The Cookies That Started it All

Yesterday was quite the rainy day! In fact, it actually rained all weekend, but yesterday was special because of the especially frigid temps. High 30s, wind, and rain? Does Michigan even know it’s the middle of May? It seemed like everywhere I went someone was complaining about the weather. Although I often voice my distaste for gobs of snow, I don’t usually have a problem with rain. I enjoy the soothing noise and natural beauty of it.  While I used to use rainy days as an opportunity to stay in my PJs all day while watching movies, I utilized yesterday’s weather in a different way.

Naturally I started my day off with a little yoga. It always sets my day with a good vibe. Next I went to a few grocery stores to take advantage of sales, prepare for the week, and just plain look at pretty food. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: fresh produce is absolutely breathtaking for me! With yoga practiced and errands crossed off my list, there was only one thing that seemed fitting left to do: bake cookies!

This is the recipe that started it all.What I mean to say is that this was one of the first recipes that I tried that was vegan, immediately fell in love with, and made me curious about veganism. One thing led to another, and now I’m the veggie-loving, yoga-practicing, midnight-baker vegan that you see today.

Their impact on me aside, these oatmeal chocolate chip cookies have been the biggest hit with my friends and family, too. I’ve made countless batches of them over the years, brining them to parties, charities, and even just to school. I believe they have really made veganism accessible. Almost all of those who have tasted them have said they are as good as, if not better than, “normal” cookies, venturing even to say they are one of their favorite cookies they’ve ever tasted. That’s quite a big statement for a little vegan cookie! With real food ingredients just like grandma used to use, a little spice, and a whole lot of love, I’m sure these oatmeal chocolate chip cookies will bring smiles no matter who you serve them to.

Spiced Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes enough to share generously (aka ~4 dozen)

  • 1 cup Earth Balance
  • 1-1/4 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend or organic brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend or organic sugar
  • 2 flax eggs (2 TBS flax seed meal + 6 TBS hot water + ~5 minutes to gel)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1-3/4 cup flour (can use gluten-free, spelt, whole wheat, or AP)
  • 1/2 cup oatbran
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 3 cups oatmeal
  • 1 cup non-dairy chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. In a stand mixer (or using a hand mixer), cream together Earth Balance and stevia (or brown sugar and sugar) for 2-3 minutes, until fluffy and very creamy.
  3. Beat in flax eggs and vanilla extract.
  4. In a large bowl, combine flour, oat bran, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice.
  5. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in stages, mixing well after each addition.
  6. Mix in oatmeal about a 1/2 cup at a time until well combined.
  7. Stir in chocolate chips until evenly dispersed.
  8. Use a small ice-cream scoop to place ~2TBS balls of dough evenly spaced on a cookie sheet. You can either leave them as is or pat them down for a flatter cookie.
  9. Bake for 15-18 minutes.
  10. Remove cookies from oven. Wait 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
Before I go, I have a special feature to share with you all. The beautiful and creative Alaina Rose of Sweetness of Life recently gave me the Stylish Blogger Award, which I could not be more honored to receive. I love reading about Alaina’s adventures and seeing all of her yummy food. I immediately connected with her love of good music, delicious veggies, and relaxing yoga. Basically, she is awesome and writes a really cool blog, so you should go check it out!
Anyway, here are the rules for the “Stylish Blogger Award”: 
  1. Say seven things about yourself.
  2. Pass on to other bloggers.
  3. Contact them and let them know you have done so.
Here we go! 
1. I absolutely love to travel. I have a cottage in Canada, have traveled extensively in the US, but most importantly, have engaged in 5 international exchanges. My travels have taken me to Germany, Denmark, Greece, and England. 

Me and my Danish exchange partner (aka my twin) ❤

My friends from Italy and I in Athens, Greece (I'm the 2nd one from the left in the white shirt)

2. I am a dancer at heart. I danced for ~9 or 10 years before injuring my feet and making the hard decision to discontinue. Although I’ve been away from it for a few years, I know I will return eventually. I have always dreamed of taking classes at the American Ballet Company or cute small studios if I end up in New York City!
3. Yoga has changed my in ways I never thought possible. I simply cannot explain how much it means to me. 

Acro Yoga

4. Honesty is one of my most important values, and dishonesty is my absolute pet peeve! I believe that one must be true to themselves to act with integrity and respect towards others (people, animals, plants, everything). 
5. I am an only child and often told I act older than my age. I may be the only teenager (or child, other than my baby cousin, for that matter) in my family, but sometimes I can barely tell. My family has a wonderful sense of humor and child-like quality.
6. I have a crazy love for vegetables. It’s hard to believe that just a few years ago my diet consisted mostly of bread, pasta, and chocolate, because now I insist on tasting the rainbow. Call me crazy, but I often have a big bowl of steamed veggies and roasted kabocha rather than dessert. 

7. Music is the soundtrack to my life. Although I’m not quite as dependent on it since I started practicing yoga (aka now my inner peace means I don’t need earbuds in my head to keep my from getting bored, though it’s cool if that’s how you roll), something ignites in me when I hear it. Acoustic guitar melts my heart, and so do these guys. I haven’t listened to them in nearly a year (mostly because they remind me of someone), but listening to this while writing this has definitely brought back memories.

There are so many blogs that I am inspired by that it is so hard to choose just 7 bloggers for the award. If you aren’t tagged here, please accept this award as well and post it on your blog (and send me a link, please!) I’d love to learn more about all of you stylish girlies!

Questions: Do you have a no-fail recipe that you’ve made so many times you could practically make it in your sleep? What’s one random fact about you?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

8 responses to “The Cookies That Started it All

  1. I loved this! Thank you for sharing. It was so wonderful to learn more about you. And thank you for saying such SWEET things about me. It made my day! ❤ Much love!

  2. Awe, thank you for nominating me!
    I loved learning more about you, you are the sweetest ❤

    p.s please give me a cookie ?

  3. I LOVED learning more about you from thsi 🙂 and those cookies look delightful!!!


    n

  4. Boo Michigan! I am hating this weather! 😦

    Whitney

  5. THANK you girl for the TAG!! I agreee with 4 and 6 100%!!! AHH THESE cookies sound SO GOOD!

  6. LOVE the seven things 😀 I learned so much…we have a good bit in common. I love veggies and yoga!!

    Those cookies look fantastic!

  7. I LOVE sugary desserts more than anything, but even I have to admit that kabocha as dessert is really delicious! It’s my favorite squash 🙂

  8. Pingback: Wake Me Up for Breakfast | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

