Undercover [Sale] Agent

Sometimes when I walk into a grocery store, I feel like an undercover sale agent. Clothed in all black [yoga] wear with my grocery basket in tow, I scope out the real estate. I spot weekly sales in the front, organic on the sides, and pre-chopped veggies in the back. My obsession with fresh produce and my passion for a [sale] hunt are my secret weapons.

Okay, so I may not be exactly Burn Notice worthy, but I do feel pretty awesome when I nag some special sale items. I’m not talking about those listed in the weekly circular or those available with online coupons. (Although, let’s be honest, those are pretty cool, too.) No, it’s the rare “value priced” and “manger’s special” sales that really get me going.

Last night I really hit it big time with value priced bananas (a rarity!) AND manager’s special organic broccoli and carrots.  Do not fear the market down produce, my friends! Often the veggies are perfectly fresh and the bananas barely have spots.

That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy spotty bananas, though. In fact, I absolutely love it when I find marked down banana bread-worthy bananas. The spottier the bananas, the sweeter the banana bread!

Since I don’t like to add very much sweetener (usually none at all), ripe bananas are the key. And because I have virtually no self control around produce, perfectly yellow, spotless bananas rarely make it to the banana bread stage anyway unless I buy them almost ready. Basically my banana evolution goes like this:

eating –> banana soft serve –> banana bread

I love my banana soft serve so you can bet your bottom dollar there aren’t many bananas left for bread making. And really, that’s just not fair. There will always be a special spot in my heart (and tummy) for the dense, chewy, slightly sweet bread. When I’m equipped with peanut flour fluff and coconut cream (or coconut butter), even the banana bread doesn’t stand a chance in my house.

Gluten-Free Stevia-Sweetened Banana Bread

Makes 2 mini loaves

1 cup flour (i used 1/2 cup millet flour, 1/4 cup + 2 TBS buckwheat flour, and 2 TBS coconut flour)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
2 really ripe bananas
3 TBS applesauce
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar (or lemon juice)

almond milk, as needed (i used ~2-3TBS)

sweetener, to taste (optional) (i used 1/4 tsp NuNaturals pure stevia)
1. preheat oven to 375*F
2. in a medium-sized bowl, combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and pinch of salt.
3. in a large bowl, mash banana. stir in applesauce, apple cider vinegar, and sweetener, if using.
4. add dry ingredients to banana mixture. mix until well combined, adding water or milk, if needed, to wet the batter.
5. pour batter in mini loaf pans or muffin tins.
6. bake in the oven for about 45 minutes (or less if using muffin tin—it will depend on your oven), or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Do you buy value-priced items? What’s your favorite thing to do with bananas?

 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

6 responses to “Undercover [Sale] Agent

  1. I love buying value priced items!! It seriously makes my day to go into a grocery store and find awesome deals, usually on bananas because what everyone else considers “bad”, I consider fabulous. Right now my favorite thing to do with bananas is make Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins.. so good.

  2. I freaking LOVE Kroger! They are so silly for marking produce down so much. I love it!

    Whitney

  3. buttonss - Cherie

    I always buy from the reduced items section! Usually everything I buy from there is fine.
    Im so jealous of those bananas, they are still $12 – 13 a kg over here. *sigh*
    I did however splurge this weekend and buy a few, and I have one in my freezer to try some of that awesome looking soft serve

  4. Maxwell@FreedomRunning

    Squeal for deals! Woo Whoo! I feel like I cheat the system whenever I get a really good bargain. Secret agent style. 🙂 I pretty much do the same things as you with my bananas. Banana & Peanut Butter > Banana Soft Serve > Banana Bread. Voila!

  5. I definitely look for sales when I’m in the store—food, clothes, everything! That doesn’t mean I don’t pay full price for the ridiculously expensive foods sometimes…but I do appreciate sales!
    The banana bread looks great.
    I like to freeze bananas and then put them in the food processor to make ice cream….mmmmmm.

  6. Pingback: WIAW #4: Green Without Envy | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

