Christmas in September

Happy Thursday, bloggies! Does anyone else love Thursday as much as I do? Dare I say they’re almost as good as Fridays? Okay, maybe not, but there’s something nice about the combination of the routein of the week plus the excitement of the impending weekend off. What can I say, I like routines and schedules!

Speaking of routines, WIAW was a blast yesterday! Thank you to all that checked out my eats, especially those that commented on the post. (Comments make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside hehe.) I was absolutely overwhelmed by how reassuring you all were about my wisdom tooth surgery coming up tomorrow. I keep having these random moments were I freak out, but hearing that it went well for all of you makes it so much easier. It seems like smoothies will be the majority of my diet for awhile. Thanks for the advice to make them super nutrient dense so I keep up my strength. Our bodies need a lot of fuel when we’re recovering from an injury or surgery.

Anyway, I have lots to do before my surgery (eek!), so today’s post is going to be short and sweet savory. Yesterday I showed you a saucy coconut peanut stir fry with quinoa that I made for my family. They absolutely loved it (as evidenced by the plate-licking and leftover-disappearing), and I hope you will, too! It’s so good you may just think it’s Christmas (is anyone seeing red and green?) in July August September (my, oh my, how time flies).

Christmas Stir-Fry with Peanut Mmm Sauce and Coconut Quinoa 

Adapted from Peas and Thank You

  • 1 cup quinoa (dry)
  • 1-1/4 cup water or half&half canned coconut milk + water

  • 4 cups bok choy, roughly chopped
  • 1-1/2 cups edamame (shelled)
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • toasted sesame oil, for finishing
  1. First, prepare the quinoa. Rinse and drain dry quinoa to remove bitter coating. Place quinoa and water (or coconut/water combo) in a pan with a lid. Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce heat to a simmer. Cook for 10 minutes . Turn off heat but keep lid on for five minutes. Fluff with a fork. (If you choose the full water route, you can also mix in a few tablespoons of full-fat coconut milk with a fork before you turn off the heat.)
  2. Meanwhile, get your stir-fry on. While quinoa is cooking, heat a large sauté pan and a drizzle of olive or coconut oil on the stove. Once warm, add all vegetables. Cook for 5-7 minutes, or until the bok choy is wilted and the other veggies are softened. Finish with a dash of salt (if desired, we didn’t use it) and a drizzle of toasted sesame oil.
  3. As the veggies are cooking, blend your sauce. Follow Mama Pea’s recipe. If using a Vita-Mix, blend until warm. If not, warm sauce on the stovetop or in the microwave before serving.
  4. Once everything is done, put it all together. Put a blanket of quinoa on a plate. Top with veggies and drizzle with a generous amount of sauce. By keeping the ingredients separate until plating, the delicate quinoa will retain its integrity. Plus then you will have more options for leftovers (though I can’t guarantee there will be any).
Do you like routines and schedules? What’s your favorite smoothie combination? And have you tried Mama Pea’s Mmm Sauce yet? 
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
Leave a Reply

