White Dresses and Rings

I’ve been a little MIA all week thanks to celebrations galore. Easter? Check. 17th birthday? Check. Junior Ring? Check and check!

Easter Chocolate Mousse Cake --- Recipe to come!

I cannot thank you all enough for your kind birthday wishes. I was so overwhelmed and really enjoyed reading each and every one of them. We kept the celebration low key since I have been so busy with school, but it was lovely none the less. An amazing yoga practice plus loving family and friends is all I really need to have a good time. Oh, and a little cake to blow candles out couldn’t hurt either, right?

I also made a little birthday treat for myself using my birthday gift, Vincent the Vita-Mix.

I swear my Vanilla Chai protein ice cream tasted like cake batter. And the black bean brownie to go on top? It was absolutely fudge-y and delicious.

Vanilla Chai Protein Ice Cream

Serves one
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 15 grams Vega Vanilla Chai Whole Foods Optimizer or 1/2 serving protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp guar gum
  • 1 cup ice (may depend on your blender)
  1. In a blender, combine all ingredients except for ice.
  2. If using a Vita-Mix, add ice to blender all at once. Blend until smooth and creamy. If not using a Vita-Mix, add the ice in stages.

Single-Serve Black Bean Brownies 

Makes 3 individual brownies, or about 1-2 servings 
  • 1/3 cup + 1 TBS black beans
  • 2 TBS oat flour (just ground rolled oats, or brown rice flour/flour of choice)
  • 1 TBS coconut flour
  • 1 TBS cocoa powder
  • 3-4 TBS almond milk
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • sweetener, to taste (I used 1/2 tsp NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend)
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a  food processor or blender until creamy and well combined. It will be thick like normal brownies, but feel free to add the extra TBS of almond milk, if necessary.
  3. Place in a small loaf pan, ramekin, or individual cupcake holders.
  4. Bake for 35 minutes.

As I mentioned, this week I also celebrated my junior ring ceremony. All dressed in white, I received my junior ring yesterday and marked my transition into senior leadership. It was a beautiful ceremony, and touching, too. I will never forget the loving hug that my mom gave me when she put the ring on my finger. She has sacrificed and worked so hard to give me a wonderful education, and I am forever grateful.

Although the ceremonies are now winding down for a little while, there is still much to celebrate. I am continually thankful for all the blessings in my life, especially this blog and all of you for helping me discover my passions. I cannot wait to tell you more about my celebrations and show you some pictures (many of my eats) from this week. Here’s some of what’s ahead:

  • the most epic vegan cake (3 layers of goodness)
  • raw chocolate brownie ice cream
  • homemade vegetable burgers
  • breakfast apple cinnamon mini loafs

Questions: how has your week been? What are you thankful for right now? 

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee
12 responses to “White Dresses and Rings

  1. OH YES YES thank you for the single serve blac bean brownie!!! LOVE it!

  2. I’ve been looking for a single-serving brownie recipe so I can’t wait to try this one out! And super jealous that your got a Vita-Mix for your birthday… lucky! 🙂

  3. I’ll echo the above and thank you for posting the single serve brownie recipie. All the other ones I’ve found make a huge amount, so I’m really thankful for yours.

    I want a vita-mix too!!!!! 😛

  4. Single serve brownies?! Ahh thank you I always make huge batches of recipes and they go bad before I eat them all so this is perfect! 🙂

  5. Yes yes yes!! I love these recipes and I’m drooling over the upcoming ones. Especially the mini-loaves, everything is better when it’s mini!
    The ring ceremony sounds so exciting. I can’t wait to hear more!

  6. What is the Junior Ring?! It sounds so special! I am so happy for you, your momma, and your 17TH BIRTHDAY! Girl you are growing up, I can’t wait to hear about all of your college searching!!!

  7. :-O My Vincent has a twin Vita!? How could this be!?

  8. Pingback: Girls Day In | kabochavore

  9. Pingback: Feature Fridays | kabochavore

  10. Pingback: WIAW #1: Green Muffins and Jam | kabochavore

  11. Pingback: WIAW #2: Swamp Monsters | kabochavore

  12. Pingback: WIAW #4: Green Without Envy | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

