Remember Me?

Oh hey there! Remember me? It’s just your friendly neighborhood blogosphere Kabochavore popping in for a visit.

Senior year + college apps have had me absolutely swamped with work. But you know the best part? Being able to do it with a smile on my face. Eating well, getting enough sleep, and taking care of my body+mind (I’m looking at you, yoga) has helped a ton. I may not have been posting often, but you better believe I have been thinking about you all.

Source

And as much as I know you all can totally relate to (purple) sweet potato love, after the 4th time of eating them in a matter of a few days I figured my meals would lose a little bit of interest. But just as I can’t stop eating the sweeties, I’ve also been hooked on green monster smoothies and oatmeal blueberry pancakes. Last week I had them every day. Yes, every. single. day.

I never once tired of them. In fact, I might even know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow. Now that’s my love, my friends.

Gluten-Free Oatmeal Flax Blueberry Pancakes

  • 1/4 cup GF all-purpose flour (30 grams) (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/4 cup GF rolled oats (24 grams) (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 flax egg (1 TBS flax meal + 3 TBS hot water + stirring + a few minutes to gel)
  • 2 TBS unsweetened applesauce
  • 2-3 TBS almond milk (depending on how thick you like your pancakes—> start with 1-2)
  • sweetener, to taste (if desired)
  • 1/3 cup blueberries
  1. Heat a non-stick pan on medium-high heat on the stove. Grease with coconut oil or cooking spray.
  2. Combine flour, oats, cinnamon, and baking soda in a bowl.
  3. Add in flax egg, applesauce, almond milk, and sweetener (if desired).
  4. Stir in blueberries.
  5. Place spoonfuls of batter on the hot skillet. Cook for 2-3 minutes, or until the batter bubbles and turns darker. Flip and cook on the other side for 2-3 minutes.
  6. Enjoy with fresh fruit, maple syrup, or whatever your heart desires. They’re even great cold at school, eaten like a snack of pancake “cookies!”
In other news, on Wednesday I submitted my first college application. It feels so good to have my Common App finished! My focus right now is finishing this huge application that I’ve been working on that would qualify me for an amazing scholarship—full-ride to one of my top 8 colleges! Please pray for me. I would be absolutely honored to receive this scholarship, especially because it would make footing the college bill so much easier on my family. 
Have a lovely day!
Mandiee
9 responses to “Remember Me?

  1. Hey girl, good to hear you are doing well! Senior year is a fun one, good luck with everything!!! 🙂

    Whitney

  2. oh yes! iv been workin gon my apps too! fun fun fun .. not! ahahah congrats on submitting your first one!

    • My school requires that we turn in a certain one before everyone else. Needless to say, we were totally rushing. I’m glad it’s done though! How many colleges are you applying to? I wish you the best of luck with your apps! We’re in this together, hun :).

  3. Caroline @ Out of Liney

    Congrats Mandiee! On the apps and the delicious-looking pancakes. I just went gluten-free and might have to try these..

  4. Best of luck lady! 🙂

  5. EEeeE! So happy to hear from you and to know you’re taking good care of yourself!
    Those oaty-blueburry pancakes sound scrumptious!
    Even though my heart belongs to my pumpkin-cakes, i’ve been lookin me a nice blueberry recipe!

    xo
    -hannah

  6. what are your top schools!?

  7. Pingback: WIAW #8: Deadline Edition | kabochavore

  8. These look fantastic! Yay for taking care of your body&mind!

Leave a Reply

