Peanut Butter Cookies for Breakfast (Vegan & GF!)

Hey chickadees! How was your weekend? Mine was fab. Here’s just a taste of what I did:

  • played honorary Whole Foods employee (aka talked other customers into buying products I love hehe)
  •  rediscovered an awesome blog (have you checked out Sketch-Free Vegan yet?)
  • danced my heart out at Zumba with my mom
  • yogaaa ❤
  • watched A League of Their Own (I LOVE this movie; my late grandmother was actually on one of the first women’s baseball teams!)
  • eating lots and lots of roasted kabocha (hello again, orange glow)

Oh, and did I mention I baked? Yessss sir ma’am.  I’m back in the kitchen, and it feels so good. I’ve even decided that I want to make a commitment to bake regularly during the school year. Baking relaxes me like no other, and it also brings smiles to the ones I love (aka family, friends, and random other students)—win, win! I will try to bake something and bring it into school a least once a week. Small gestures really make a difference! 

Anyway, on to yesterday’s adventure. One of the things I baked (un-baked? baked without baking? i don’t know) was soft + crunchy peanut butter cookie dough cookies. They’re all the fun of eating cookie dough (actually, you can whip them up faster than dough!) with the taste and a little crunch of peanut butter cookies. I loved being able to try these because they were right up my alley of healthy treats. They are vegan, gluten-free, and added sugar-free. Plus they’re made with cereal so that means you can have them for breakfast, right? I love a treat that’s healthy enough for breakfast but tasty enough for dessert. Sounds like another win, win to me!

No-Bake Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Crunch Cereal Bites

  • 1/2 cup raisins 
  • 1 cup crunchy GF cereal (I used Nature’s Path EnviroKidz Gorilla Munch–Puffins would be lovely, too) 
  • 2 TBS peanut butter 
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon 
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (optional) 
  1. Blend raisins in food processor until crumbly. 
  2. Add in GF cereal, peanut butter, cinnamon, and vanilla extract (if using). Blend until the mixture is well-processed and comes together. 
  3. Form mixture into small balls using hands. Press into cookies and top with extra cereal puffs, if desired. 
I think these would be especially delicious served in a bowl of fresh fruit with a generous drizzle of cold non-dairy milk.
Personally, I think these cookies taste like a delicious cross between oatmeal raisin cookies and peanut butter cookies. If you’re going for more of an oatmeal raisin feel, try using 1/2 cup rolled oats instead of cereal.
After his taste test, my uncle Pasta said he detected chocolate undertones. There’s no chocolate in these cookies, but I can’t say tasting like chocolate is ever really a bad thing. And hey, go ahead and add some cocoa powder or chocolate chips if you’re feeling decadent.
How often do you bake for your family and friends? Do you ever have cookies for breakfast? Fitnessista breakfast cookies count! 
Have a lovely Monday!
Mandiee
3 responses to “Peanut Butter Cookies for Breakfast (Vegan & GF!)

  1. thanks for the shout-out! I love cereal! those bites look amazing.

  2. Cookies for breakfast?! and PB too! Sounds all so lovely!
    Ahh, so glad you got some yoga in this weekend, always puts me in the best of moods!
    I want some kabocha so badly, but not seen any in the market lately! Hopefully soon, as autumn is approaching us.
    Anywho, love, have a beautiful week!

    xo
    -hannah!

  3. Maxwell@FreedomRunning

    Cookies for breakfast are a must sometimes! And your cookies make that totally acceptable! Yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

