Holding the Sun in My Hands

Okay, I have another confession to make.

Fact: I’ve had absolutely no clue what to do with all my new-found summer free-time. I can’t say that I haven’t enjoyed stopping to smell the flowers, though. No complaints, no complaints.

Does anyone else fall head over heels for flowers? Sunflowers drive me the absolute craziest. Just look at how beautiful they are! I don’t usually talk about faith, but seeing beauty like this always prompts me to thank God for the beauty He has bestowed upon the Earth. If Heaven is full of sunflowers, I don’t think it’d be half bad.

Anyway, back to the free-time thing. It’s been so nice to just de-stress and relax, but all this time has let my mind be free to wander a little too much. As in I can’t get my mind off of someone special.

I’ve mentioned M a few times on the blog already, and as you probably expect, things between us are getting quite close. I won’t go into great detail because 1. this is a food/healthy living blog, and 2. my family reads my blog (hi Nan!), but I will tell you that we both admitted we like each other.

I’ve never dated/had a real boyfriend before, so I’m not really sure where things are going to go from here. M was sweet in saying that it can go wherever I want it to go, and that he will respect that. Sweet, but not helpful in the slightest. I’m not a huge fan of labels, but sometimes it’s just nice to be on the same page, you know?

Anyway, I find it interesting that different schools, age groups, and even generations have different classifications. For example, people at my school don’t “date,” but they do consider themselves “dating” or “boyfriend/girlfriend.” However, at a nearby school school, the teens “go on dates” with different people but don’t always consider themselves “dating” or give labels to the person of the night. SO confusing!

Now I’m sure you understand why my head’s felt a little dizzied. To compensate and try to keep my mind from spinning, I’ve been occupying my time with anything I can.

I cleaned my room (still in process—oof!).

I made strawberry coconut pancakes.

Truth: Cinnamon > syrup. Anyone agree?

I painted my nails.

I baked homemade vegan donuts (recipe to come)…

A LOT of donuts actually. I even brought some to my yoga friends! (Note: my uncle likes these sprinkles the best!)

…Which brings me to my next point: I practiced yoga (naturally!). What a glorious hour of moving meditation! (Note: I own a Jade yoga mat and I couldn’t be happier. I highly recommend Jade!)

And at midnight, when I had nothing but silence and darkness surrounding me (AKA the perfect companions of thought-wandering), I decided to bake scones. Cinnamon raisin scones actually.

There’s nothing like the beautiful aroma of cinnamon wafting through the house to warm your heart. The scones were easy enough to bake in the middle of the night (my favorite time anyway), but they also required enough concentration (cutting in the butter ugh!) to keep my mind from wandering too much. Perfect! Oh, and did I mention they’re delicious, too? They’re wonderfully soft and flakey, but not terribly dry—just like scones should be (and I should know; I’m British, after all.)

Cinnamon Raisin Scones 

vegan, sugar-free, gluten-free optional (use GF flour and Ener-G Egg Replacer)

Makes 8-10 scones 

  • 2-1/2 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend, or organic sugar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon (or 1 tsp if you’re a cinnamon fiend like me)
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 cup raisins (or chocolate chips, if you prefer)
  • 1 TBS Bob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer + 3 TBS water, or 1-1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer + 2 TBS water (equivalent to 1 egg), whipped with a fork
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • additional almond milk for brushing (<–vegan egg-wash!)
  • turbinado sugar and cinnamon for sprinkling (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. In a a large bowl, combine flour, Stevia Baking Blend (or sugar), cinnamon, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Using two knives or a pastry blender, cut in butter. (Here’s an example of what to do.) For flaky scones, some pieces can be left no larger than peas.
  4. Stir in raisins.
  5. In a small bowl, combine egg replacer mixture and almond milk.
  6. Add wet ingredients to dry, mixing until just combined. (Make sure not to mix too much as to develop the gluten. If you’re working with Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose GF Flour, you’re good to go.) I recommend using your hands to do this.
  7. Form the dough into a ball, adding just a small amount of water or almond milk, if needed.
  8. Place dough ball on a lightly floured surface. Using your hands or a rolling pin, roll the dough out into a 1/2-inch thick round. Cut it into 8-10 triangular pieces.
  9. Put pieces on a greased baking sheet or Silpat about 1/2-inch apart. Brush tops with almond milk and lightly sprinkle with turbinado sugar and cinnamon.
  10. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until tops are golden brown.
  11. Cool on a rack or serve warm.

Questions: What is something that has made you smile today? Do you have a favorite flower? And how do relationships go for you?

Have a lovely day!
Mandiee 
7 responses to “Holding the Sun in My Hands

  1. sunshinevegan

    Relationships can be ccomplex! Personally I’m not one to rush into things or who wants to slap a label on a relationship. I think as long as you like eachother and are really comfortable and have fun together that’s what really matters 🙂
    Good luck though, and can’t wait for that donught recipe!

  2. Those scones sound LOVELY!! Gotta love baking at midnight 😉

    I think you are “M” are really cute!! I think y’all would make an ADORABLE couple, just saying 😉

  3. i love the scones!! and YES flowers are so amazing in the summer fo me!!.. aww im so happy for you two!

  4. My fave flower has always been white roses and purple iris.

    Been happy just relaxing and not having to work today..getting ready to view the new Adam Sandler/Jennifer Aniston movie. Enjoyed watching the neighbor’s granddaughter’s (twins) run thru the sprinkler to keep cool!

    LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! the vegan donuts…cant wait for the recipe!

  5. That picture is really great. I’m glad M is so respectful; you should always look for that. As for me, I’m 20 and go to a girls college so I’ve never dated. I’m going abroad in the fall though and I can’t wait to get my date on!!!
    My favourite flours are Fuchsias, Magnolias and Peonies. I’m smiling that we’re having corn for dinner!!! Although a scone would be nice 😉

  6. The scones look amazing. I love love love scones. And cinnamon raisin is one of my favorite toast/ bread/ flavor combos…so it must be fantastic in a scone
    And about M…well it is sweet in a way, but it would kind of annoy me to have someone so ‘passive’… at the same time, I don’t know what I’d do either & it really depends on the situation 😛

  7. Oooh there is so much to comment about! First of all, YES! Flowers are so beautiful. I can’t imagine a world without them. And secondly, YAY for you and a new blossoming romance (or whatever it may be) 🙂 And the pancakes, doughnuts and scones all look amazing! AND, I love Jade yoga mats too! I recently got one and I’m so happy with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

