The Royal Wedding

Did any of you wake up to see the royal wedding? The news coverage started at about 4AM where I live—WAY too early for even this romantic-fairy-tale-and-pretty-dress-lover. Since I had first hour off today (it’s a “studio” day for my weaving class), I could not bear the thought of waking up. Luckily, though, my TiVo never sleeps. Thank goodness for technology!

After school and a yoga sesh, I came home and got right to watching the opening festivities. My TiVo recorded five hours worth so I’d better get a move on! I loved every moment of watching stunning Kate Middleton and her charming Prince William be married. Seeing the love that the world poured out for them on their special day warmed my heart, just as watching the couple try to keep straight faces behind their encroaching smiles made me laugh. It’s interesting to think that about 1/3 of the world’s population will share this experience with me. It was surely history in the making; I know I will even be telling my grandchildren about this one day!

Speaking of history, let’s back-track a little bit to Easter. My family and I kept things pretty low key this year, but I did manage to make a fun dessert for the occasion.

Dessert has always been my favorite way to contribute to family gatherings. I put my heart in everything I bake, so much so that I’m sure they must be able to taste the love. Since going vegan, I’ve been so pleased by how receptive my family has been to trying new things. In fact, I tend to enjoy using unlikely ingredients rather than trying to fake the classics, so their willingness to experiment is crucial.

This Easter, my love for unconventionality was taken to a whole new level by making a chocolate mousse cake out of avocados. It was creamy and rich, but wholesome, too. Replacing white flour with spelt, using maple syrup to sweetene, and using avocados rather than cream and eggs really changed things up for the better! I’m happy to report every piece was lovingly devoured.

Vegan Chocolate Avocado Mousse Cake 

adapted from OhSheGlows

Crust:

  • 1 cup + 6 TBS spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup + 2 TBS cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup + 1/3 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend (or organic sugar)
  • 1 TBS arrowroot (or cornstarch)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 5 TBS canola oil (or unsweetened applesauce)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 3 TBS maple syrup
  1. Preheat oven to 375*F.
  2. Grease and flour a 9-inch spring-form pan.
  3. In a bowl, sift together spelt flour, cocoa poder, stevia/sugar, arrowroot, baking powder, and salt.
  4. In a measuring cup or small bowl, whisk canola oil, almond milk, and maple syrup.
  5. Add wet to dry, stirring until well combined.
  6. Pour batter into greased + floured pan. Spread batter evenly (it will be thick!).
  7. Bake for 25 minutes.
Filling: 
  • 2 cups avocado flesh (I used 3.5 medium avocados)
  • 2/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1 TBS arrowroot
  • 1 TBS smooth nut butter (I used creamy peanut butter)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips, melted (using microwave or double-boiler)
  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor, blending until well-combined and creamy.
Mouse Cake Assembly: 
  1. Once cake is cooled, spread filling evenly on top. (*Do not remove the cake from the spring-form pan. The sides of the pan will help the mousse stay in place until it firms up.)
  2. Place in the freezer until firm (about 1.5-2 hours or longer).
  3. Remove cake from freezer about 15 minutes before serving to let it come up to temperature. (*Be careful, though, or it will get too soft.)

Questions: Did you watch the royal wedding? If so, what did you think (especially of Kate’s dress)? And what’s the most unconventional things you’ve cooked or baked with? Do you like to try recipes on your family and friends? Are they adventurous? 

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee

10 responses to “The Royal Wedding

  1. I watched bits of it 🙂 I had to keep studying, but I specifically timed my break so I could see her dress, and when they came onto the balcony! She did look stunning, so beautiful! So did Pippa actually – her and Harry would make a fine couple 😛
    Unconventional? Hm….black beans in brownies probably!
    Yep, always trying recipes out on them 😛 I think sometimes they’d probably LOVE an un-vegan, un-weird 100% full of crap treat though 😛

  2. Thanks for your comment on my blog, girl!!

    I didn’t watch the wedding, but I heard from all my friends that it was gorgeous!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    OH my that cake sounds sinfully delicious! Avocado makes deserts so moist and creamy! AAAH I can’t wait to try this!

  4. What a beautiful and delicious looking cake! Good job 🙂 I wanna eat that right now!

  5. oh my gosh GIRL!! this cake is INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!.. LOVEd the royal wedding- they were so cute!

  6. omg this cake looks BOMB! i seriously REALLY want to make it now; like no joke-serious cravings!!! haha and I totally woke up at 430 for the royal wedding; I had too, it was So worth it!

  7. Ohman that cake looks SO GOOD!! I’ve wanted to make that cake ever since seeing it on OSG, and now I want to even more!! 😛

    And the Royal Wedding was AMAZING!! Kate’s dress was SO GORGEOUS 🙂

  8. I didn’t watch the wedding. But I did watch the highlights!

    Man, that cake looks good!
    My dad will usually try my recipes (he went vegan with me for 30 days once!) my sister likes some stuff, but my mom – ehh not so much. 😛

    I didn’t know you took a weaving class. What things do you weave??

  9. YES YES YES I have been looking for a good avocado mousse cake. I’ve found a lot that have butter and I really wanted a vegan one. You make my dreams come true! I would say the most unconventional thing I bake with are beans! I’m pretty sure my family would be turned off… if they knew 😉

    So I wish I was Kate. She is gorgeous, has the best fashion sense (loved the wedding and reception dresses!), and married a prince. Though I’d rather have Harry. He’s way cuter!

  10. That cake looks amazing! I only watched the last of the ceremony while I did my strength training. I thought her dress was amazing! I loved the lace arms.

Leave a Reply

