WIAW #7: I’m Just a Softie at Heart

Heya bloggies! So it’s Wednesday. And honestly, I forgot all about it. Since having my wisdom teeth removed on Friday, my whole world has been flipped upside down. Time has seemed unmeasurable, especially because most of mine has been spent laying on the couch with a heating pad snuggled against my face (like a puppy hehe). I watch at most 30 minutes of TV a day, so I’ve been absolutely bored out of my mind doing nothing but that.

CHIPMUNK CHEEKS

But rather than lament on the fact that I’m a horrible patient, I’d rather look at the bright side of things. I got to spend a lot of quality time with my mom, which is rare since we both have extremely busy schedules. Even though we didn’t do much talking, simply being together warmed my heart. Another plus was that when I finally went back to yoga today, it felt AMAZING. Since I practice every day, I often forgot how lucky I am to have yoga in my life. I am so grateful to have a body that is capable of moving in such beautiful ways and calming my mind.

Acro Yoga

Oh, and how could I forget the advantage of living on a diet of banana soft serve, So Delicious coconut milk fudge bars (no sugar added, of course), and socca? I’ll admit I often get too caught up in “balancing” my eats. Maybe it’s to “prove” to everyone that vegan diets are perfectly healthy and well-rounded, or maybe it’s just because I’m afraid I won’t feel my best if I don’t. Whatever the reason, I learned a lot about my relationship with food this past weekend. I’m now more inspired than ever to live carefree and just do my best. My body knows what it needs, and I know how to listen to it. It’s as simple (and difficult) as that. So even though my eats after my surgery weren’t exactly the norm or very well-balanced, they did the job and kept me fueled. And do you know what? I enjoyed every single bite. Here’s to another fabuluous What I Ate Wednesday, hosted by the lovely Jenn of Peas and Crayons. Welcome to the Soft and Carefree Edition.

My last meal before my surgery was Mama Pea’s Italian Meatless Meatloaf Muffins with eggplant fries, roasted red peppers, and lots of steamed veggies.

You better believe there was lots of nooch and tomato sauce going on after this photo.

I also enjoyed a crunchy apple and peanut flour fluff. Just looking at this photo makes me envious. I can’t wait until I can eat my favorite organic fuji and pink lady apples again. (Side note: is anyone else experiencing an organic apple shortage? All the store in my area are out!)

After my surgery, I ate A LOT of banana soft serve (with peanut flour fluff on the side for a little protein action since…well…there wasn’t much going on anywhere else).

Seriously, it was a lifesaver. I don’t think BSS ever tasted so delicious!

To supplement my chocolate banana soft serve, I also had So Delicious no-sugar added fudge bars (made with coconut milk). These things are AMAZING!

Source

They have a faint taste of coconut with rich dark chocolate overtones. The creamy-ness factor is also great. They tasted rich and luscious without being too sweet or heavy. In fact, my body felt great after eating them. I think there’s something about the medium-chain fatty acids in coconut that my body just adores. I always feel fantastic after eating coconut fat (energized, but not weighed down; full and satisfied, but not overwhelmed.) I love a treat that leaves my tastebuds happy but not crazy-craving another righthatsecond. How do you feel about coconut?

Oh and if that wasn’t enough chocolate, I also stirred dark chocolate cocoa powder, cinnamon, and a little stevia into Wildwood Unsweetened Probiotic Soy Yogurt.

I don’t often buy non-dairy yogurt, mostly because I don’t eat a lot of processed foods, but also because most of the ones on the market are sweetened. Luckily, Wildwood makes an unsweetened variety which is high in protein, fiber, and most importantly, taste. It’s definitely my pick for when I want a satisfying but healthy non-dairy treat. However, it may have some competition once I get my hands on So Delicious Coconut Milk Greek Yogurt. I’ve been going crazy trying to find it and can’t wait to try it myself. I’ll admit I’m totally jealous of the bloggers that have already received samples.

On the savory side, I ate a lot of socca. I made it with extra water so it would be custard-like and easier to eat. Delicious!

I also made broccoli polenta and added nooch.

Dipped in tomato sauce, my vegan polenta triangles were a great way to satify both my crispy craving and soft-food-requiring mouth.

For a little protein action, I made lots of smoothies and healthy ice cream bowls. My favorite was made with Sunwarrior brown rice vanilla protein powder and Silk PureAlmond unsweetened almond milk. (Usually I’m a chocolate gal, but this is DELICIOUS).

My vanilla ice cream ended up being yellow rather than the tradition green because I was low on spinach. Looks like it was time for a spinach run!

Speaking of color, I’ve felt a little weird without my usual “glow.” Whether it’s the mass amount of carrots and sweet potatoes (and other vitamin A containing foods) I eat or the lack of veggies, I actually asked my mom if I looked too pale. Not to worry, I managed to fill my orange food quota by eating pureed slow-raosted kabocha squash (skin and all, thanks to the Vita-Mix). It was heavenly.

And last but not least, I finally tried vegan frozen yogurt (the real stuff, not just banana soft serve) from a frozen yogurt place called Sweet Earth. Before going vegan, I was a total frozen yogurt addict. In all honesty, it’s the only thing I occassionly miss. (However, my veganism is now so much more than about me, so the benefits outweigh my occasional cravings.)

Anyway, my mom’s had their vegan frozen yogurt before and highly recommends it, so she took me for some as an outing. I’m not used to sweeteneing things, so it was a little too sweet for me to want a whole bowl to myself. However, I absolutely fell in love with the texture and was happy to devour my sample and a few bites of my mom’s Neapolitan. I can’t stop thinking about how I can replicate this texture at home. Perhaps I need to buy a frozen yogurt machine? Haha, I don’t think I can really justify that one.

What’s your favorite soft food? What products do you “treat” yourself to? And what are you eating this Wednesday?

Have a lovely day!

Mandiee

12 responses to “WIAW #7: I’m Just a Softie at Heart

  1. Coconut and I are the best of friends. I freaking love it.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! Having wisdom teeth out sucks, but at least it’s over with. Looks like you did pretty well for yourself, soft-food-wise! 🙂

  2. Yum! It all looks so good, especially that broccoli polenta. And yes, I have noticed the organic apple shortage, too. I have even gone to different stores. Not sure what’s up with that?! :/

  3. Whenever I see a frozen yogurt place I “treat” myself to some. I just cant say no to frozen yogurt..its just to darn tastey! 🙂

    One of my favorite soft foods is oatmeal 🙂 does that count as soft?

  4. Woah! Rocking eats. I’m jealous- I’d rather eat ice cream all day. Looks like you kept everything in balance though!

  5. I’m so jealous of the peanut flour fluff! I haven’t noticed a shortage of organic apples, but peanut flour is nowhere to be found around me!

  6. I’ve yet to try all these coconut goodies, they’re so exspensive!
    I love fro-yo & oatmeal for my soft foods 🙂

  7. Hmmm… spinach icecream. Few weeks ago I made such a nice recipe from eye it try it – you just remembered me what I should do soon 🙂 who cares that it gets to cold for icecream?

  8. Yummmm I love banana soft serve so much, it’s ridiculous!!

  9. Looks like you’ve come up with lots of soft options! That’s so great that you’ve been able to spend a bit more time with your mom! I can totally relate to the nice feeling of being together, even without a lot of talking!

    The banana soft serve looks fabulous 🙂

  10. I’m glad your surgery went well. You didn’t even turn so green like I did!! Yay! That said, it looks like you’ve been finding wonderful things to eat 🙂
    I’m such a huuuuuge fan of both soy yogurt and silk almond milk. Both are thick and creamy, just the way I like things. I love froyo. I hear you on the overly sweetened things though, I dislike ice cream for that reason and try to stick to plain froyo. Favourite soft food? Probably oatmeal or smoothies. I really love the sesame hulva dip I made from honey hulva and coconut milk today! mmmm

  11. I’m glad you are recovering alright! And I totally used to be (and admittedly still am sometimes) hacked up about making sure I “balance” everything properly, but other times you only want or can eat a few certain foods… and that is okay! Glad you are enjoying all the smooth and creamy stuff– it’s my favorite texture!

  12. buttonss - Cherie

    Your chipmunk cheeks are cuteeee ♥
    Hmm, I like to treat myself to chocolate and cupcakes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

