Welcome, Fred!

I don’t know how, but I keep getting way busier than expected. I’ll go into the week thinking, “Oh, this won’t be so bad,” only to realize after its over with that I did a heck of a lot. Does this ever happen to you?

My focus this week has been on writing a huge AP US History paper on the Dixiecrats. Now that it’s signed, sealed, and delivered, I couldn’t feel more free… well, except for the American Literature paper I have due on Tuesday, the finals starting Friday-Wednesday, the SAT on Saturday, and the ACT after that. You know, no big.

Luckily I was able to take today to relax a little bit. My prom date asked me if I wanted to hang out so that we could get to know each other a little better before the dance. I’m really happy he did because it kind of forced me to take some time off. We chatted outside at Starbucks while sipping hot tea and enjoying the warmer temperatures. (Can you believe it was winter coat weather yesterday? Don’t even get me started.)

He had plans to go to a baseball game with his guy friends tonight, so after a good time filled with smiles and laughter, we parted ways. He went to the game while I went to Bed Bath and Beyond to replace my old mini food processor. Now that’s my kind of sport.

Sadly my mini food processor broke after years of good service. Honestly I’m surprised it lasted so long considering how much I used it. In fact, the reason why was not even a mechanical problem; instead, it broke when the top fell on the floor and the safety lock broke off.

new + old

Anyway, I’m just glad to have another one. I’ll probably use it tonight to make more black bean brownies so I’ll make sure to do a review as soon as possible.

Say hello to Fred the Food Processor!

Speaking of black bean brownies, this week I adapted my recipe to make lemon poppy seed chickpea blondies. Oh my goodness, eating them was such a treat! It brought me right back to my lunch table in elementary school on “dessert day.” Although I loved when we had fruit for dessert, slices of lemon poppy seed loaf were always my favorite.

Before these blondies, I had yet to find a lemon poppy seed muffin or loaf that even came close to the ones I remembered. I’m so pleasantly surprised that a sugar-free, gluten-free, vegan lemon poppy seed recipe—made of chickpeas, no less!— that was a complete experiment ended up being so amazing!

Other than blondies, my week has been filled with good savory eats as well. This past week I really challeneged myself to make more creative lunches, and it was a success! I look forward to sharing these recipes with you soon.

However, in order to manage my time wisely for homework, studying, and paper writing, my dinners have been usual staples. I’ve really been loving Hawaiian purple sweet potatoes lately!

Questions: do you experiment in the kitchen a lot? What was the most suprising kitchen success or disaster you’ve ever had?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

3 responses to “Welcome, Fred!

  1. Ahh, I love your chickpea lemon poppyseed blondie experiment! I adore lemon poppyseed as well. And of course I love kitchen experiments! I’ve had my fair share of disasters but luckily just as many successes. The disasters are what you learn from, after all šŸ˜‰

  2. I want a purple sweet potato!!

    YAY for new kitchen tools šŸ˜€

  3. Anything lemon poppyseed rules in my book šŸ™‚
    I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen a lot lately since it’s summer and I have all the time in the world. I love it!

Leave a Reply

