WIAW #4: Green Without Envy

Hey there! I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday! But you know what that means, don’t you? It’s time for the What I Ate Wednesday link party hosted by Peas and Crayons. This is definitely becoming one of my favorite parts of the week :).

WIAW IS about sharing a love of food, inspiring others, and having fun.

WIAW is NOT about comparing, judging, or restricting.

Even though I show some of my eats, my pictures show nowhere near all of what I eat. I often make one plate “presentable” to photograph, but follow it up with a few more for function rather than appearance. My stomach doesn’t judge beauty, that’s for sure! Also, I’m known for grabbing handfuls of fruit, roasted veggies (or frozen peas & carrots straight from the freezer—amazing!), and fresh chickpeas randomly out of the fridge. And don’t even get me started on the puffed millet.

***

With that, let’s get to the things I DID photograph.

Breakfast this morning was Gluten-Free Green Monster Pancakes inspired by Averie at Love Veggies and Yoga. I’ve been a big fan of Averie’s blog since before I started blogging, so it was only natural that I looked to her when I was craving coconut flour pancakes that were both vegan and gluten-free (and of course sugar-free, too!).

I am kinda really obsessed with coconut flour right now and have been drooling over coconut flour pancakes for months. However, the problem with most coconut flour pancakes is that they use multiple eggs to hold the gluten-free flour together (and no, flax eggs DO NOT work for replacement…trust me). The ones that only use one egg, which could maaaaaybe be made vegan, call for whole wheat flour. So not only could I not find a vegan coconut flour pancake recipe, but when I came close, it wasn’t gluten-free. Neither my body nor my ethics were going to budge. Thank goodness Averie came to my rescue!

Coconut Green Monster Pancakes

  • 1/3 banana (36 grams)
  • 1/3 small apple (35 grams) (about 3-4TBS diced)
  • 1 handful spinach (~1/2-1 cup)
  • 1 TBS flax seed meal
  • 3 TBS almond milk
  • 3 TBS oats (10 grams)
  • 1 TBS coconut flour (7 grams)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 TBS shredded coconut
  • stevia, to taste (I recommend NuNaturals)
  1. Blend banana, apple, spinach, flax seed meal, and almond milk in a high speed blender. Let sit for a few minutes while you get your other ingredients ready (this will allow the flax seed to “gel”).
  2. Add oats, coconut flour, cinnamon, and baking powder. Blend until a thick batter is formed, adding more almond milk to thin, if necessary. Stir in shredded coconut, if using.
  3. Heat a non-stick pan to medium-high heat and grease with coconut oil.
  4. Place small amounts of batter on the heated pan. Cook for about four minutes on each side, flipping when the batter has firmed and the bubbles have disappeared. Follow your pancake instincts!
  5. Cook for about four more minutes on the other side.
  6. Plate, topping with fresh fruit, syrup, or anything you like. Dig in!

***

Lunch was lots of tasting in the kitchen (new recipe to come!) + a semi-deconstructed salad on a plate, which was drowned in nooch after the picture was taken. I seem to go through phases in my relationship with nutiritonal yeast. Sometimes I love it, and sometimes I just don’t. Case in point: during the early spring, the thought of nooch made me gag; now I just can’t seem to get enough! Yummmm!

After lunch, I had an amazing yoga practice. Since I’ve been off of work this week, I’ve actually been getting enough sleep (shocker), and my yoga practice has definitely shown it. Now it feels like I could flow all practice long. Long hold chair poses, though? Notsomuch.

Since I already made both most of my dinner and my family’s dinner, my grandmother and I did a little shopping after yoga. I have a new love, and it’s raging like wild fire. Details to come!

***

The aforementioned dinner we came home to was homemade vegan “meat”balls. The base of mine was French green lentils + gluten-free oats whereas the base of the ones I made for my family was freshly cooked black beans (the best!) + Quaker old fashioned oatmeal.

Nanny and Uncle Pasta (ironic name, no?) ate the black bean “meat” balls over spaghetti noodles with Trader Joe’s marinara sauce and corn on the side. I even added some nooch to Nanny’s pasta for a little nutritional boost. Although I didn’t add much, I think she liked it. Nooch for the win!

The best part? My family enjoyed their fully vegan meal AND felt satisfied. Clearly it’s a total myth that vegan food isn’t satisfying if my carnivorous uncle who usually goes back for seconds (at least!) felt perfectly content after one plate. He even said, “I would eat vegan all the time as long as it was tasty and quick for me to prepare.” Hearing all of this really makes me shine with joy.

***

My dinner included (but was no limited to) roasted eggplant fries, roasted bell peppers, lentil “meat”balls, and steamed yellow squash + pasta sauce for dipping + nutritional yeast for sprinkling (or, more accurately, dousing).

x3 + a steamed broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprout, carrot salad

I had originally intended to mix it all up, but dipping seemed far too tempting. For some reason, lately I’ve been all about the dipping. Interactive food is fun, no?

Love love LOVED this combo! I think it’s going to become a new staple. For a girl that never like the real thing, I’m glad these vegan “meat”balls are full of flavor, nutrition, and staying power. Seriously, this was SO delicious!

***

Dessert/snacks included another recipe of banana bread (which I made into muffins this time), chocolate banana soft serve, and black bean brownies. I feel like a broken record, but these combos are just too good!

 

Do you like “interactive” food? Is there anything you have a love/hate relationship cycle with?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

14 responses to “WIAW #4: Green Without Envy

  1. I see I’m not the only one swimming in Summer Squash. 😀

    Sooo delicious and yellow….and abundant.

  2. buttonss - Cherie

    Thats great about your family loving the food! Those ‘meat’ balls sounds really good actually, i want to give them a go.

  3. Oh my, those veggies look perfect! 🙂 As does everything else!

    Whitney

  4. Love the idea of black bean meatballs. I’ve only ever made my bean burgers into burger shape 🙂

  5. Healthy Hot and Happy

    Everything looks/sounds so good! Glad your family is loving the food.

  6. Aw congrats on getting your family to eat a vegan dinner! I made Angela’s (from Oh She Glows) Risotto for some friends and they couldn’t believe it was vegan!

    • Thanks! Which risotto did you make them? My grandmother LOVES risotto, so I’m sure she’d enjoy it. I love those “I can’t believe it’s vegan!” moments. 🙂

  7. Ooo! I just bought that marinara sauce! Do you love it?

  8. Maxwell@FreedomRunning

    Green Monster Pancakes look so good!

  9. that combo does sound good! and yes yes yes on NO judgement! ❤ haters can sip their haterade and all hang out together b/c we dont have time for them! ❤ MWAH!!!!!

  10. Green monster pancakes? oh snap! Make me some of those 😉

  11. I can’t believe it’s Wednesday either! Times flies when you’re having fun. 🙂 The green pancakes are brilliant, thanks for sharing this healthy and delicious-looking recipe!

  12. Happy wiaw girlie! Great looking eats! The pancakes look fab!

Leave a Reply

