WIAW #2: Swamp Monsters

Hey bloggies! Happy Wednesday! How’s your week going so far? I can’t believe it’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday, hosted by Peas and Crayons!

Thanks to putting in a new mattress over the weekend, my week is 1,000,000,000X better. It may not have bought me bonus minutes to sleep in, but it did make the little sleep I get more restful. Thank goodness!

My stepdad also put in a new light/overhead fan in my bedroom. His timing couldn’t have been more perfect because my house has been H-O-T the past few nights. Accordingly, my appetite has been a little out of wack. Hot cereal or anything hot for that matter hasn’t sounded all that good. I would probably eat smoothies, salads, and steamed veggies all day if I could. Since I can’t exactly take my Vita-Mix to work with me, I had to settle on a strawberry banana smoothie just for breakfast. Looks like murky swamp water, tastes amazing.

Strawberry Banana Swamp Monster Smoothie 

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 frozen banana (or 1 whole banana if you want it super creamy)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2-3 cups spinach
  • protein powder, nut butter, flax or chia seeds, etc. (optional)
  1. Place all ingredients in a high-speed blender.
  2.  Blend, baby, blend!

*If you don’t have a Vita-Mix or other high-speed blender, blend first 3 ingredients first, starting on low speed. Add remaining ingredients, increase speed, and blend until creamy. 

Things got super busy right around the usual time I eat lunch, so I ended up popping lemony roasted chickpeas in my mouth and slurping soup while furiously stuffing envelopes, answering the phones, and working on the computer. Ah, the life of an office intern!

I don’t usually like to eat in such a rushed fashion, but at least my lunch was delicious enough to make up for it. The star of the show was definitely the gazpacho my grandmother picked up for me from a local gourmet store. I never thought I’d like cold soup until I tried this market’s speciality last summer. I almost forgot how much I enjoyed it!

I also had steamed sugar snap peas, steamed yellow squash, and raw kale salad.

 

 

 

 

 

High protein chocolate pudding for dessert!

After a really high energy yoga practice, I came home to an awesome new-to-me dinner, polenta pizza!

Polenta is a great way to enjoy a gluten-free pizza with a twist. I topped my pizza with Trader Joe’s pasta sauce, yellow squash, red bell peppers, vegan cheese sauce, and a dash of Daiya vegan mozarella cheese (I call it a dash because it was smaller than a sprinkle haha). Holy yum!

Even though I just used a little Daiya, it really took my pizza to the next level. I don’t usually eat much processed food, but a little here and there is fine. When I saw Daiya on sale at Whole Foods a little while ago, I decided to take the plunge. Since I knew I wouldn’t use it all, I froze it in single servings. It’s the perfect way to enjoy just a little bit without any waste!

Naturally dessert included chocolate banana soft serve, creamy peanut flour sauce, and crumbled black bean brownies. I just can’t get enough!

Do any of your favorite foods taste leave something to be desired as far as looks go? Is there any food you don’t eat often that really adds that special touch? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

8 responses to “WIAW #2: Swamp Monsters

  1. So happy to hear of your new bed. There is nothing like a good night sleep. I am missing my bed. I only have a/c in the living room – so the couch has been my bed for awhile now.

    I love the recipe for the Swamp Monster smoothie…think I will grab the stuff and whip some up for my b-day treat (on Friday). Want to try the black bean browies too; black beans are my fave!

    p.s. Don’t work too hard! 😉

  2. Yay for a new bed! And polenta! Yum

    Um… yogurt lacks the desirable appearance and therefore entices me with the thought of its creamy taste.
    And I don’t eat cheese that often because I still have lurking fears from my ED. They are totally illogical fears.But when I ignore them, and eat some cheese, I don’t regret it 🙂

  3. Everything looks yummy to me….often I find the “ugly” foods to be the most delicious…and then it’s kind of like people—they’re personalities make them more or less attractive! I make a few really ugly dishes, most recently was the cauli-cashew mash that was supposed to be crust. It was so awesome tasting, just really un-pretty!

  4. Everything looks so good especially the protein pudding 🙂

  5. Chocolate banana softserve sounds amazing! Looks super good, too 😀

  6. Your food looked yummy, even your breakfast, he he. Those lemon chickpeas sound so good, I’v never thought to make them lemony, yumm.

    Oh and polenta, is AWESOME, I love it big time!!

    Your dessert girl, what are you trying to do, I’m like WAY drooling over here. Glad I stopped by, your blog is yummy!

    I shared my MANGO LASSI recipe today, wanna come see?
    I would LOVE to invite you to check out my weekly parties. I would be so happy if you linked up. MAYBE even add me to your party LIST (yikes). That would be RAD!!!
    Stop by anytime to say hello!!!
    Hugs, Bella 🙂
    **FEEL GOOD WEDNESDAYS** @ Bella Before and After WIWW, Fitness tips, Healthy recipes welcome.
    **PARTY PLANNING TUESDAYS** @ Euro Style Cakes. All your party planning tips, decorations, invitations, and recipes welcome.

  7. I’m definitely going to have to try lemony chick peas!
    And your protein pudding sounds awesome 🙂 I’m crazy excited i finally froze some bananas last night to get my soft serve on, lol
    Lovely eats, happy wiaw 🙂

  8. My smoothes always end up looking like swamps as well. I’ve never made a green smoothie that was actually green. Your pizza looks so good!!

Leave a Reply

