Wake Me Up for Breakfast

It’s no secret that I am a night-howl. Baking oatmeal chocolate chip cookies at 1 AM? Cookies are good at any hour, especially spiced oatmeal chocolate chip ones.

Doing homework or studying for the SAT in the dark on a Saturday night? I’m such a party animal.

Washing and drying clothes before going to bed? Well, it’s got to be done sometime.

sock monsterSource

Once the clock hits a certain time, it’s all the same to me. In fact, I definitely get my best work done when most people are sleeping. I like to blame my affinity for nighttime on the fact that I’m a teenager, and therefore my melatonin (sleep hormone) releases later than that of adults. However, even when I was much younger I was known for begging for “bonus minutes” to stay up later. Clearly there’s no changing my body clock.

Regardless of what time I go to sleep, though, I still have to wake up just like everyone else. Saturday mornings I wake up early to go to yoga, but Sundays I get the special treat of sleeping in a bit longer before my afternoon yoga practice. The weekdays are another story. Without the promise of practicing yoga to motivate me, getting out of bed is a challenge. Rather than a warm room with sweet music and an energizing flow, my weekday mornings usually start with the rude swaking of my alarm clock and continue with early morning classes. Rather than let the stark contrast get me down, I make sure to make every morning special, regardless of the day of the week.

Breakfast provides the perfect way to ease me into the day by tantalizing my taste buds and fueling my body. Fluffy bowls of popped amaranth cereal, refreshing smoothies, doughy breakfast bakes, and creamy oats are some of my favorite breakfast delights. This morning, however, I’m trying something a little different thanks a new find and the wonderful Jess.

Since discovering my sensitivity to gluten, I’ve really been missing my oats. While oats are generally considered gluten-free, they are almost always contaminated with wheat. I didn’t initally experience problems with conventional oats, but as my body got used to eating gluten-free, I started to see symptoms when I ate them. However, I refused to give up and tested my luck multiple times. Let’s just say I paid for it. Well, thanks to Bob’s Red Mill, I no longer have to be away from my love.

Oats are back in my life, and they’re coming back with a bang.

Peanut Butter Coconut Banana Muffin Bake (PBC Muffins)

serves 1 (makes 3 muffins, 3 mini ramekins, or 1 average ramekin)

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 2 TBS peanut flour (15 g)
  • 1-1/2 TBS coconut flour (10 g)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 banana (59 g), mashed
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. In a small bowl, combine oats, peanut flour, coconut flour, cinnamon, and baking powder.
  3. In another small bowl, mix mashed banana, almond milk, and vanilla extract.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until well combined.
  5. Place batter in 3 reusable muffin holders (or 3 greased muffin cups + fill the empty ones with water) or ramekins.
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes, depending on preferred consistency. For a baked oatmeal consistency, bake for a shorter amount of time; for a more muffin or bread consistency, bake longer.
As I write this post, the lovely aroma of peanut butter, bananas, and coconut is drifting through my house. It’s absolutely intoxicating! I may not like getting out of bed early, but I can assure you there won’t be any problems this morning. Just make sure to wake me up for breakfast!
Edited to add: this post ended up posting a bit later than expected (obvisously), but that’s okay because now I can tell you all about the muffins. Holy deliciousness! I would venture to say that these were possibly the best muffins I’ve ever had! They were delicious, filing, and nutritious to boot. I’m not really sure what more you could ask for. Please, do yourself a favor and make these as soon as possible. Heck, you don’t even have to wait for breakfast; these would make a lovely snack or healthy dessert as well. What are you waiting for? Get cooking!

Questions: what is your favorite breakfast? What gets you out of bed in the morning?

Have a lovely day! 
Mandiee
10 responses to “Wake Me Up for Breakfast

  1. Those muffins look/sound delicious and right up my alley. I LOVE baking muffins 🙂 I can’t wait to try those!

  2. My friends from HS all joke about the days I used to stay up way too late too 🙂 Don’t worry… those days only lasted until I finished college haha. So, you only have a few more years to look forward to late-night cookies 🙂

  3. Breakfast??? Well, as a teenager, it used to be cold pizza and Mountain Dew…how awful! My grandmother always made me scrambled eggs, toast and oj. and it is still my favorite comfort breakfast. On special Sundays, we would make crepes and fill them with strawberry jam – just can’t make them like she used to though. Now, I enjoy my Raisin Bran which must be complete “mush” before it is consumed or my raisin, date and walnut oatmeal that I doctor up with cinnamon and flax seed. This is my attempt at healthy! Oh, and there always has to be a good cup of coffee to chase it with – never just black coffee, alwasys flavored and I love Hazelnut or Ameretto!

    I hope you have time to work on more recipes when school is out…I really am going to try some!!! Enjoy those late night baking sessions…they are THE BEST!

  4. The bake looks like it came out sooo good! I’m missing peanut flour right now :[

  5. Those muffins look SUPER moist!!

  6. Oh man these muffins look so good. I need to get me some peanut flour!

  7. I love muffins! I had one in my yogurt this morning 🙂

  8. Sounds like you are destined to be a night shift worker! 🙂 Thats not a bad thing.. Its a little hard on the body but if you can do it naturally thats a plus! Those muffins look delish! Thanks for the recipe

  9. That is crazy that gluten free oats are contaminated! I’m glad you found an alternative though! The flavor combination of those muffins sounds amazing, can’t wait to try them!

  10. with those ingredients, i can totally see why they were nutritious yet filling too! and with the previous chocolate chip cookie baking, you’ve got the best of both (baking) worlds. cookies and muffins- nom nom 🙂

    i could definitely adapt to more muffins for my mornings 🙂

    xoxo ❤

Leave a Reply

