Lady Gaga’s Werdier Than a $3 Bill

I never thought I would l learn so much about myself through an American History class. And surely I never thought that the man that I was scared of, the man that was the most serious teacher I’d ever met, could end up having such a profound inspiration on my life. Although usually impeccability dressed and firm in voice, I learned that there was so much more than a well-read doctor of history and undisputed Trival Pursuit champion underneath. He is a man that is not afraid to show pain, love, or humor; in fact, his passion for the subject and the people around him was more than enough to let his personality show through.

So Dr. Cowie, thank you for sharing your gifts as a teacher. You are an absolute inspiration and have touched my life in so many profound ways. I wasn’t going to tear up at the end of our last class when you walked out the school doors for the last time, but I did. I never thought that one teacher could mean so much to me.

Thank you for putting your heart into everything you do. Hearing you recount historical events that you lived really made history come alive. I will never view the Vietnam War, the Civil Rights Movement, or even “libraries” the same.

But rather than feel sad about your retirement, I will celebrate you in the best way I know how, by baking my appreciation. Here’s to you, Dr Cowie.

Vegan Almond Bundt Cake

  • 1 package yellow cake mix (*many are “accidentally” vegan)
  • 1 cup slivered or sliced almonds, toasted
  • 1/3 cup Earth Balance
  • 3 TBS Bob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer + 9 TBS water (or 1 TBS Ener-G Egg Replacer + 4 TBS water) —> to replace 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup Amaretto Liqueur or water, plus more for finishing
  • 1 /4 tsp almond extract
  1. Preheat oven to 325*F.
  2. Grease and flour a 10- or 12-cup bundt pan (you may be able to make this recipe into a cake or cupcakes—> just adjust cooking time).
  3. Using a stand mixer or a hand mixer in a large bowl, combine all ingredients. Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.
  4. Pour batter into prepared bunt pan.
  5. Bake for 60-65 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean.
  6. Remove from oven and place on a cookie rack. If desired, lightly poke holes in the top (well, really the bottom) of the cake and use a brush to dab Amaretto into the cake while still warm. The cake will absorb the flavor, making the taste really pop.
  7. Cool cake completely before carefully removing from bunt pan.
  8. Dust with powdered sugar, if desired. Wrapping in cellophane and tying with a beautiful bow to give to someone special.
Notes: 
Although I usually use “flax eggs,” I highly recommend using a prepared egg replacer for this cake because it is crucial to getting the cake out of the mold. While I’ve had luck with Ener-G Egg Replacer in the past, Bob’s Red Mill is now my favorite because it’s stability is better. Unfortunately, it is not gluten-free.
Many cake mixes are “accidently” vegan. Just read the labels to see if they contain any animal ingredients. I was surprised that Betty Crocker’s “butter” mix was vegan!
Amaretto Liqueur is optional in this cake, but it really makes the flavor come alive. If you can’t get ahold of any, try increasing the almond extract and possibly using almond milk instead of Amaretto or water. Regardless, almonds are a must!

QuestionsWho inspires you? Was there a teacher that really had an impact on your life?

 

And as Dr. Cowie would say, “Lady Gaga’s weired than a $3 bill.” Well said, well said.

 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

4 responses to “Lady Gaga’s Werdier Than a $3 Bill

  1. I wish there was a teacher who I loved like that! Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had some fantastic teachers and I love many of them, but you obviously shared a special connection ❤ Hilarious quote, too!!

  2. he sounds like such an awesome teacher!!!! i love most o my teachers too!!… bundt cake looks awesome!

  3. What a great teacher! History is one of my favorite subjects. My last history professor was really hot and a good professor, but nothing life changing 🙂

  4. sunshinevegan

    Mmmm vegan bundt cake!
    and my last history teacher had a really profounf influence on my life too. She was one of the few teachers who was really sympathetic to me during my ED and was really concerned and always asking how I was. She was a truely amazing lady.

Leave a Reply

