Not That Kind of Girl

Happy Monday! How was your weekend?

Mine was faaaabulous! At 1PM on Saturday, I celebrated the official start of summer by finishing the ACT. Phew, I’m sure glad that’s over! I tend to overwork myself (though in all honesty I thrive on it) during the school year, so it’s really nice to have summers off just to relax. It’s hard to believe that this is my last summer as a high schooler. Woah.

Another realization this weekend was that I’m not like most other girls in my area. It’s a funny story actually.

So after yoga on Saturday afternoon, I headed over to the mall with my grandmother for a little retail therapy. On the way out, I noticed Mac (my prom date) out of the corner of my eye. I texted him as we walked, and I eventually decided to go back in to say hi. Unfortunately, by the time I was back inside the mall, he said he had just gone on the skywalk to the opposite side of the mall. Fail. There was nothing left to do but turn myself around and go right back to my car.

But things are never that easy, are they? Nope. Just as I sat down in the seat and closed the car door, Mac texted me saying he had gone on the skywalk again. I believe his words were “Wait. Come back, por favor.” How could I say no? So I walked back in and finally we got things right. Crisis averted.

Where was I going with this? Oh yeah, here comes the relevant part of the story. When Mac and his best friend asked me what I was up to, I casually said I was just buying a knife and getting one sharpened. Say what?! Doesn’t every teenage girl go to the mall for knives? I guess not.

After a few seconds, I saw realization wash over Mac’s face and a smile start to form. He knows that I LOVE baking and that I’m vegan, but I don’t think he realized quite how much I love cooking, too. His friend was pretty confused though. In fact, shock doesn’t even cover it. Of course I explained and we all started laughing. I guess I just didn’t realize how I’m not the kind of girl they’re used to. No matter, I have a feeling that’s not a problem for Mac. If anything, he seems intrigued.

Sometimes it fun to be a little different. And if you are being who you are, then I say embrace it! Being a teenage vegan yogi who loves to cook sets me apart, but I have no problem owning up to it. I’m grateful for all my friends who accept me for who I am and are equally ready to share their uniqueness with me. It’s fun to be friends with people who are both similar and different from you. Variety is the spice of life!

Okay, infomertial over; let’s get to the food! On the day of my prom, I posted this picture:

Strawberry. Coconut. Oatmeal. Pancakes.

Since the first bite, I haven’t stopped thinking about them. In fact, I think I’ve made the recipe 3 or 4 times in just a week. Clearly I just can’t get enough.

The strawberries of summer are so juicy, plum, and rosy that they’re hard to resist. I’m so glad that I’ve been lucky enough to get both a few small containers of organic strawberries from Trader Joe’s and a giant container from Costco in just a short time so that I can soak up all their goodness. You can definitely bet I dominated them effortlessly.

With pancakes like these, my job was a breeze. I loved using coarsely pureed (oxymoron?) strawberries in place of mashed bananas to give the pancakes texture and sweetness. I also liked adding coconut flour for a subtle tropical flare. Tastes like summer to me!

Rosy Strawberry Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup strawberries, roughly chopped (76 grams)
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (I used GF) (27 grams)
  • 1 TBS coconut flour (7 grams)
  • 1-1/2 tsp chia seeds (7 grams)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 4-5 TBS almond milk
  • 1 TBS shredded coconut (optional)
  • sweetener (I recommend stevia), if desired (I didn’t need any)
  1. Preheat a non-stick pan over medium heat. Grease with cooking spray (I use coconut oil spray) or cooking oil of choice (I recommend coconut oil).
  2. Pulse strawberries in a mini food processor until roughly pureed.
  3. Add remaining ingredients, except for shredded coconut (if using), to the food processor. Process until well combined.
  4. Use a small ice cream scoop to drop small amounts of batter on the hot pan.
  5. Flip pancakes when it looks as though the batter has firmed up a bit and the bubbling has stopped. Pancake flipping is more of a feel than a science.
  6. Stack them high, sprinkling with cinnamon and topping with fresh berries.

Questions: what makes you unique? Do you ever feel different for being a foodie? How did you spend your Saturday? 

6 responses to “Not That Kind of Girl

  1. That story is cracking me up! I soo understand how you feel. I actually hate clothes shopping for the most part. I just can’t get into it. Not to mention how stressful it is, ahh!
    Bookmarking these pancakes, cannot wait to make them. After my green smoothie challenge anyway. 🙂
    They look so colorful and summer-like.

    Whitney

    Whitney

  2. YAY for being done with the ACT! ahahhaa love ur story! i love clothes shopppinggg, but i do get stressed! unique? my style, my personality (im crazy and way outgoing.. i love to be loud and proud!)

  3. I have to be totally in the mood for clothes shopping in order to be successful. Most of the time I end up wishing i was grocery shopping instead, LOL.

    congrats on being done with the ACT. I remember taking it…and definitely not loving sitting for 4 hours straight. Ahhh!

  4. Mmmm, those pancakes look SO good!!

    Congrats on being done with the act–that must feel AMAZING!!

  5. So funny! I know what you mean. A lot of my friends and I have different interests. They think it’s weird that I find grocery shopping fun and my idea of a good night is cooking and reading, but they still like me 🙂 If Mac appreciates that about you, he’s a keeper!

  6. Pingback: Holding the Sun in My Hands | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

