WIAW #1: Green Muffins and Jam

Woah, is it really Wednesday already? Actually, I have a better question: how can it be July 27, 2011; does anyone else feel like the summer just started yesterday? Seriously, the days are flying by!

I have a feeling my date amnesia has something to do with the fact that my life has been work, work, work, recover from work (or at least try to), work. Even though I’m getting tired of being tired (6AM is far too early, especially in the summertime!), I am so thankful to be employed. I am also excited that despite my busy-ness, I am finally taking the plunge and doing What I Ate Wednesday hosted by Peas and Crayons. I wasn’t able to document ALL of my eats, but I did manage to snap a photo of some of the highlights. Have a delicious Wednesday!

This delicious morning treat was inspired by HEAB. Blueberry lemon cornbread (recipe soon!) warmed with almond milk, raspberries, and blueberries until soft and sweet was the perfect start to my day.

For some reason, I’ve been lacking some serious breakfast inspiration. I’ve tried multiple types of cooked hot cereal made from oats, millet, and quinoa, but that just hasn’t felt right. I’m a huge fan of my 5 minute chocolate cupcake for one with coconut cream “frosting” and strawberries, but I often crave something more “real” food based (meaning not as processed as protein powder, in the case). Anyway, thanks to Heather, I think my mojo is back. I’m thinking a raspberry lime cornbread recipe is next!

For lunch, I had a rainbow lentil salad.

I guess I basically just add as many colors to my meals as possible. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Usually it just looks like a three-year-old’s finger painting.

For dinner, I actually made kale chips and a vegetable tortilla pizza with vegan cheeze.

However, I’m not a huge fan of how the photos came out originally, and I didn’t take any tonight, so I’ll show you a delicious salad I enjoyed up at my cottage a few weekends ago.

I had a fresh grilled vegetable salad with a vegan caprese salad on the side (aka a juicy tomato slice with basil, s & p). I also made a quick socca pizza (minus all the toppings) when I got home to satisfy my appetite (gotta get some protein, fiber, and nutrients!) Grilled vegetables are definitely one of my favorite things about summer!

For dessert, of course I enjoyed banana soft serve with a crumbled black bean brownie and peanut flour sauce. I just can’t get enough!

I also snacked on a secret ingredient vanilla muffin. Why are they green? Stay tuned!

What are you eating this Wednesday? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

8 responses to “WIAW #1: Green Muffins and Jam

  1. Blueberry Lemon Cornbread? That sounds so good! It combines my favorite bread with my second favorite fruit with my favorite flavoring agent! I will be waiting for the recipe…patiently 🙂

  2. I cannot belive how fast time if passing! Before I know it Ill be starting uni, oh my!
    Green muffins — looks like avocado?
    No kabocha in your eats!

  3. That bread looks FANTASTIC! Spooo delicious looking! And filled with so many berries, too… because they are the best part, no?

  4. dying for the blueberry lemon cornbread recipe! ahhh! it looks beyond amazing! HAPPY WIAW!

  5. Ooooh, i’m excited for green muffins 😀

    i love grilled veggie salads!!

  6. buttonss - Cherie

    That corn bread looks sooo yummy. Dense and delicious.
    Ohh that banana soft serve looks really good. I cant seem to find peanut flour over here, one of the many things you cant find in australia 😦

  7. buttonss - Cherie

    Also Im definitely trying your cheeze sauce recipe!

  8. Blueberry lemon corn bread sounds stellar.

    I can’t wait to see the green muffin!

Leave a Reply

