Curry Comfort Food

I’m all tested out.

2 APs, 1 ACT, 4 tests, 1 paper, seemingly endless amounts of homework, and countless other things later, I am ready for a little relaxation. Can you say biz-sayy?

To all of you that took APs, I hope you did really well. I know you rocked it! And for any APUSHers out there, what did you think of the DBQ? Unfortunately, I totally predicted the subject but wish I hadn’t. I would have much preferred something from the late 1800s-early 1900s. But hey, at least it’s crossed of the list now. Any other AP Language and Composition testers out there?

As you can imagine, my efforts went all towards studying this week. All I have to say is that food-wise, I am super thankful for purple sweet potatoes and black bean brownies (especially in black bean brownie sundaes—yum!)

The sweet potatoes were awesome for simple meals (just throw in the oven while studying & devour) and the black bean brownies…well, they were just because. I think you would agree that you need a little something-something while studying as much as I did.

And when I needed an escape, I took to the kitchen to make myself a special, but still simple, meal. Curries always make me feel so warm and fuzzy inside; forget the mashed potatoes and gravy—give me coconut curry and I’m a happy girl.

Curry in a Hurry

adapted from The Edible Perspective and my curry

  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped bell peppers
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1-1/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp garam masala
  • pinch turmeric
  • pinch cumin
  • pinch coriander
  •  1/8 tsp Herbamare
  • 1/2 cup canned diced tomatoes and their juices
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas and carrots (or other mixed veggies)
  • 2-3 TBS unsweetened coconut or almond milk
  1. Over medium high heat, sauté onion and bell pepper for about 5-7 minutes, or until soft.
  2. Add garlic, curry powder, ginger, garam masala, cumin, coriander, and Herbamare. Stir for a minute or so to make the spices become fragrant (add a splash of water if they stick to the bottom of the pan).
  3. Stir in chickpeas, diced tomatoes, and frozen peas and carrots. Cook over medium low heat for about 25-30 minutes.
  4. Before serving, add coconut milk to make the curry extra creamy. Heat through.
I reccommend eating the curry with a side of creamy quinoa. Just use either coconut or almond milk for about a third of the water you usually use to make extra delicious quinoa. You’d be surprised how much of a flavor difference this little variation makes!
For one serving, I cooked 1/4 cup (dry) quinoa in 1/4 cup non-dairy milk and 1/2 cup water. Somehow the stars aligned, and I ended up with perfectly fluffy quinoa. Wahoo!
I can’t blame you if you add a little coconut butter on top, too. I can tell you from experience that coconut butter makes everything better, especially curry. Cococnut milk (or almond milk) + coconut butter really bring the flavors all together!
I can’t wait to get back into the blogging swing of things and out of the testing cycle (only one more AP to go!) For now, though, my yoga mat is calling my name.
 

Questions: what’s your favorite way to unwind after a crazy testing schedule? And what’s your ultimate comfort food: redefined?

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee
12 responses to “Curry Comfort Food

  1. Good luck on all your tests sweetie! That curry looks so good! I LOVE curry and coconut. Awesome combo 🙂 I haven’t been in school for awhile but after anything crazy or stressful, I love to have a glass of wine or a beer 😉 Or if I’m being a “good girl” I’ll do some yoga to unwind instead 🙂

  2. I hear ya with the tests and busy-ness. Hang in there. you are almost done!! Those black bean brownies will get you through. 😉 I have looked high and low for purple sweet potatoes but still no luck. They look so amazing! Where did you get yours?

  3. omg girl-i TOTALLY feel ya! I just had AP American yesterday, and SAT today…they were both death!! (just way too much sitting for this girl!) and I’ve got 2 more APs and ACT left still and then FINALLY summer! Your curry looks and sounds absolutely BOMB! and I’m totally bookmarking it + can’t wait to make it…I LOVE absolutely LOVE coconut butter and anything coconut is AMAZING! 🙂 I love your blog, and we have so dang much in common! hang in there with the studying girl; we’ll get through this together:)

  4. I’ve been out of school for awhile and as much as working can be a big bummer at times, I do NOT miss having to take tests! 🙂

  5. Stephanie Leung

    yes i agree with you, the DBQ was a little bit difficult but no so much compared to the FRQ’s D: i was not prepared….
    well now i feel so relieved because im finally done with all of those terrible AP tests! for motivation just think this: after all those tests are done, you can just sit on the couch and become a couch potato! haha thats what helped me. honestly burying my head in books was not fun.
    Good Luck! 🙂

  6. Coconut butter on curry?! Nice!! And CONGRATS!! You made it through all the tests 🙂

  7. So glad you made it through all the tests! I know you did great! 🙂 I have so many tests coming up too… ugh 😦

    Your curry look aaaaamazing!!! I love, love curry! 😀

    Good luck on that last AP test!

  8. Heyy smarty pants! 😀
    I’ve always wanted to try black bean brownies! I hope they still taste like brownies.

    Whitney

    • You’d be surprised how fudgy and delicious they are! Depending on how much liquid you use, they’re almost like eating rich, choclately fudge. Honestly, I like them better than “real” brownies. But then again, I would probably take broccoli over a cupcake ;).

  9. I’ve been on such a curry kick lately and with how busy I am due to testing curry in a hurry sounds like my kind of meal 🙂

  10. That’s a lot of tests! My finals are next week, although they shouldn’t be nearly as bad as yours! You deserve a nice long break 🙂

  11. Pingback: Remedies for Feeling Under the Weather | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

