Easy Veg-Curious Eats

This weekend, something very exciting happened. My grandmother, Nanny, has been veg-curious for awhile, asking me vegan-related questions and trying my kitchen creations. She finally took the plunge herself when we made tempeh veggie burgers together on Saturday.

isn't she the cutest? i love Nanny <3!

Coincidentally, on Sunday she watched a TV show about the benefits of a plant based diet. The program was hosted by Dr. John La Puma, whose name I’ve not heard before but cannot argue with since he finally convinced my grandmother that moving toward a more plant-based diet.

tempeh veggie burgers made with love

In the upcoming days and weeks, I look forward to helping my grandmother with her new plant-based inspiration. I’m not sure if she will continue on to become vegetarian or vegan, but I do believe she is looking to replace some of her meat-based meals with more meatless options. Every little bit counts for health, the environment, and animals!

 

In fact, I even made Nanny and my uncle (whom I call Pasta…a story for another time…) a vegetarian dinner. I found some Rising Moon Organic Garlic and Basil Gnocchi (which are vegan) in the fridge, but no marinara sauce in sight.

Nothing a little olive oil, melted goat cheese, and chopped local tomatoes couldn’t fix. With a fresh romaine salad with homemade balsamic vinegrette and bread hot out of the oven, dinner was served in minutes!

Garlic Basil Gnocchi in Creamy Goat Cheese Sauce (not vegan, unless you use vegan goat cheesse, cashew cheese, etc.)

serves 2

  1. Prepare gnocchi according to package directions.
  2. Lightly sautee garlic in 2 TBS olive oil until lightly brown and fragrant.
  3. Add in hot pasta, goat cheese, and additional olive oil if needed to thin the goat cheese.
  4. Remove gnocchi from heat.
  5. Top with tomato and basil.
  6. Remove from heat

My non-vegan family loved the flavorful gnocchi. I have had wonderful luck with Rising Moon Organics before for myself, so it’s wonderful to hear the same report from others. My only complaint is that the serving size is a bit on the small side, but luckily it was still light and filling none the less.  That’s always great to hear because non-vegs often worry vegetarian food won’t be substantial enough. That definitely wasn’t the case!

 

For dessert, I made my loved ones homemade baked vegan donuts. I usually dip them in a simple powered sugar + almond milk glaze, but decided to go the chocolate route this time.

Chocolate Glazed Donuts 

  1. Prepare 1 recipe baked vegan cake donuts.
  2. Melt chocolate chips in the microwave or in a double boiler on the stove. Make sure not to burn it!
  3. Stir in coconut oil.
  4. Dip top of donuts in chocolate glaze.
  5. Sprinkle with sprinkles, shredded coconut, or any toppings of your choice.
No donut pan? No problem! Just use a muffin pan and adjust the cook time (add a few extra minutes).
They must have been a hit because the whole recipe was polished off in less than 24 hours. I’ll let you do the math. 

Does your family share your eating habits? Do you like to cook with your friends/family? If so, what do you make together? 

See you tomorrow for WIAW!

Mandiee

7 responses to “Easy Veg-Curious Eats

  1. yes! i love to share recipes and facts with my fam!!

  2. There they are again…the best donuts in the WORLD!…but, I missed out on having one this time!!! I told Nanny to steal me 1 (or 2!) next time; they are the BEST with my morning coffee. Of course, I should be less lazy and make them myself!!! But, I think food tastes better when someone else makes it!

    Nanny suggested I try the tempeh patty, but I don’t think I am ready to cross that line yet!

    Don’t work too hard! Have a great day!

  3. I need to get on that vegan do nut making! They look soooo goood! 🙂 But, then I would eat them all in 10 minutes…

    Whitney

  4. Gnocchi = ❤

  5. It is so cool that your “Nanny” is beginning to embrace a healthier lifestyle! I hope she continues to explore the vegetarian world 🙂

  6. I love the term ‘veg-curious’ 🙂 My family is always hesitant to try my creations because they’re not big on vegetables, but they would totally eat this if I made it for them!

  7. I stumbled acrossed Ellen DeGeneres’ website Going
    Vegan With Ellen…thought you’d like to check out the recipes to get some ideas for some dishes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

