You Spin Me Right Round, Baby

On a recent trip to Sur La Table, I was lucky enough to find a spiral slicer on sale. I’ve wanted one for a while, but have either a) not been able to find one in stores or, b) have not liked the price that I saw. Getting the last one they had and at about $10 off made me feel like I had mad skills. Doesn’t getting a great deal always make you feel great?

Spiral slicers can be used to create pretty edible garnishes or simply to turn vegetables into long, noodle-like strands. I don’t usually have the patience for garnishes (a girl’s gotta eat!), but I have had my mind set on making zucchini noodles for a while.

In the winter, the last thing I want is raw foods or salads. Instead, my body craves hearty root vegetables and energizing, warm foods. I know that it’s spring when I find myself dreaming of big salads with crunchy vegetables. Yum!

This lunch was a nice way to welcome in spring by combining both raw and cooked components. I used raw yellow squash noodles for the base and topped them with steamed broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, and chickpeas.

For the “sauce,” I simply roasted a handful of cherry tomatoes until they were bursting with warm, sweet flavor.

Mixed with chiffonaded basil, topped with chopped nuts or tahini sauce, and served with crumbled Mary’s Gone Crackers or sprouted bread croutons makes this a meal full of flavor and nutrition.

High Raw Zucchini Noodle Primavera with Roasted Tomatoes 

  • 1.5 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped (or sweet mini peppers like I used)
  • 1 large zucchini
  • veggies of choice (I used broccoli, cauliflower, and brussels sprouts)
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  1. Preheat oven to 400*F.
  2. Place cherry tomatoes and bell pepper in a small dished sprayed with cooking spray/drizzled in olive oil or lined with tinfoil/parchment paper. Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes, or until soft and almost bursting.
  3. Follow manufacturer’s directions to create zucchini noodles. If you don’t have a spiral slicer or mandolin, you can also use your vegetable peeler to create thin strips.
  4. Steam, roast, or sauté veggies of choice.
  5. Combine zucchini noodles, vegetables, roasted tomatoes and bell peppers, and chickpeas. Top with hummus, tahini sauce, nuts, or whatever you would like. Serve with sprouted bread or gluten-free crackers, if desired.
With my birthday and junior ring ceremony just around the corner (Monday and Thursday respectively), I’m hoping my raw food cravings are a good omen for warm weather. And speaking of spring, guess how else I know that spring’s almost here? 
Coconut butter. Need I say more? All winter my beloved butter has been hard and flaky. No more, my friends, no more. I could swim in this stuff.
Oh hey there. Someone just finished off a jar of love-in-a-jar, aka Raw Artisana Coconut Butter. You bet I already opened a new one or else there wouldn’t be a big smile on my face. A coconutty kabochavore is a happy kabochavore. Speaking of which, if you haven’t tried putting coconut butter on kabocha, DO. IT. NOW. Or any other winter squash, sweet potato, or carrots. Really, just put coconut butter on anything. You’ll thank me later.

Questions: how do you know it’s spring? And what’s the best buy you’ve gotten recently? Do you put something special on everything?

Have a lovely day!
Love. 
7 responses to “You Spin Me Right Round, Baby

  1. Woah how handy! I need me one of those ! 😀

  2. Thanks for the comment! It was nice having my own kitchen, but now that I’m back living at home I am under the rule of the ‘rents or I lease out my boyfriend’s kitchen to experiment in. It’s definitely a fun time, and even though it sucks having to portion out grocery money on a budget, it’s how I discovered some of my most favorite recipes! Good luck when you get there, and if you live in a dorm I’m totally not against a contraband hot plate 🙂

    PS I’ve been wanting to try “noodles” like that foreverrr!

  3. I love getting deals! I may be stalking Sur La Table for a spiralizer now 🙂

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I really like the look of yours. And zucchini is the yummiest food ever!

  5. That spiral slicer is awesome! I’ve never seen one before, but now I’m thinking I need one too.

  6. I have that spiralizer too! I lost the bottom bowl attachment though, so I don’t use it as much. I have to suspend it over a bowl, but it’s hard since it’s not the right size!
    I just got a packet of coconut butter to see if I like it before committing to a whole (12 freaking dollar) jar. I wish I could try a kabocha too, but we don’t have them around here. Boo!

Leave a Reply

