Chia Seeds Are the New Gatorade

This morning’s yoga class H.O.T.! Seriously, you have no idea. After the class, everyone looked like they had just gone swimming. One man brought a bath-sized towel with him, and it was absolutely soaked through. I even noticed that the temperature in the room wasn’t even higher than normal, so the flows must have really generated a lot of internal heat.

I would definitely much rather have heat generated by my body than just by the thermostat alone (though I need my 99*F heat, too—the hotter, the better). It just goes to show you how strong and beautiful our bodies are. Not only does yoga require (and produce!) a lot of physical and mental strength, but it also helps to purify the body of toxins through sweat. I laugh now at how grossed out I used to be by it. Now I look at in amazement, thankful for what my body is capable of. The body truly is an amazing machine!

Anyway, I needed some serious refueling after the sweat-shesh. I don’t drink water during class (it lowers internal heat), so it is crucial that I hydrate properly before and after. Step aside Gatorade, there’s a new guy in town.

Say hello to my new friends, chia seeds. Chia seeds are a great addition to any snack or meal because of their nutrient density. Here’s why:

  • high in fiber
  • high in protein
  • great source of Omega-3 fatty acids
  • good source of calcium (and boron, which helps your body absorb calcium)
  • easy nutrient accessibility (they are easily digestible so the nutrients travel to your cells faster)
  • enhance endurance (used by ancient Aztec warriors!)
  • hydrating (they soak up ten times their weight in water)

Oh, and did I mention they’re delicious, too? I love my apple pumpkin chia seed pudding, but it does taste quite autumnal. With the rise in temperature, I was more in the mood for a spring-inspired treat today. I’m so thankful that now stores are carrying beautiful, plump, juicy, organic raspberries that simply melt in my mouth. I love spring!

Chocolate Raspberry Chia Seed Pudding

  • 2 TBS chia seeds (26 grams)
  • 1 cup raspberries, slightly mashed or broken into pieces
  • 3/4 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 TBS dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • sweetener, to taste
  • pinch cinnamon
  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl or reusable container. Place in the refrigerator for a few hours or over night to thicken.

I was surprised by how indulgent this tasted considering all of its healthy ingredients. It was almost like healthy raspberry chocolate mousse. Yum!

Speaking of delicious chocolate foods, I brought my yoga teacher some freshly baked vegan chocolate chip cookie dough balls this morning.

(*Recycled photo alert. I gave my teacher the cookies before I had a chance to whip out my camera.)

When I had seen her during the week, I could tell she looked very tired/stressed. Yesterday I even overheard her friend (the receptionist) asking her out to lunch to help her relax.

We all go through stressful times in our lives, and it’s nice to know that we’re not alone. Sometimes all it takes is a cookie (or a whole batch!) to make someone’s life just a little bit sweeter.

I immediately saw the happiness on her face when I handed her the box. Seeing the smile grow across her face really made my day, too!

Questions: do you like Gatorade? How much water do you drink? And what’s your favorite tip to staying hydrated?

Have a lovely day!

Manidee

3 responses to “Chia Seeds Are the New Gatorade

  1. oo your yoga class sounds great! i love chias!! love to put them in my oats! im not a fan of gatorade.. i stick to good old fashioned water!

  2. I don’t buy Gatorade, but I drink it during races if it’s being offered sometimes. I’m not a huge fan of it- in some ways, I feel more dehydrated after I drink it!

  3. Pingback: Chia Seed Drink Recipe | nick m.

Leave a Reply

