Hail, Hail

Hiya! I’m so glad you all enjoyed seeing some of my snacks. A lot of snacking is part of the Kabochavore diet. I’m known for taking fistfuls of berries from the fridge, pieces of nuts from the freezer (they’re SO good cold and crunchy!), or Mary’s Gone Crackers and Puffins crumbs from the box. In fact, as I write this, I’m snacking on some steamed broccoli, cauliflower, and brussels sprouts. Yum!

I usually like to snack as I’m cooking. Right after yoga I’m not hungry, but I definitely need a little something something. I find that snacking on watermelon and blueberries is the perfect way to rehydrate and while getting some nutrients (and fruit sugars). Last night while getting my Snack Face on I made my grandmother and uncle dinner. Another Mama Pea recipe was on the menu, Thai Veggie Burgers.

My grandmother loves Asian flavors, especially when they involve sesame oil. I knew this recipe would be right up her alley. Finding flavors that my grandmother is familiar with and already enjoys makes vegan eating fun and palatable.

Served on Multigrain Sandwhich Thins with romaine lettuce and pineapple slices, the veggie burgers were a total hit! Seriously, the pineapple really took the flavors over the edge. Mama knows what she’s talking about!

For Nanny’s lunch box, I made a little bed of romaine lettuce for one of the extra veggie burgers and added some leftover roasted fries on the side.

To end the meal on a sweet note, I made the Mango Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Icing that Mama Pea suggested to be served with the burgers.

Mine were a little more mango-y and a little less coconut-y because I didn’t have any coconut extract or toasted coconut. Perhaps that has to do with my recent coconut butter making. Hehe.

Even without the coconut extract, my family really enjoyed the cupcakes. The coconut flavor was in the background thanks to Thai Kitchen Organic Coconut Milk.

Don't be fooled by the picture! It was thundering when I took this and a torrential downpour of hail started moments after I was safely inside.

I love working with canned coconut milk, especially the full-straight stuff. It’s just so rich, luscious, and delicious. I’ll admit I got the can pretty clean. Finger licking is always encouraged.

I wish I could share the recipes, but since I followed them pretty closely, I have to give the credit all the Mama Pea. Have you bought the Peas and Thank You Cookbook yet? Seriously? Don’t wait any longer! It will quickly become a favorite.

For my dinner, I roasted eggplant, green beans, and red peppers in the oven. Meanwhile, I baked tofu triangles (pressed with my Tofu Xpress) in coconut oil. I dipped them in homemade sugar-free barbecue sauce (which I adapted from Spoonful of Sugar-Free) and served them along with steamed broccoli, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, and other yummy veggies. I love me some serious veggies!

Homemade Vegan + Sugar Free Barbecue Sauce 

  • 1/3 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 TBS apple cider vinegar
  • 1-1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or less if you aren’t into garlic as much as I am)
  • optional: NuNaturals Stevia Drops, to taste (I used ~2 just to take the edge off)
  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Slater over your favorites!

 

***

IMPORTANT: Before I go, I wanted to ask if any of you would be interested in doing a guest post in about a week. I’m getting my wisdom teeth out next Friday (EEP!), so I’ll be out of comission for a few days. I would really appreciate it if you would consider writing something. If you’re interested, please email me at kabochavore at me dot com or by leaving a comment on this post. Both readers and bloggers are welcome!

 

Do you like Asian flavors? Have you ever been caught in a hail storm?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

2 responses to “Hail, Hail

  1. oh i DEFSSS love this sauce! i LOVEEE BBQ~!

  2. All your food looks amazing and I may have just gone out and bought a watermelon because of this post. I also have the urge to go and steam a ton of veggies.. haha.

    I’ve been caught in a hailstorm and loved it! I love hail. Well, as long as it’s not the baseball sized hail that China got a few days ago.

Leave a Reply

