Homemade Raw Coconut Butter

For once, I actually don’t all that much to say. This weekend I took the SAT, got my nails done for prom, studied for finals, went grocery shopping for the week, and practiced a lot of yoga. Am I becoming a little too predictatable? Studying + fooding (yes, I just made that verb up; work with me here!) + yogaing is basically my life. Not that I’m complaining, surely not.

Oh hey, scratch that not having much to say thing. Who was I kidding? I just remembered what we must talk about today. And when I say must, I mean must. Two words, my friends:

Coconut. Butter.

Dear Artisana, I love you, but my wallet does not. You tempt me like no other and make me do crazy things like eat you straight out of the jar with a spoon. Or a finger. Because let’s be honest, there’s really no other way. I like to go with the one spoonful for the baked good/oatmeal/etc., two spoonfuls fingerfuls for me rule. And while we’re on the subject, Artisana, have you ever considered making a swimming pool and filling it with luscious coconut butter? I know I have. Wait, where was I again? Oh yeah…

That’s true love right there. But what’s a girl to do when this happens?

Tragedy, I know.

She’s got to make her own, that’s what. Whether you have the coconut butter blues (check!), the I-need-coconut-butter-NOW syndrome (check!), don’t want to give your right kidney and first born child to pay for a jar that you use up to quickly to justify (check!), or just plain can’t get coconut butter in your area, this recipe is for you.

Do yourself a favor and make some coconut butter as soon as you can. Don’t worry, I’ll wait. I’m not even kidding when I say coconut butter changed my life. It helped me view fueling my body and mind in such a different way. But I won’t get into that now since I know you just want the recipe (if it can even be called one—it’s so simple!). I can’t blame you, though; I want to go make more just thinking about it!

Homemade Raw Coconut Butterย 

makes ~1/2-3/4 cup

  • 2 cups unsweetened un-sulfered shredded coconut
  1. Place coconut in a food processor. Process until smooth and liquid-y (consistency will vary based on temperature, but it should be like silky like butter), ~10-15 minutes. Make sure to stop the motor ever once and awhile to let the motor rest while you scrape down the sides.
Making your own coconut butter sure takes patience, but it is more than worth it in the end. Homemade coconut butter has a little more texture than Artisana’s and isn’t quite as sweet, but it is delicious all the same. Plus you can have your [coconut butter] and eat it, too with both kidneys intact. Craving satisfied.ย 
Pictures of the process:
Get your processing-on!
Show ’em what you’re made of!
Keep going, you’re almost there! Patience is a virtue, my friends.
Perrrr-fect!

Questions: Have you ever tried coconut butter? If not, why not? Seriously, make this stat! And do you make homemade nut butter? What’s your favorite kind?

Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
P.S. I used to think that coconut was “unhealthy” because of its “high saturated fat content.” (Now I prefer not to label foods like this and regardless I know better because coconut butter is actually such a superfood!) If this is a worry for some of you, please let me disabuse you of that belief. If anyone is interested, I would love to do a post on the benefits of coconut based on my research (and trust me, I’ve done quite a bit). Let me know!
10 responses to “Homemade Raw Coconut Butter

  1. good idea making your own butter! nice job ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. sunshinevegan

    I LOVE COCONUT BUTTER!
    I put it on absolutely everythingg and everyone in my family calls me princess coconut ๐Ÿ™‚ haha
    Thanks so much for this wallet friendly version! Thanks to you I may be able to aford college now ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Coconut butter is one of the loves of my life. And now coconut flour is too, but that’s a whooooole other love affair. I usually just buy the Artisana one, but making it seems so easy so I should probably try that one time. When it comes to nut butters, I usually just stick to almond butter and adding diff flavors to it like chocolate and maple. Mmmm now I’m getting hungry =X

  4. Mmmmmm, this looks SUPERRRRR good. I’ve never tried coconut butter!!

  5. Nice! I should definitely try this! I’ve got some coconut I could use. Probably would save me money too since my coconut butter addiction is expensive!

  6. When my last jar is empty, I am totally going to make my own! I love the chocolate kind! I eat it by the spoonful, just saying.

    Whitney

  7. I’m not a coconut fan, so I’ve never tried coconut butter, but I have a new food processor and some shredded coconut I’ll probably never use- I want to try making this!

  8. Isn’t coconut butter the best?!!

  9. Pingback: Girls Day In | kabochavore

  10. Healthy Hot and Happy

    This looks and sounds super good! I’ve tried coconut butter but i’ll be giving it a try soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

