[First] Summer Job Hunt

It may be snowing in April, but that doesn’t mean it’s too early to plan for summer!

This year I really want to get a job (my first real job *nervous*) for the summer. I don’t know if it’s just where I live, but it seems like it’s difficult for teenagers to find jobs these days. Last summer when I applied at a few places, the managers told me frankly that they mostly give the jobs to college students. I’m hoping that by getting my applications in before the major rush of college students return home and by being one year older (17 instead of 16), I will have a leg up. My mom and I plan to deliver my applications  to the managers in person tomorrow (which is really today when you read this) for a more personal touch. Since I have one more to finish, I’ll stop jabbering and just get to the food.

 

Fearing a breakfast rut but unable to think of another idea, I changed it up a bit this morning by making a pumpkin pudding (similar to my favorite study snack) to eat with my popped amaranth instead of the usual chopped berries.

The fall-inspired pumpkin was definitely a different flavor profile. And you know how I like my winter squash. Misson accomplished.

Pumpkin Pudding and Puffed Amaranth

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin/pumpkin puree (122 grams)
  • 1/3 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp Madagascar vanilla powder, or 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • puffed amaranth
  • chia seeds
  1. Combine pumpkin, almond milk, cinnamon, ginger, and vanilla in a bowl (I recommend either chilling the ingredients beforehand or refrigerating the pudding for a little while before serving).
  2. Top with puffed amaranth and chia seeds.
  3. Add any additional toppings, such as fresh fruit, nuts/nut butter, or granola. Pour extra almond milk on top, if desired.

 

I had half a block of tofu left over from Thursday night, so I decided to make another taster plate of everything I was craving.


Although I loved the crispy tofu, green bean fries, steamed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, and carrots—an essential!), and eggplant fries, the yellow squash and bell pepper saute stole the show!

Since I found a yellow squash and part of a red bell pepper hiding in my veggie drawer, I decided to just simply saute them together. Although I originally planned to season the mixture in some way, it was so delcious that I didn’t want to mask the beautiful natural flavor.

I’m sure leftovers would be lovely pureed into a soup with a little vegetable broth. However, I can almost guarantee their won’t even be leftovers to speak of. Next time I make this I guess I’ll just have to make a double batch and hide the extra from myself. Hehe.

Sauteed Yellow Squash and Bell Peppers

  • 1 yellow squash or zucchini, chopped into half-moons (130 grams)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper (70 grams), finely diced
  • 1/4 cup onion, finely diced
  • optional: 1/4 cup corn, 1/2 carrot
  1. In a non-stick pan (sprayed with cooking spray/olive oil or add cooking oil of choice) over medium high-heat, sauté all ingredients until softened and caramelized, about 10 minutes (or longer depending on preference and if using carrot).

Okay, well that’s it for tonight (well, today/right now, I suppose). I can’t wait to share the recipe for gluten-free vegan chocolate coconut cake with you, so hopefully that will happen later on. Get ready for a full-on recipe post with pictures!

Questions: How old were you when you got your first “real” job? What was it? Do you have any gluten-free recipe requests for me?

Have a lovely day!

xox

P.S. I’m laughing all over again just looking at this picture.

I was trying to take a picture of myself eating a slice of watermelon—a sure sign of summer—after yoga. Unfortunately, I was apparently so excited about the watermelon that I didn’t notice the focus of my camera was off. My camera battery died immediately after I took the picture, but I couldn’t wait to eat the rest of my slice. Go figure. I guess I was just prematurely excited. Um, how many more months until summer again?

6 responses to “[First] Summer Job Hunt

  1. Good luck on your job hunt! I am trying to find something full time for the summer- I only work about 10-15 hours right now when I’m in school.

  2. I hope your job hunt went well today!! I was almost a senior in high school when I got my first REAL job. Not sure how old that would have made me, lol. 17?
    I really want to try amaranth and puffing it! Looks so good and I love cereal 😉
    Can’t wait to see the cake recipe!!

  3. Good luck on your job hunt! 🙂
    This health food store by my house is hiring and monday i’m going to go get an application. Kind of nervous. haha

  4. Pingback: Quick&Simple Foods and Fancy Cupcakes | kabochavore

  5. Pingback: Feature Fridays | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

