Worth Coming Home For

Over the weekend, I went to my second Zumba Fitness class. It’s quickly becoming a Sunday morning tradition with my mom! However, since it’s still new to me, not everyone in my family knows of my new schedule. In fact, when my grandmother went to my bedroom to wake me up for yoga like usual, she was shocked to find a bare bed. She immediately called my mom to make sure I was alright. My mom giggled, sitting right next to me. No, I didn’t run away.

However, the miscommunication did actually prompt my mom to tell me a story about my childhood. Apparently when I was four years old, I tried to run away from home. Who knows what prompted my four-year-old brain to think running away would be a good idea. I suspect it had something to do with not getting the extra cookie I wanted. Always the foodie…

With my best pouty face and grown-up voice, I declared with confidence that I was running away. I took a little bag, packed it with my favorite stuffed animal and blanket, and marched out the door. Clearly my independence and love of animals have a long history.

“Do you want me to help you?” my mom asked while trying to stifle her laughter.

“No!” I puffed back. And with that, I was out the door and on my way.

Meanwhile, my mom and grandmother were watching me closely from the sidelines. In fact, I didn’t even make it far enough out of eyeshot for them to leave the porch. Somewhere between my house and my neighbor two doors down, I realized that if I ran away, I wouldn’t have anyone to hug me or make me yummy food. At that moment, I turned myself right around. Priorities, my friends, priorities.

Nothing can beat the love that a mother puts into each and every thing she makes for her children. My mom and grandmother used to always tell me that the secret ingredient in their Rice Krispies Treats was love, and you know what? Those were the best darn treats ever. My version may not have butter or marshmallows like the traditional recipe, but they sure do have a lot of love. Many years from now, I look forward to sharing these with my kids and feeling good knowing that no animals were harmed in their making.

Sunflower Maple Krispies 

  • 1/2 cup sunflower butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil or Earth Balance
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup crispy brown rice
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • chocolate chips + coconut oil, melted (for drizzling)
  1. Grease a 8×8 or 9×11 baking pan (I recommend lining with parchment or wax paper).
  2. In a saucepan, heat sunflower butter, coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla extract until warm, stirring frequently.
  3. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, stir together crispy brown rice and rolled oats.
  4. Pour warmed sunflower butter mixture over crispy brown rice and rolled oats. Stir to combine.
  5. Once a little bit cooled (only a minute or so), stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Transfer batter to greased baking pan.
  7. Place in the freezer to harden.
  8. Once hardened, drizzle with melted chocolate chips + coconut oil.
  9. Cut into pieces.
  10. Keep in the fridge until ready to eat. They get soft and crumbly (but sometimes that’s the best!)
Now that’s worth coming home for! 

Questions: were you an independent child? Was there a childhood food prepared by your family that sticks out?

Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
4 responses to “Worth Coming Home For

  1. these look delicious!! yes! ive always been quite independent! growing up in london has definitely given me that!

  2. sunshinevegan

    Those look devine!
    And that totally sounds like me as a kid. I would always want to do things myself! Like my mom would be like I’m gonna make you lunch and I’d be like no I wanna do it! I was a little foodie too 🙂

  3. Those look fantastic 🙂
    i definitely “ran away” as a little kid..didn’t last more than a couple of minutes 😉

  4. these krispies are rockin’! sunflower butter is so unique- you’ve made the high class healthy version of the traditional krispie squares!! ❤

    i love that you and your mom are starting a zumba tradition- i bet you both look adorable jamming out to the music. your mama must be pretty cool 😉

    xoxo ❤

Leave a Reply

