Tea-riffic

Wow. This weekend was quite a whirlwind. Saturday I probably spent more time laughing and smiling than breathing. Okay, maybe not, but it was at least close to equal. In fact, something happened on Saturday that I’m sure Nanny and my Uncle Pasta (I’ll explain the name thing later…) won’t ever let me live down.

***

Although I really enjoyed spending Saturday with my family, Sunday was even better because I got to meet someone new, Jera from Adventures of Vegirl! I was so excited when I read that she was moving to my area from Washington state. We immediately decided to meet up (my first blogger meetup wahoo!).

[Point and shoot blogger fail. I think someone needs a new camera… and that someone is me.]

Unfortunately, the restaurant we wanted to go to closes early on Sundays so Jera suggested we go to a coffee and tea house instead. Freshly brewed tea? It’s like she was reading my mind! (For those of you that don’t know, I like am obsessed with tea. In fact, I have a whole cupboard devoted the liquid gold.)

Of course I came bearing gifts. I know how much Jera loves unsweetened chocolate (I can’t blame her, it’s one of my favorites, too!), so I brought her a bar of Gheradelli’s 100% cacao  and a bar of Endangered Species’s Extreme Dark Chocolate (88% cacao).

I also made her two flavors of homemade raw cookie dough balls, coconut and chocolate cherry almond. I dipped half of them in Endangered Species’s Extreme Dark Chocolate because, well, what isn’t better covered in chocolate?

Anyway, I had an absolutely amazing time with Jera. We talked for hours and even ended up closing the place (whoops!). Jera has a great sense of humor and a lot of insight. I loved hearing about her hometown (Jera, I still think your lentil festival beats our cherry festival haha.) I just couldn’t help but smiling and laughing while talking with her! It was so comforting to talk with someone who shares my passions and ideas. [I often feel like I’m really different than the kids at my school, so it was really refreshing to talk to someone like me.] I really felt like I could talk to her about anything. Jera, I can’t wait to meet up again and take you to my favorite restaurant!

***

After meeting up with Jera, I came home to just relax and indulge my night howl self since I didn’t have to go to work on Monday. (Hallelujah!) When I finally woke up Monday morning, all I wanted was something simple to eat. I decided on a refreshing blueberry muffin soft serve. I also made a microwave vanilla protein muffin top with my new SunWarrior Protein Powder (more on this in another post). It was just what I wanted!

Blueberry Muffin Soft Serve

  • 1/2 banana, cut into slices/chunks and frozen
  • 2/3 cup blueberries, frozen
  • 2 TBS almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  1. Place all ingredients except almond milk in a blender or food processor.
  2. Blend until smooth and creamy, adding almond milk to get things going. (It may not look creamy at first, but keep at it! Persistence will pay off with delicious, dreamy soft serve.)
Vanilla Protein Microwave Muffin Top
  • 3 TBS vanilla protein powder (21 g)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon 
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (1 TBS flax meal + 3 TBS hot water + a few minutes to gel) 
  • 2 TBS unsweetened applesauce 
  • 2 TBS almond milk
  • NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia drops, or sweetener to taste
  1. Grease a microwave-safe bowl or mug. 
  2. Combine protein powder, cinnamon, and baking powder in a bowl. 
  3. Add flax egg, applesauce, almond milk, and stevia. Drizzle in more almond milk if needed to form a batter. 
  4. Transfer batter to greased dish. 
  5. Microwave for 2-3 minutes, or until muffin top is pulling away from the sides of the dish and the center is firm. 
*If you don’t have/don’t like to use a microwave, baking the muffin in the oven at 350*F will probably also work.

 

***

During the day, I caught up on some random things and made lentil “meat”balls. I’ve tried to come up with better names for vegan “meat”balls,  but neither lentils balls nor anything else I come up with seems right. Suggestions?

***

The mailman also payed me a visit, bearing a little treat from Carrie of Moves N Munchies. Since Carrie couldn’t bring back all of her foodie goodies to London, she agreed to do a blogger swap with me. We had originally agreed on the Vega samples (I ADORE Vega!), but she also threw in a Pecan Pie Larabar. Seeing the extra treat definitely made me smile. 🙂 Thanks, Carrie!

 

What kind of camera do you have? Have you ever done a blogger meetup or exchange? If not, who do you dream of meeting? 

 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

 

P.S. If you haven’t check out Jera’s blog, you seriously must. It’s filled with gorgeous photos, delicious gluten-free vegan recipes, and fun stories. I always look forward to new posts!

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 responses to “Tea-riffic

  1. I LOVEEE that endangered species chocolate! OH WOW yay that package came quick!! glad you liked it 😀

  2. I’ve always wanted to do a blogger meet-up! I don’t think many bloggers are in Canada though 😦

  3. Maxwell@FreedomRunning

    It is really cool that you got to meet up with VEGirl! She is one of my favorite bloggers! Anywho, I love and tea and dark chocolate. I have seen endangered species chocolate online but have yet to try it. Someday…

  4. How cool that you got to meet a blogger! I’m still waiting to be able to do that one of these days 😉

  5. Hehe I had such a fun time, too! Mind if I use your photo for my blog? I officially failed as a photographer that night by forgetting it :oops:. I shared the chocolate with my family (in a sharing type of mood– rare!) and I think they have eaten more of it than me at this point, which is REALLY saying something!

  6. buttonss - Cherie

    Yumm! Cookie dough balls. Even better covered in chocolate.
    I just use a crappy point and shoot camera, but it does what i want so thats all I need 😀
    I would LOVE to do a bloggie meet up, yet all my blogger friends are scattered throughout the world so it would be a little hard.

  7. Pingback: Homemade Chocolate Covered Date Balls/Larabars | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

