Apple Pumpkin Chia Seed Pudding

As of yesterday, I’m back from spring break and in the final stretch of junior year. Hold on tight because it’s going to be a busy one:

  • College counseling meetings
  • Junior Ring Ceremony
  • AP Exams
  • DONE with calculus
  • Finals
  • Prom
  • DONE with calculus

Um, did I mention DONE with calculus? Speaking of which, my last “official” calculus class test is tomorrow so I’ve got some studying to do. I’m grateful that calculus and my teacher have helped me free myself of some of my perfectionism, but I will definitely be relived when it’s over. You have no idea.

But what does calculus have to do with food? Everything. As an athlete (well, dedicated yogi) and full-time student, I always have to be on top of my game when it comes to fueling. Healthy fat, fiber, and protein are so essential to nourishing my body so that it can perform under all circumstances. And who has time to think about being hungry when they could be using that brain power for something else? Not I. The mind is a powerful thing, my friends, and should be treated justly. Feed your mind and body right, and you will be rewarded. Who knows, the focus that you gain might just be used to save the world. Or at least finish your calculus homework. One thing at a time I suppose.

Apple Pumpkin Chia Seed Pudding

  • 2 TBS chia seeds (26 grams)
  • 1/2 cup pumpin puree (122 grams)
  • 3/4 cup vanilla almond milk + more, if desired (I use 3/4 cup because I used a little less pumpkin puree)
  • 1/2 apple (85 grams)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • sweetener to taste (optional—I didn’t use any)
  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl or covered container (perfect for breakfast or snack on-the-go). Place in the fridge overnight, or until the chia seeds have time to “gel” and form a pudding-like consistency. Enjoy cold, room-temperature, or even warm.

With just a little planning ahead and a few minutes to spare at night, I can have a delicious breakfast or snack waiting for me when I wake up in the morning. Since I spend most of my time studying, I like to have a lists of quick and easy meal and snack ideas like this that take little thought and provide awesome results, both nutritionally and taste bud-ly (um, I can’t think of the word. Haha) so that I can spend my time and focus on other things… you know, like saving the world.

Questions: What was your favorite part of junior year? Do you have any fun memories to share? And how do you fuel for school or work? Gotta keep that brain power pumpkin!

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

*P.S. Sorry the Anytime Strawberry Banana Waffle photos from yesterday’s post aren’t up yet. Those, along with photos from the chia seed pudding, will hopefully be up later tonight. Maybe I should start brining my camera cord to school with me :).

*P.P.S. My Chocolate Coconut Banana Pudding Cake was on FitSugar yesterday. Please check it out here and leave me some love. Thank you!

6 responses to “Apple Pumpkin Chia Seed Pudding

  1. I’m not usually a fan of chia puddings but all the ingredients in this recipe look like it would turn out good! Maybe I should give it another shot?

    I’m only a sophomore and it was probably one of the hardest years of my life. I learned SO much though and I know that my junior year will ROCK. 🙂

  2. I just ran out of chia seeds a few days ago, but I will definitely have to get some more so I can make this!

    Good luck on your calculus test! My brain hurts even thinking about that subject- I’m terrible at math, so I can safely say I will never even attempt calculus 🙂

  3. Pingback: Chia Seeds Are the New Gatorade | kabochavore

  4. Pingback: Full-Swing | kabochavore

  5. Oh wow, you are so creative. I will be making that chia seed pudding soon!

  6. Pingback: Feature Fridays | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

