Going Bananas

There’s nothing like a little baking to start the weekend off right.

Baking has always been my stress reliver, my form of meditation. Accordingly, I never know when an impulse to bake is going to hit. In fact, one of my favorite times to bake is at night. While I love the brightness of the sun shining in the kitchen windows during the day, I also equally enjoy the peace and serenity of the house at night. I can’t really explain the feeling; it’s kind of like feeling at one with the sleeping Earth by combining the fruits of her bounty (aka baking ingredients).

Did I lose you there? Anyway, back to the baking. While most of you were probably sleeping (aka a bit after midnight), I was combining ingredients methodically, and enjoying ever moment of it. The recipe I came up with was so simple that I think I could do it in my sleep. (I even just used one bowl, too!) In just a manner of minutes, my bunch of (extremely) spotted bananas were magically transformed into muffins ready for baking. I’m sure their lovely aroma drifted into the bed rooms of my sleeping family memembers, giving them yummy, muffin-y dream.

Call me bananas, but this recipe is so easy and delicious that it would have you making muffins in the middle of the night, too. Or at least fully prepared for a muffin craving whenever it strikes. (If you would like I can also work on devolping a single-serve recipe.)

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins 

Makes 16 muffins
  • 2 cups flour (can use GF)
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend or granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup oil or applesauce
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed well
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup non-dairy chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a medium-sized bowl.
  3. In a large bowl, use a fork to mix brown sugar, stevia/sugar, and oil/applesauce. Stir in mashed bananas, almond milk, and vanilla extract.
  4. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet in batches.
  5. Once combined, stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Use a large ice-cream scoop to fill greased or lined muffin tins 3/4 of the way full with batter.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes.
  8. Remove muffins from the oven and transfer to a cooling rack. Or just eat a muffin (or a few) straight out of the oven if you prefer. Not wanting freshly baked banana muffins with melty chocolate chips at midnight? Now that’s just bananas.

Questions: what’s your favorite kind of muffin? Do you usually have bedtime/midnight snacks? 

Blueberry muffins are probably my favorite, though I will always have a special space in my heart for the AMAZING strawberry peach muffin that I had at Bliss Cafe (in New York City). Oh my gosh, I’m drooling just thinking about it! Bedtime snacks are a must, especially when I practice yoga first thing in the morning. Gotta fuel up! 
Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee
5 responses to “Going Bananas

  1. Blueberry muffins are probably my favorite too!

    I always have a snack before bed. I find if I don’t, I get hungry in the middle of the nigh and I’m starving in the morning. So my snack sort of balances that all out 🙂

  2. I LOVE bananas!! i agree with megan.. blueberry is pretty darn yummy too!!
    YEP i always have a snack at night!

  3. I love the name of your blog. Kabocha squash is the best!
    My favorite muffin is poppy seed or pumpkin
    I’ve never thought about baking at night, maybe I should try it

  4. Omg those banana muffins look incredible 😀 I wouldn’t be able to stop eating them 😉

  5. I’m definitely a night snacker! I have some bananas ripening on my counter that I’m going to use to make these muffins!

Leave a Reply

