Where’s the [Bacon]?

Hey friends! How was your Monday? Mine felt rush-rush-rush until I went to yoga. Yoga always manages to quiet my chatty mind and make me feel refreshed. When I got home, I was ready to get down to business. I was actually surprised by how much I got done; I even got ahead in calculus!

I find my mind is at its prime focus right after I finish practicing yoga, so I usually do homework when I get home while I brainstorm ideas for dinner. When I finally went to start my yummy meal last night, guess what I found…?

A slice of bacon in our drawer! Um, where did this come from?! Clearly I burst out laughing and promptly took a picture. Ah, the life of a food blogger!

As for the meal I was preparing, it was 100% bacon-free. Instead, I sauteed some lentils with onions and yellow squash in fresh ginger, curry powder, and mirin for some mild-but-delicious vegan protein.

Lentils are a staple in my kitchen because of their flavor, versatility, and nutritional value. Filled with protein, fiber, iron, and much, much more, I always find myself relying on them when I’m craving a light but filling meal.

Mild Curried Lentils with Onions and Yellow Squash 

  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 1/4 cup yellow squash or zucchini, sliced into half-moons
  • 1 cup cooked lentils (I use french (puy) green lentils)
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 3/4 tsp curry powder, or to taste (this will depend on the flavor of your curry powder)
  • 1/2 tsp mirin
  • 3 TBS water or almond milk (make sure to use original, not vanilla!)
  1. Sautee onion for 2 minutes on medium-high heat. Add yellow squash and cook until vegetables are softened.
  2. Stir in lentils, fresh ginger, and curry powder. Use mirin to deglaze the pan.
  3. Add water or almond milk to deglaze the pan further. Cook until most of the liquid has cooked off.
I served it up with cauliflower “rice” and my favorite steamed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, and carrots). Veggies make me very happy. Come to think of it, everything I ate was techinally a vegetable…well, if legumes are considered vegetables, that is. Even though I’ve been vegan for more than a year, I’m still amazed by how easy it is to fuel my body nutriciously by just eating a variety of balanced plants. 
And guess what’s even better? Technically vegan cupcakes are 100% plant, too. I guess eating a cupcake is almost like eating vegetables, right? 😉 
I’ll let you decide that for yourself. 
Speaking of cupcakes, I’m excited to start a new cupcake feature for the blog.
Look out for some yummy news coming soon! 

Questions: what’s the strangest thing you’ve found in your kitchen? And what do you think: can cupcakes be nutritious?

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee

4 responses to “Where’s the [Bacon]?

  1. Yum, I want a cupcake now! I think they can be healthy if you use whole wheat flour, sub stevia for the sugar, apple sauce for the oil, and flax eggs for regular eggs. That’s what I always do and they turn out delish!

  2. BAHAHAHAH love the random bacon!!! oo and i lov eyour lentils!!

  3. Hahaha! Where the heck did that bacon come from?! I’ve found some weird things in our kitchen too… all my brother’s fault 🙂

  4. Yoga helps me get stuff done too! It’s a lifesaver, saved me from serious procrastination.

    Bacon is your drawer?? bahah thats funny I don’t think anything weird in my kitchen could top that 😛

Leave a Reply

