Gourmet Cookie Monsters

Hey bloggies! I’m so glad you enjoyed WIAW as much as I did! I always like checking out what yummy things other bloggers ate. Our diets are very diverse, but it’s what works for us. Everyone has a different body and needs to fuel accordingly.

Today I had originally planned to post my vegan “meat”ball recipes. However, after hearing the “mmm”s when I served my family dessert last night, I knew I couldn’t keep this cookie recipe to myself any longer.

***

We have a few cookie monsters in my house. If you’ve never met a cookie monster before, than I should warn you that cookie monsters are notorious for making cookies vanish right before your eyes.

They must be related to the sock monster that lives in my basement because both cookies and socks seem to magically go missing when I so much as turn my head. Hmmm.

From careful observation of cookie monsters, I’ve learned that they have a particular affinity for chocolate cookies, chocolate chip to be exact…or so I thought.

Last night I learned that my cookie monsters seemed to have acquired a more gourmet palate. What started out as a recipe experiment based on chocolate ginger truffles somehow progressed to loud “mmm”s and vanishing cookies.

The crumbs are my only evidence, but I’d say these chocolate ginger truffle cookies went over quite well…

Chocolate Ginger Truffle Cookies 

Makes 12-16 cookies

  • 1 bar Ginger Dark Chocolate (I used Green & Black’s)
  • 1 cup + 2TBS spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend or organic sugar
  • 3 TBS cocoa powder, sifted
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup + 2 TBS agave syrup
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Finely chop ~3/4 of the dark chocolate bar either by hand or in a food processor. Chop other 1/4 of the bar into squares and reserve for placing on top of each cookie before baking.
  3. Mix finely chopped dark chocolate, flour, NuNaturals Stevia Baking Blend (or sugar), cocoa powder, ground ginger, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix agave syrup, oil, and vanilla extract.
  5. Add wet to dry and mix until just combined.
  6. Use a small ice cream scoop or your hands to form small balls. Slightly press them down with a few  fingers, placing a reserved square of chocolate in the center of each cookie.
  7. Bake in the oven for exactly 11 minutes (trust me, they will be perrrrfect this way—nice, chewy, & dense…just like a truffle!).
  8. Immediately place cookies on a wire rack to cool.
  9. Enjoy…and be on the look out for cookie monsters :P!
Do you have cookie monsters in your house? What’s your favorite cookie flavor?
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee 
11 responses to “Gourmet Cookie Monsters

  1. buttonss - Cherie

    Gotta hate those sock monsters!!
    Send some of them cookies my way! When I wasnt vegan my favourite cookie was the ones we sell at my work, they had flavours like fig and pecan, sticky date and ginger, and white chocolate and macadamia. Perhaps I should try replicating them!

  2. Oh wow, those look seriously amazing. I love the lump of chocolate on the top, very good idea.

  3. These look super-yummy!!! I just may have to try this recipe!

    My favorite are oatmeal raisin followed by peanut butter!!!

    Enjoy your day!!!

  4. Looks yummy! I totally have cookie monsters all over my house, you make them cookies, they will be gone before the day is over 😛

  5. Cookie monsters come in all shapes, sizes and ages! I know the cookie monsters in your home and they are ever appreciative of your culinary wizardry when it comes to baking cookies with lots of chocolate.

    U-NO-WHOO

  6. Green&Blacks is my fav chocolate! I go for dark, ginger sounds awesome though. & those cookies look amazing!

  7. Chocolate heaven with my fave chocolate! Oh Yes! My fave cookie is oatmeal chocolate chip. My favorites have to involve chocolate 🙂

  8. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Green and Black´s is my fave chocolate label 🙂 I lvoe baking cookies, but I rarely eat them. Not that I don´t like the taste, but usually my dad eats all of them before I turn around 🙂 I like any oatmeal cookies you can find, especially those with dried fruit in them.

  9. Pingback: Less Moo Mondays | kabochavore

  10. Pingback: Get Ready | kabochavore

Leave a Reply

