Less Moo Mondays

Hi again! How was your weekend, bloggies? After feeling a little too connected to my computer last week, I decided a technology detox was in order. I did a lot of running around and studying for the upcoming school year (and standardized tests), so when I finally had time to relax, I chose to do so on the couch with a book. It was just what I needed!

Now that I’m back in action, I have some exciting news to tell you all. After making dinner for my grandmother and uncle tonight and casually mentioning “meatless mondays,” I finally got the green light to make going veggie for a night a weekly occasion.

Last night’s dinner included tomato basil pasta with lemon roasted chickpeas and green beans.

For the pasta, I simply sauteed ~1/2 cup of onion and a few cloves of garlic in a generous amount of olive oil. Once everything was nicely browned and perfuming the kitchen with a lovely aroma, I added in leftover spaghetti noodles and a chopped tomato. While the tomato became saucy, I added my seasonings, which were dried basil, dried oregano, garlic powder, a pinch of red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper. Once the dish was warmed through, I lowered the heat and tossed in hand-torn fresh basil (didn’t want it to wilt from the heat!).

My carnivorous uncle raved about the “sauce,” saying that it was light but flavorful. Nanny enjoyed the texture of the roasted chickpeas on the warm noodles. Adding roasted chickpeas is a great way to bulk up vegetarian pasta dishes for heartier appetites.

Of course I made Nanny a little to-go box for work. Hehe, I love “playing house.”

Another meatless meal that my family enjoyed recently is teriyaki tofu (from Mama Pea’s new cookbook) with brown rice and corn.

I taught Nanny how to prepare tofu from start to finish since she wants to start incorporating it into her diet more. I think the most daunting part of preparing tofu is pressing it. Well-pressed tofu is the difference between a watery white glob for dinner or a delicious flavor-sponge of a good meal. The lesson? Press your tofu well, my friends! If you do, you will be rewarded with a chewy texture and flavorful taste (if you like your sauce, of course; tofu absorbs whatever you marinate it in). Luckily, the nice people over at Tofu Xpress were kind enough to give me one of their tofu presses to try out. Seriously, this thing is a lifesaver!

Anyway, the meal was a total hit. The texture of the tofu was almost “meaty,” and the sauce was extremely flavorful. When I want a meal I can count on, I always turn to Mama Pea. My grandmother even had extra tofu, which she used to snack on and supplement her meals throughout the week. She said it kept really well in the fridge. Oh, and did I mention my grandmother and uncle took these photos themselves? I’m so proud.

***

So now that I’ve shown you some of the yummy food my family has been eating, let’s talk about meatless mondays. Since I’m vegan, everyday is a meatless monday for me, if you will. However, my family is just starting their more plant based journey. Meatless Mondays can be a great way to encourage your friends and family to cut back their animal consumption and up their veggie intake once a week. You can show them how fun and delicious eating more plants can be. (You by no means need to “convert” them. Just make it fun!) Every little bit counts!

Why Meatless? (Source)

  • LIMIT Cancer Risk
  • REDUCE Heart Disease
  • FIGHT Diabetes
  • CURB Obesity
  • LIVE Longer
  • IMPROVE Your Diet
  • MINIMIZE Water Usage
  • HELP Reduce Fossil Fuel Dependance
Basically, eating meatless will not only do wonders for health, but it will also help animals and the environment. And who doesn’t want their families to be happy and healthy?
In all honesty, I’m super excited that my family wants to eat more meatless because I’m selfish—I love my family so much I can’t imagine living without them. I want my grandmother to live to play with my children, her great grandchildren. I want her to live her life to the fullest, being fueled by the most nutritious foods there on Earth. Just knowing that she can extend her life by eating more meatless seems like such a no-brainer. It makes my heart beat faster to think about all the years we have to enjoy together. 
Oh, and do you know the best part of eating meatless? Dessert. Since you’re such a super hero for doing good for your body and the world, why not reward yourself with a little something special? I know my grandmother and uncle would do just about anything for Chocolate Ginger Cookies.
Or, if you’re more of a traditionalist, how do Vegan Tollhouse Cookie Bars sound? Mmm, I can already smell their chocolately almondy goodness…
Do you ever take a technology detox? What do you think of Meatless Mondays? Do you or your family eat meatless? 
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
4 responses to “Less Moo Mondays

  1. barbara robison

    Mandiee, I enjoy your blogs AND your recipes. Would you post the recipe for Chocolate Ginger Cookies pretty please? Those look amazing and i want to make them now!
    Barbara

    • Thanks, Barbara! I actually posted the recipe last week, but I forgot to link to it. I’ll make the correction right now. Click here for the recipe. I hope you enjoy clicking around Kabochavore!

      Have a lovely day!

  2. I can’t my family into tofu- pressed, seasoned, spiced, what have you.
    Which makes me sad, but to each his own I guess. Congrats to you for actually getting your family to go along with you!

  3. buttonss - Cherie

    I should do a technology detox.. but I dont know if it would be possible for me.
    Meatless mondays is a great idea.
    When I go home to my parents I usually cook for them, because Im vegan as well and its usually easier, besides I love sharing my recipes.
    Mum usually asks for the recipes, but later on usually if I asked her whether she tried it out she replies with ‘yep! i made the curry, but I added chicken’
    Chicken!? Mummm , cant you just go without meat for one friggin meal!?

Leave a Reply

