Operation Get Pale

If you are what you eat…

then I should be glowing orange and smelling of chocolate and cinnamon.

Do you see the face?

Oh wait, I already am. Haha.

It’s no secret that I am in love with orange foods (kabocha anyone?), and that I add coco and cinnamon to just about anything. Thanks to my pale skin tone, the orange “glow” isn’t exactly inconspicuous… as my friends have kindly pointed out to me (though thank goodness they just thought it was a weird tan!). Last week I finally mustered up the self control to lay off the carrots. Unfortunately, it turns out that the beta carotene that is causing my woes isn’t in just carrots. Bell peppers. Sweet potatoes. Kale. Spinach. Kabocha. While I was able to limit my carrot intake a bit, I just couldn’t leave out my other favorites. Not to mention my sweat in hot yoga has been smelling suspiciously like cinnamon. Hey, I suppose there are worse things to smell like, right?

Anyway, it’s needless to say Operation Get Pale (never thought I’d say those words) didn’t last more than a week. As for cinnamon and cocoa powder, they never went away. Some things a girl just can’t live without, and at least my skin hasn’t shown the signs.

And as with all the great kabocha-loving, cocoa-powder-mixing, cinnamon-sprinkling people relapsing their foodie addictions before me, I came back with a bang. Go big or go home.

High-Protein Chocolate Pudding with “Real Food” Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin (I used Libby’s)
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (+ more if needed)
  • 2 TBS cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 packet stevia or sweetener to taste (~1-2TBS maple syrup would be lovely)
  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor.
  2. Blend, blend, blend!
  3. Refrigerate and serve like chilled mouse, enjoy room temperature as a dip, or warm up for a comforting healthy pudding.
Did you notice this vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free pudding is made with real food? It’s packed with protein and fiber, not to mention it’s a sneaky way to include more heart-healthy legumes and veggies in your diet. Plus who doesn’t love chocolate that you can feel good about eating? Tantalized tastebuds, satiated stomach, and nourished body. Maybe glowing isn’t so bad after all… 
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
4 responses to “Operation Get Pale

  1. Haha, I used to have an orange “glow” when I first became a vegetarian. I ate carrots everyday for lunch and sweet potatoes for snacks. I got tons of compliments in the middle of winter about how tan I looked or questions about whether I went tanning. No tanning for me ever, not even in the summer 🙂 Be proud of your glow girl 😛 And thanks for the recipe.

    By the way, I am making your Blueberry Lemon Cornbread for Dinner tonight! So excited!

  2. Hahah I’m pale too and due to all the carrots I eat, my hands and feet are orange too. It hasn’t stoppedme from eating them though 😛

  3. I am so orange! I stopped eating pumpkin (until September, at least :)) but now I’m on a sweet potato kick and I’m still a horrid shade of orange! My friends think I’m crazy!

  4. Pingback: WIAW #2: Swamp Monsters | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

