Self-Imposed Bed Time

I have always been a night howl. Always. Even when I was 6 years old, I was known to stay up for hours later than my parents. If you can imagine, my inclination for night-time has only increased with age (teenagers already like to stay up late). And while I have always loved sleeping in as well, lately I am finding I just don’t need to as much. I attribute my energy mostly to my dedicated practice of yoga and clean diet, but that a story for another time. For now I would like to discuss the posibility of a self-imposed bed time.

Lunch fuel: black bean salad

What? A bed time? I know, I know, I’m shocked, too. Since I retured from spring break, I’ve already set a “goal bed time window” so that I can try to go to bed at a reasonable hour each night, but still be flexible depending on my homework load. I would still like to lower the cut-off time, but I will work on that slowly.

Caramelized sweet potato, cauliflower rice (see recipe page), and steamed veggies

My real problem is on the weekends. Since I love the night-time some much, I will often stay up extremely late. (I won’t mention times, but let’s just say that a few times I’ve gone to bed only a little before my early-riser uncle wakes up). Luckily, I’m usually very productive, doing homework (yes, my brain works best at night, too), baking, or working on my blog. The only downside is that I often go to morning yoga on the weekends so I do not end up getting as much sleep as I should to replace the sleep deficit from the school week.

Steamed veggies, gingered arame, crispy baked tempeh, sauteed squash and bell peppers (see recipe page)

In order to rest up with sleep and prepare me for stressful weekdays ahead, I’m going to try to impose a bed time on myself. Mind you it won’t be early by any stretch of the mind, but at least it will be a compromise between my love for the night and my need for sleep. It should also be noted that this is completely my decision (though I hope you all will keep me in check), because really, who wants to have someone telling them when to go to bed after age 11? Yeah, not me.

Baked polenta with eggplant fries, steamed veggies, and green bean fries

Anyway, onto the food. Today’s recipe doesn’t really relate to bed times, but it is so simple, comforting, and yummy that it deserves mention. With just a little planning, baked polenta is perfect for when you’re busy because most of the cooking time is inactive.

I like my polenta cheesey and broccoli-filled, dipped in marinara and humnut sauce.

I also like it to be creamy on the inside and crispy on the outside, so I use shallow pans to mold it and a cook for longer time. Experiment with what you like and customize it based on your cravings. I love a versitile and easy meal!

Cheesy Broccoli Polenta for One

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup polenta (dry corn grits, not the tube kind) or medium-grind cornmeal (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/8 tsp Herbamare or salt, or more to taste
  • 1-1/2 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen broccoli, chopped finely
  1. Boil water in a small saucepan with a lid.
  2. Once boiling, whisk in polenta in a steady stream. Stir in Herbamare (or salt), nutritional yeast, and chopped broccoli until combined. Cover and reduce heat to a simmer.
  3. Simmer polenta for ~10-15 minutes, or until a thick and creamy mixture is formed.
  4. Taste mixture and adjust seasonings (salt, pepper, nooch, or other desired seasonings). Transfer polenta to greased or non-stick pans (or muffin tins).
  5. Place polenta in the refrigerator to cool for at least an hour.
  6. Once the polenta sets, preheat the oven to 400*F and remove the molded mixture, placing it on a cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 30-40 minutes (depending on firmness/crunchiness desired), flipping half-way through.
  8. Serve with marinara sauce and humnut sauce for dipping.

Questions: are you a night howl or morning person? Do you have a self-imposed bed time on school/work days or on the weekend? Or do you just find you’re ready to go to bed at a certain time?

Have a lovely day!

xox

5 responses to “Self-Imposed Bed Time

  1. im morning and night owl!! it dusnt work out too well!! i love this polenta!

  2. I am definitely a morning person, but I’ve been getting to bed wayyyy too late recently! I still wake up early, but then I’m sleep deprived and miserable :/

  3. Pingback: Full-Swing | kabochavore

  4. Pingback: WIAW #7: I’m Just a Softie at Heart | kabochavore

  5. Pingback: Weekend Thoughts and Monday Love «

Leave a Reply

