Pizza and Chips

Happy humpday, bloggies! Can you believe we’re half-way to the weekend? Having Monday off really does make the week feel a whole lot shorter! Plus then you can skip the icky Monday sleepy-lazy-all around crazies. Who’s with me?

In all honesty though, I’m already loving this week. My job took a lot out of me last week (so much filing made my head&hands hurt!), but this week I have the pleasure of sitting at the receptionist desk instead. Both are very rewarding, but I must say I enjoy reading my new favorite books, chatting with the staff, and greeting visitors a little bit more. Can you blame me?

Speaking of reading, if you haven’t read the Stephanie Plum novels by Janet Evanovich, you absolutely must. Seriously. I rarely find books that I simply can’t put down, but these definitely fit. I’ve found myself laughing out load and gasping in surprise on multiple occasions; reading them is almost like watching an exciting movie, but better!

Janet Evanovich

Anyway, after leisurely reading and sipping on raspberry orange green tea all day, it was time for yoga. The flow was long and sweet, the room was hot, and the music was soothing. Although it didn’t seem like an out-of-the-ordinary practice to me at first, I ended up taking a huge step to conquering one of my long-standing fears…but more on that in another post.

Once I showered, went to the library to pick up more Stephanie Plum novels, and bought a Mandie-sized box of raspberries from Costco, it was time for dinner. Pizza and chips? Yes please!

Thin-Crust (Tortilla) Vegan Pizza with Cheeze

  • 1 tortilla (I used a Food For Life GF brown rice tortilla)
  • 3 TBS tomato paste or tomato sauce
  • herbs and seasonings (I used Pasta Sprinkle (aka basil, oregano, majoram) and garlic powder)
  • spinach
  • yellow squash or zucchini, sliced thinly
  • cherry tomatoes, halved
  • bell pepper, sliced thinly
  • vegan cheeze sauce (recipe below)
  1. Turn oven broiler on.
  2. Place tortilla on a baking sheet.
  3. Spread with tomato paste/sauce.
  4. Sprinkle with herbs of choice.
  5. Layer with spinach, yellow squash, cherry tomatoes, and bell pepper.
  6. Top with vegan cheeze sauce.
  7. Broil pizza until the tortilla lightly crisps. Watch it closely so it doesn’t burn!
Vegan Cheeze Sauce 
  • 2 TBS hummus 
  • 1-2 TBS nutritional yeast (to taste) 
  • water, to thin 
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Use water to thin until desired consistency is reached. 
Oh my goodness! I was in serious pizza heaven. The taste, the texture, the colors—everything was perfect! If I didn’t already have dinner plans for the rest of the week….well, let’s just say my eats would be pretty predictable hehe.
And as for the kale chips, I forgot how much I adored them! I love so many veggies that sometimes it’s so hard to choose what to make. Needless to say I feel kale coming back on the weekly circuit, possibly even the daily one. I love me some greens!
Easy Baked Kale Chips
  • kale 
  • salt&pepper
  1. Preheat oven to 325*F. 
  2. Wash and dry kale. Cut off woody stems and tear into chip-sized pieces. 
  3. Place kale pieces on a greased baking sheet (I use coconut oil spray). Sprinkle with salt and pepper. (You may also spray the chips with cooking spray, if desired. (I don’t.)) 
  4. Bake until light and crispy (about 12 minutes?). Watch closely so they don’t burn! 
Yum!

Have you read any good books lately? Are there any favorite foods you’ve forgotten about and recently rediscovered?

Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
5 responses to “Pizza and Chips

  1. sunshinevegan

    Yumm! Its been forever since I had pizza and I totally want some now 🙂 kale chips are my fave! Theyre great with nutritional yest sprinkled on them

  2. Kale chips are THE BOMBBBB! Love them. Love your version of pizza + chips 😀

  3. Pingback: Feature Fridays | kabochavore

  4. Pingback: WIAW #1: Green Muffins and Jam | kabochavore

  5. Pingback: WIAW #2: Swamp Monsters | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

