Bye-Bye Blur!

TGIF bloggies! I may be out for summer vacation, but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate the awesome feeling unique to fridays. Speaking of which, what I like to call the “summer blur” (aka the feeling where you don’t know which day it is because it’s summer and doesn’t really matter) is about to vanish from my life. Why so soon, you ask? Well, this teen finally got herself a job!

I am actually really excited for my new job because I will be working under really talented professional business men and women; it will be such a great experience! The only downside is that I start work at 7AM every morning. Not only is that earlier than my school start time, but that is also only 3 hours after I’ve been going to bed lately. Clearly something has to change!

I will also have to think about packing my breakfast, snacks, and lunch since I will be working 8 hour days and going straight from work to yoga (you didn’t think I was going to miss yoga, did you? Hehe.) Last night I found this wonderful blog, which has already inspired some of my plans. Once I get in the swing of things, I’ll try to post what keeps me fueled all day long!

For now, though, I want to savor the last of my “real” summer vacation. Tonight I’m hanging out with M, and we’re hopefully going to watch Black Swan. I know I’m a little late to the party on this one, but I refused to see it alone and couldn’t rope any of my friends into it in my sparse free time during the school year. That and I was worried that it would be too “dark” if I saw it with blaring sound and giant photo quality  in a movie theatre. We’ll see, we’ll see.

I’m also savoring the last of my leisurely pancake breakfasts. Although I can probably pack pancakes for breakfast at work, it’s just not the same as making them at home on a lazy summer morning while reading this book, which I currently can’t put down.

And if this is goodbye for now, at least my pancakes went out with a bang. They were fluffy, naturally sweet, and perfectly textured. I love pancakes that leave me feeling satisfied without weighing me down!

Raspberries and chocolate were meant for each other. I couldn’t stop mmm-ing!

Raspberry Cornmeal Pancakes with Dark Chocolate Sauce 

vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, whole-grain

  • 1/2 cup raspberries (65 g), mashed with a fork or food processor
  • 2 TBS buckwheat flour (15 g)
  • 2 TBS corn meal (16 g)
  • 1-1/2 tsp coconut flour (4 g) (optional)
  • 1-1/2 tsp chia seeds (7 g)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • ~1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 4-5 TBS almond milk
  • sweetener, if needed (I used 2 drops of NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia)
  1. Mash raspberries with a fork or food processor (depending on how mashed you want them; I used a fork.)
  2. Add remaining ingredients, stirring to combine.
  3. Preheat non-stick skillet (greased with oil or oil spray of choice) to medium heat. Let batter sit for a few minutes while your pan preheats. You may need a little more almond milk.
  4. Use a small ice cream scoop to dollop small amounts of batter on the pan. Flip pancakes when the edges start to firm up and the bubbles disappear.
  5. Finish cooking and place on a plate.
  6. Top with chocolate sauce (recipe below) and devour.

Easy Dark Chocolate Sauce 

vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, raw-optional 
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder (I use Hershey’s Special Dark) 
  • 2 tsp almond milk 
  • sweetener, to taste (I used 1 drop of NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia) 
  1. In a small bowl, mix all ingredients vigorously with a fork. At first they will not seem to combined well, but keep at it and soon you will have a rich dark chocolate sauce for anything your heart desires!


I am a tried and true pancake lover for breakfast, but not everyone in my household is as well. Let’s just say when I wake up I sometimes find pieces missing from the cake I baked the previous night…

Well at least it means “the little mouse” is enjoying my cake! 😉

To curb the cake-for-breakfast eating, sometimes I even go the traditional route by baking homemade donuts and causally leaving them out. What better way for your sweet-toothed loved one to kick off a beautiful weekend morning than with the newspaper, a mug of coffee, and a freshly baked vegan donut?

Stay tuned for tomorrow morning’s post so you can feed the “little mouse” in your house, too!

Questions: what was your first job? And what’s your favorite way to savor weekend mornings (or days off)?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

6 responses to “Bye-Bye Blur!

  1. I’ll admit i worked at tim hortons for one summer, like 3 years ago. I needed a job badly and it paid 11 bucks an hour!
    This summer im being an au-pair/nanny — more my style. 🙂
    Weekend mornings, I love blog reading, breakfast, and yoga.

  2. sunshinevegan

    Yay for you for getting a job! I read that book too and I finished the whole thing in like 2 hours cause I just couldn’t stop reading it!

  3. Those donuts look AMAZING!! So do the pancakes..YUMMY!!

  4. Congrats on getting a job, how exciting! 🙂

    Whitney

  5. Congrats on the job.
    And let me say those pancakes look really good.
    The perks of being a wallflower is my absolute favorite book. I’ve read it at least 6 times. 🙂

  6. Hey there! I love the recipes they are amazing! I think I’m going to try the pancakes very soon! Happy Vegan Eating 😀

Leave a Reply

