5 Minute Cupcake for One

It’s Monday, and although I had a wonderful weekend, I’m not quite ready to start the work week yet (but really, who is?). I definitely had a lot of fun, but driving 200+ miles in one day and not having time to make up my lost sleep from the week definitely took its toll. Obvisously, it’s just “one of those day.”

Fond memories of playing with my 3-year-old cousin and lounging on the beach at my cottage are what’s keeping me going. Nothing like a smile to start your day off right. And for those days when you just need a little something extra special, who says you can’t have a chocolate cupcake for breakfast? With such awesome nutritional stats and delicious taste, this single-serve healthy protein-packed cupcake is sure to be indulgently delightful while keeping you satisfied all morning long. Oh, and did I mention it takes under 5 minutes to make? I don’t know about you, but that’s perfect for when I’m feeling rushed but don’t want to compromise my breakfast because of it.

Microwave Chocolate Protein Cupcake

  • 3 TBS protein powder (I use Bob’s Red Mill Hemp Protein) (20g)
  • 1 TBS cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • dash cinnamon
  • 1 flax egg (1 TBS ground flax seed + 3 TBS warm water + ~3 minutes to gel)
  • 2 tsp unsweetened applesauce
  • ~ 2 TBS almond milk (this amount will depend on your protein powder)
  • sweetener of choice, to taste (I use NuNaturals stevia)
  1. Grease a tall mug with cooking spray (I use coconut oil spray).
  2. In a small bowl, combine protein powder, cocoa powder, baking powder, and cinnamon.
  3. Add flax “egg,” applesauce, almond milk, and sweetener. Mix until well combined.
  4. Pour into greased mug.
  5. Microwave for ~4.5 minutes. (This will depend on your protein powder and microwave.)
  6. Remove from mug and cool.
I like to cut my cupcake in half and frost it with coconut cream (1 TBS coconut flour + almond milk to thin + 3 drops NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia Drops). I also like to generously sprinkle my cupcake with chopped strawberries. Sometimes I even drizzle it with cold almond milk so that it gets nice and soft. Yum!
With a healthy cupcake like this, Monday’s might not be all that bad.Ā 
8 responses to “5 Minute Cupcake for One

  1. Yum, I love cupcakes! I’ll have to try this sometime. And ugh, Monday mornings? I’m ready for a nap already!

    Whitney

  2. I love this idea and how fast and convenient it is for breakfast šŸ™‚ and I adore cupcakes!

  3. Looks delicious and very simple! Love it šŸ™‚

  4. Mmmm, looks super delicious!!

  5. I just love the picture of the beautiful lake and evergreen trees – where is your family cottage located? I bet you had lots of fun with your 3-year-old niece.

    Patsy

  6. Pingback: Feature Fridays | kabochavore

  7. Pingback: WIAW #1: Green Muffins and Jam | kabochavore

  8. Pingback: WIAW #10: “If it isn’t broke, maybe fix it” Edition | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

