WIAW #5: Snacks and Treats

Hey hey hey! How’s your Wednesday going? Mine is already going well because I’m sleeeeeeping in. Nine hour of sleep really makes a difference. Operation Get Rid of the Dark Circles Under My Eyes is going swimmingly.

How much sleep do you usually get to feel your best?

Annnnd now it’s time for WIAW! Many thanks again to Peas and Crayons for hosting; we always have such a great time! Today’s What I Ate Wednesday is going to be a little different. I thought it might be fun to show you what I’ve been snacking on and what I’ve been baking since I took a technology detox and don’t have many photos of my meals.Vincent the Vita-Mix is in tip-top shape thanks to daily workouts. I’m talking smoothies, sauces, and nut butters alike. It’s been such a treat to make smoothies when I want with what I want. And if I want ice cream before noon, who’s going to stop me?

Alright, alright, so my ice cream is pretty healthy…but that doesn’t mean that it isn’t delicious. I loved combining vanilla, almond, and cinnamon for a refreshing treat that left me feeling satisfied and energized. No sugar crashes for this girl!

Another snack I’ve been loving is stove-top popped multicolored pop corn (hellooo mouthful!). Even though we own a popcorn maker, I like popping it fresh on the stove top for my own personal serving. I was so nervous when I first tried it out; all the kernels were browning, but nothing was happening. All it took was a little patience, and before I knew it, an overflowing bowl of white fluffy goodness was all mine.

I’ll admit I was a little disappointed when my beautifully multicolored popcorn turned into average-looking white puffs after popping. I’ve never been enough of a popcorn enthusiast to know if there was a distinct taste difference, but I do know that I’m now converted to popcorn eating.

When I’m feeling savory, I sprinkle freshly popped pop corn with nutritional yeast.

A heafty dose of cinnamon and unsweetened cocoa powder is perfect when I’m craving something a little sweeter.

Veggie plates are daily occurance. Whether it’s eating a deconstructed salad on a plate with chopped romaine and beans or digging into a big bowl of steamed broccoli, cauliflower, and brussels sprouts, I just can’t get enough of fresh produce.

As for treats, my family has been gobbling up Chocolate Ginger Cookies and Vegan Tollhouse Cookie Bars.

I love baking vegan treats for my family and friends because I think it is a great way to introduce them to veganism in a fun and non confrontational way. Who can resist a freshly baked treat? I always serve my baked goods up with a smile and a whole lot of love. The best way to show off the compassionate lifestyle is just by living it, whether it is by making your own dietary choices or by showing that you care.

Oh, and you know the best part about vegan baking? Licking the spoons/beaters. No egg means the dough is safe to eat. And let me tell you, no bowl is left untouched.

What have you been snacking on lately? Do you have a special treat you like to make for company?Β 

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

12 responses to “WIAW #5: Snacks and Treats

  1. buttonss - Cherie

    I am a huge popcorn fan. I like sprinkling nooch, curry powder and onion powder combined. Also maple syrup πŸ˜€

  2. Yum!!! I love popcorn with nooch, and ice cream for breakfast is a regular occurrence for me (unless my roommates are still sleeping when I’m eating breakfast… my vitamix ain’t quiet!) haha.

    I’ve been snacking on soy crisps lately! I can’t get enough!

  3. So nooch does really taste like cheese huh?

    I loooove ice cream! I’m gonna go live on my own so that way I can eat ice cream before noon πŸ˜€
    But yeah that’s really healthy lookin ice cream

  4. Nutritional Yeast on popcorn? GENIUS! Why didn’t I think of that? πŸ˜‰

  5. I eat popcorn almost every day! It’s a great snack!
    I like your idea of adding cocoa powder. Yum!

  6. I have been loving chocolate covered raisins lately!!! …but you just made me CRAVE popcorn!

  7. Licking the spoon is my fave part of baking! Even not so vegan baking… But I won’t get sick because 99% of the batter I lick is vegan! Yay!
    Your popcorn ideas are amazing! πŸ™‚

  8. I had popcorn with nutritional yeast for lunch today. Shhh, don’t tell the husband. He dislikes it when I replace meals with popcorn πŸ™‚

  9. Healthy Hot and Happy

    I love your view on living a compassionate lifestyle instead of just talking about it. And i’m addicted to popcorn πŸ˜‰

  10. Biscotti is my go-to snack lately. I can’t get enough. I’m thinking I’m going to make some lemon/almond flavored tomorrow. πŸ˜‰

  11. You’ve totally just reminded me that I need to start having popcorn snacks more! I have a whole bag of popping corn that has been untouched for far to long! I tend to do best on 7 hours sleep, any more and I find I get a fuzzy head and any less I’m just shattered!

  12. oh yummeh! I love ya snacky eats! gotta try your ice cream! I love ya lick the beaters/bowl too, sometimes i take it too far and im left with no batter left for the actual baking part… lately I have been snacking on Pb cookies and chocolate like a unstoppable mad man, and your cookie has got me craving and tummy rumbling! love your blog! xxx

Leave a Reply

