, I make cauliflower rice allll the time now 😀

  2. ahh i LOVE your cauli rice!!! and CAKE!! can you make me dinner!??

  3. Snow in April? What a sick joke! Glad it skipped you 🙂

  4. Pingback: [First] Summer Job Hunt | kabochavore

  5. Pingback: Quick&Simple Foods and Fancy Cupcakes | kabochavore

  6. Pingback: Full-Swing | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

