Hummusy soup? Soupy hummus?

Hey there! Thanks so much for your support while I’m so busy with testing. It seems like a lot of you are in a similar boat, and if not, can at least sympathize. Is it just me or do things seem to pick up when the season changes to summer? Spring summer cleaning anyone?

Speaking of summer cleaning, apparently the Fates think that I have to do some of my own. People from my past keep walking back into my life as quickly as wildflowers grow. And as someone who has a cottage that gets usurped by flowers every year around this time, I can tell you that that is mighty lot of flowers and people for one girl to handle. Let’s just say some flowers you hold close to your heart and others you would prefer to leave where they are. Either way, these people (and increasing number of deja vu moments) must be coming back for a reason. It’s time to do some serious rekindling, talking, and just plain hanging out. I feel summer coming on!

I also feel another AP coming on, but I’d rather not think about that right now (though I will have to soon when I go back to studying). I’ve been working so hard lately that this last test barely even phases me. I think once you reach a certain amount of work, your stress level plateaus. 5 page paper due tomorrow? And in French? Got it covered. 100 word vocab test in two days? No big deal. Oh, and start (and finish!) Conduct Review Board application (aka a lot of deep thought) by Wednesday? You betcha. Never mind the fact that you have to wake up an hour early, miss your free period, shorten your lunch, and miss a class in which you’re working on a research paper, just in order to mentor a group of girls.

Okay, I’m done now. I don’t think you really want to hear about my busy schedule. I promise my life will get a little more interesting once school gets out. Or maybe a bit before. Let’s just say I have a fun little announcement coming up.

But back on track. You like hummus right? Okay, silly question. Seriously, hummus is amazing. Hummus and I took a little break after I had a little (okay, A LOT) too much about 2 years ago. But as with any love, I was definitely ready to come back. And what better way than with a new flavor? This recipe is pretty much broccoli cheese soup in hummus form.

With creamy, cheesy goodness and a little broccoli (because really, broccoli makes everything better,) this hummus is the perfect savory dip that keeps me finding more things to dip in it. Nutrition-wise, it also has stellar stats. Can you believe that it has more than double the protein and fiber of normal hummus, not to mention the nutritional benefits of broccoli and from the nutritional yeast (um, can you say b-vitamin heaven?)? If hummus and broccoli cheese soup got together to create a super hybrid, this would be the result, and a tasty one at that!

“Broccoli Cheese Soup” Hummus (Vegan, GF)

  • 1/2 (heaping) cup chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup steamed broccoli
  • 2 TBS nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 3 TBS vegetable broth or water, or more to achieve desired consistency
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor.
  2. Blend until smooth. Add more vegetable broth to adjust the consistency.

Questions: Are you a spring cleaner? If so, what has been your greatest “cleaning” feat this year? And have you ever gotten sick of a food from eating it to much?

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee
7 responses to “Hummusy soup? Soupy hummus?

  1. I’m always trying to keep things clean, so I “spring cleaning” happens a lot for me 😛

    I really like that hummus idea. I’ve gotten way sick of regular hummus so I’m ready to try all the fancy ones!

  2. Yum that sounds like my kind of hummus!

    Whitney

  3. Oooh, that hummus sounds good!

    I’m pretty tidy, but I do a deep clean before each semester starts and after it ends. It just feels good to reorganize then!

  4. Hey girl! Ack! Love the blog name… totally fitting 🙂 And loving the looks of that hummus, too. Hummus is one of my favorite foods and, thankfully, I have yet to overdose on it (I’m hoping it never happens). Actually, it’s been a while since I got sick of eating a particular food. But back before I cleaned up my diet, I used to eat Poptarts for breakfast and snacks for years and got to a point where I couldn’t even look at them anymore without feeling a bit ill; which is probably a good thing anyways 🙂

  5. Interesting recipe, I’ll have to try it!! And you’re so so so close with finishing, you can do it!!! Bonne chance 🙂

  6. Yummy! That sounds really good. 🙂 Hey, I wanted to let you know that I tagged you with the “Stylish Blogger Award!” 🙂

  7. YUM!! That looks like something I would love! 🙂

    And good luck on all your tests!! I know you will do awesome!

    ❤

Leave a Reply

