WIAW #3: THAT Girl

Hey there! I hope your Wednesday is off to a wonderful start. Mine would be if I didn’t have to wake up so crazy early haha. But seriously, Wednesdays are all the more special now thanks to Peas and Crayons. It’s time for What I Ate Wednesday again!

Part of breakfast was a mixed berry smoothie. Apparently my cravings didn’t get the memo that the weather decided to be cooler this week. I was forced to eat my smoothie wearing a sweater curled up by my desk heater in order to stay warm. Go figure.

It’s a good thing my Sunwarrior Protein Powder came in the mail yesterday because I’m am seriously OUT of protein powder. I’m even more excited because I bought it myself. I have always been a “saver,” putting away any money I earn or am given as a gift “just in case I need it later.” Later doesn’t usually come, but yet I still keep coming back to the safety in saving. Anyway, it felt good to finally buy something—something I wanted, something I needed, something I will enjoy. I’m sure it will taste all the better.

 

For lunch I had a falafel salad the size of my head.

In the beast:

  • organic romaine lettuce (conventional tastes like chemicals—ick!)
  • raw red bell peppers
  • raw yellow squash
  • steamed broccoli
  • steamed sugar snap peas
  • protein-packed falafel (from Mama Pea’s new cookbook!)
  • hummus (used as salad dressing)

I have officially given up using a plate (absolutely useless) or a “normal-sized” bowl (never big enough) to house my salads. Mixing bowls work like a charm. I’m loving my salad beasts so much that I’m considering taking my special bowl with me to school for lunches. Yeah, I’m going to be that girl. In the words of Mama Pea, “Thou shalt not be ashamed of thy Hugh Jass.” Can I get an Amen?

 

After a relaxing hot vinyasa class, I came home to a veggie-ful dinner… not before freezing banana slices for banana soft serve, though. You know how I do ;).

Dinner was gluten-free mung bean fetucchini in a smoked paprika/curry powder/garlic powder/Bragg’s Liquid Aminos sauce with eggplant fries, roasted green beans and bell peppers, and lots of steamed veggies.

…times 3.

Dessert included chocolate banana soft serve with peanut flour sauce and black bean brownies frosted with coconut cream.

Are you getting sick of seeing banana soft serve and black bean brownies yet? Seriously, one bite (or lick) and you’ll understand.

Are you a saver or a spender? What was the last thing you treated yourself to (bought, ate, etc.)? 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

7 responses to “WIAW #3: THAT Girl

  1. buttonss - Cherie

    Cant get over how good that banana soft serve looks!
    DEFINITELY A SPENDER! Oh god, I cant save at all!
    Last thing I bought as a bunch of clothes and food online I probably didnt need haha.

  2. I am a saver like you! My sisters get mad at me because I don’t by clothes that I need unless I am desperate and then I borrow theirs 🙂 But I like having the money in case I need it for, I don’t know, a lululemon jacket 🙂

    I just discovered Sun Warrior protein powder the other day when I was researching! My only problem was that it costs so much more than regular protein powders and I don’t HAVE to get a vegan protein powder. Although I would like to. Would you say it is worth the price?

  3. Black bean brownies with coconut cream sounds yummy – hope you will post the recipe as I really love chocolate in any form.

    Nan

  4. I am a horrible saver but if I reallllyyy want something I will save for it! That mung bean pasta looks soo good 🙂

  5. mmm…falafel!! so good 🙂 i’m a saver – most of the time!

    Sam @ fitness food & faith (giveaway today!)

  6. I’m a saver! But my parents got me a Target gift card for my birthday, so I bought some new running shorts and a sweater today! 🙂

  7. I seriously need to order Mama Pea’s cookbook—everything I see people posting from it looks amazing.

    I finally bought a “real” desk after years of using an awkward old table that gave me wrist problems—I’m still not over how awesome it is to finally have a nice workspace.

Leave a Reply

