Cookie Dough Cravings

Happy Saturday everyone! Do you have any fun plans for the weekend? I’m planning on spending most of my time at school in the weaving studio, so I’ll probably be pretty busy. I’m making a plaid scarf right now that I would like to finish by Tuesday. I’ve got to get a move on it!

This doesn’t really relate at all, but have you heard the buzz about Natalie Portman? (You can read about it here.) I actually hadn’t until I read Mama Pea’s post. Since becoming pregnant, Natalie decided to transition back from being vegan to vegetarian. She explained that her decision to do so was because her body was craving dairy and eggs. She also mentioned that not being able to enjoy bakery items, which are usually not vegan, is inconvenient because of her pregnancy cravings.

I know that a lot of criticism has arisen because of Portman’s decision. I, however, firmly believe that diet is a personal choice and therefore believe that if she’s doing what’s right for her body, then that’s all that matters. I can definitely sympathize with her because I remember encountering a lot of resistance when I first became vegetarian, then again when I decided to go vegan. I know that it was the best decision for me, but I also recognize that everyone is different and has different dietary needs. So I say play around with your diet and see what works best for you. Whether it’s being an omnivore or eating raw,  only you know what makes you feel like your happiest, healthiest self.

Now that’s I’ve coverd my take on dietary choices, let’s get to the real heart of the matter: the bakeries. Cookies as big as your head may be tempting in the front window of a beautiful patisserie, but there’s nothing like the taste (and armoma!) of a freshly baked home-made chocolate chip cookie. These cookies have earned me bonus points in calculus, have caused my uncle to beg me multiple times a day to bake, and have been loved so much by my classmates that even the crumbs at the bottom of the container are eaten. Most importantly, these cookies never cease to bring smiles to the faces of the recipients. Now I don’t know much about pregnancy, but I can guess that turing down a delicious little ball of cookie dough goodness would be pretty dang hard. And while the finished cookies do taste reminiscent of cookie dough, heck, why not just go ahead and eat the dough itself if a craving strikes? I think I’ve found a solution to Natalie’s problem, and a delicious one at that.

Vegan Chocolate Cookie Dough Bites 

Makes ~40

  • 3 cups flour (I usually use a combination including spelt)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup Earth Balance, room-temperature
  • 1 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend or brown sugar
  • 2 TBS granulated sugar
  • 2 flax-seed eggs (2 TBS ground flax seed + 6 TBS warm water + a few minutes to gel)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup non-dairy chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Combine flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon in a bowl.
  3. Using a stand- or hand-mixer, beat Earth Balance, stevia/brown sugar, and granulated sugar until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Next, mix in flax-seed eggs and vanilla extract until well combined.
  4. Add dry mixture to the wet in batches, mixing well after each installment, until all of the dry is incorporated into the wet. (You may need to add a few TBS of water or non-dairy milk to the mixture if it gets too dry. However, make sure to add with caution because it usually mixes well with minimal addition.) Stir in chocolate chips.
  5. Refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes. The longer the dough has to chill, the more cookie-dough like the final product will be.
  6. Use an ice cream scoop or hands to roll the dough into small balls. Place the balls on a cookie sheet, leavning them as-is rather than flattening them.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the cookies appear to be firming up. Since the final product should be cookie dough-like, it is not necessary to cook them until golden brown. Ideally, the outside will be soft but firm, while the inside is doughy and dense.
  8. Cook on a baking rack and enjoy!

Questions: do you eat differently than the norm? How do you deal with other people’s reaction to your dietary choices? Also, if you were a pregnanat woman, what is something your crazy cravings would be for? 

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee
3 responses to “Cookie Dough Cravings

  1. ummm these look awesome: ) you know i’m all over anything cookie dough 😉

    people make a lot of fun of me for eating ridiculous amounts of vegetables, but I usually just go right along with it 😉 i’m kind of afraid of what i’ll crave when pregnant given that i already crave bizarre vegetables at random hours of the day…

  2. Loving the cookie bites, how delicious! And I totally eat differently than the norm but I’m proud of the way that I eat and I would never change it. A lot of ppl don’t understand the food choices I make but it doesn’t bother me anymore. I just eat what I like and don’t worry about others 😀

  3. I agree with what you said about Natalie Portman. She’s doing what’s right for her, and that’s cool.

    Holy yummy cookies!! Do you adapt your recipes from other recipes, or is it just trial and error?

Leave a Reply

